We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$605
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ken Hagen

The best location in Queenstown

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2024
The staff were super friendly and helpful. Georgia at the front desk was very nice. Breakfast at the No5 Restaurant was great. The room was lovely as well. My favorite part was the location. It was so close to everything, we could walk to everything we needed!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$340
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $361
  • Agoda.com
    $301
  • Expedia.com
    $361
0.4 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $395
  • Agoda.com
    $390
  • Priceline
2.1 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $348
  • Expedia.com
    $409
2.4 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $156
0.3 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $246
  • Tripadvisor
    $246
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $198
0.2 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$218
  • Tripadvisor
    $218
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $219
0.1 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$169
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hilton
    $169
5.2 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$169
  • Tripadvisor
    $169
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $169
5.2 km from The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
200
16
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
200
16
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church lane sister hotel fudge mini bar is bath salts new zealand gas fireplace botswana butchery private hotel the hotel staff each morning beautiful room eichardts suite balcony noise luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

My wife and I stayed at The Spire for a celebration weekend, in one of the Deluxe Suites (Level 2, facing the lake). Others have commented on noise issues. For us, it was noticeable but certainly not disruptive, and we loved the mountain view so were glad to be on that side.

The staff at The Spire were all wonderful, and we felt like they created a very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The suite itself was awesome, and everything we'd hoped. The onsite bar and restaurant was very good (definitely make the most of the included breakfasts) and our only regret was not having an evening meal there (though we did try one of their crayfish toasties with our complimentary cocktails - both the toastie and cocktails were superb).

We had asked for the staff to arrange a few things for our stay, and everything was amazing; from the airport transfers, to the private sight-seeing tour, and the incredible massage therapists who set up in our suite for a couple's massage. It was all fantastic.

Thank you team, for helping us to create some wonderful memories. I hope we can be back sometime (we promised to come an dine at No. 5!)

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SamDF_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela Diaz, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Dear Sam,

It's delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are very grateful for your kind words. Our very hard-working team will be very pleased to know that they contributed to making your stay a very special one.

We hope to see you again very soon, and to host you at No 5 for a delicious dinner!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023

My wife and I stayed in the Spire Suite and it was just perfect. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The Suite is awesome. In room dining was very surprising, not your normal fare, and can highly recommend after a long day out

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruiser506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela Diaz, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Hello Bruiser,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leaving us your review.

It's lovely to hear you had great stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to The Spire again soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2023 via mobile

Wonderful room - large, spacious and spotless. Plenty of places to pop your luggage. Well appointed bathroom with heated floor tiles which was a welcome treat in winter. Great pressure in the shower and beautiful, nourishing body and hair products.
The bed and pillow are comfy, as are the lounge and arm chair. The fireplace is cosy and lovely to watch.
Complimentary mini bar products are good quality and mostly local.
We had a decent size balcony with chairs. You could see out to parts of the lake and mountains.
The location is fantastic - right in the heart of Queenstown. There is a strip club and late night bars across the lane. It meant some noise but nothing that worried us, and definately nothing consistent.
Our breakfast was at the sister property for the duration of our stay - the breakfast was ok. The Spires new restaurant was just opening as we left.
Looking forward to returning

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stormborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela Diaz, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Dear Stormborne,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Thank you so much!

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our facilities and the location allowed you to explore Queenstown's best central spots. Very glad to see the noise from our busy street didn't disrupt your rest.

Hopefully, we'll have the pleasure of your visit again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2023

Wifey and I decided to have a 4-day break so jetted down to Queenstown and stayed at the 5* Spire Hotel, right in the heart of town. Wow, from beginning to end we were made to feel so special, our accommodation was amazing, the staff went out of their way to ensure everything was no problem, from booking restaurants, to valet parking our car, turning the room each morning and night, all of it! Cassandre was simply wonderful, her professionalism mixed with friendliness and supreme customer service was outstanding, she is a true asset to the hotel. She even called us the day before we arrived to check if there was anything they could do for us in advance of our are.
Cassandre, keep on doing what you are doing.
Thank you so much to all, we highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connector30238007297
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela Diaz, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Dear Connector,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Wow, what a fabulous review about our wonderful staff, but especially about Cassandre.

We are indeed very grateful to have her as part of our team. Your very kind words are greatly appreciated by her and all of our Guest Services staff.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

Everything about our stay at The Spire was first rate. From the friendly welcome from Luz at reception, to the stunning room - big on comfort and luxury, but super cozy at the same time. The mini bar was generous and delicious, while the view through the magical autumn leaves to the Lake was hard to leave. A big beautiful bath complete with delicious bath salts made the night super relaxing, and the bed was big and comfortable, with soft sheets and plenty of pillows. Breakfast was served with a smile by Luke at the Grille and we had the best seat in the house looking out at that mesmerising view. Now that we’ve experienced the Spire, there’s no doubt about where we’ll be staying next time we’re in Queenstown.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sealspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela Diaz, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Hello Sealspeak,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Our team is very grateful for your words. It is very inSPIREing to us to host the visit of our guests, who really appreciate every single detail that makes their stay an unforgettable one.

Your feedback motivates us to keep improving and providing a high quality service.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to The Spire sometime in the near future.

With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews