We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely anniversary dinner”

Jervois Steak House Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 277 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We have been dying to eat at Jervois for ages, and finally managed to secure the elusive First Table reservation.
We were blown away by the quality of the meat, it was amazing to see how different 2 types of steaks from 2 types of cow tasted. Steaks also cooked to perfection.
The side dishes were sublime and for dessert, it was the biggest crème brulee we had ever seen - no tiny ramekins here! We hope to go back again one day :)

Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10
Thank BennettsAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear BennettsAdventures

Thank you for your review,

Great to read that we ticked all the boxes from Starters through to Dessert. We'll be launching our new winter menu in June so you must come back and visit us again as we have some exciting new dished to try.

I'll be passing on your kind words onto our kitchen team. They'll be very happy with your feedback.

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 403 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2016

Had a terrible night here, food was ok but not great however the service was appalling. We had an early dinner so there was only 4 tables with 5-6 wait staff who were more interested in talking to each other....no one asked us if we wanted a drink and after 10 minutes sitting there had to get up and call someone over for a drink. Asked our waiter to explain some of the mains which he couldn't explain any more than what was written on the menu...no one came back to ask us for anything...complained after 20 mins to some guy who looked like the host who really could care less. When you are paying over $40 for a steak plus extras to the meal I expect just a little bit better....much better places to eat in Queenstown than here, a shame though. Food was ok, not amazing. My husband had the eye fillet which he ordered medium and was med rare but that sometimes happens I had the lamb which was not great, had a lbig line of fat down the middle 0 didn't know rump had this but cut around it. Maybe it was just a night that was not good for us....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharrelle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervoissteakhouseqt, General Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hi Sharrelle100,

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us here at JSH, you are correct we were quite when you arrived at 5.30 pm however we where more than happy to take you early as you had booked at 7 pm, we were also more than happy to put you in a table of your choosing as you where very insistent that you did not what to be seated near any children, we are a family friendly restaurant and as such are more than happy to take diners of all ages we are also always more than happy to ensure all our guests are happy and this is why we seated you in a table that you would be comfortable in.

I did also offer you water when you first sat down however you did refuse this which was not a problem so I sent your waiter Antoine over and I did see that he got your drinks over to you, I did also see that Antoine was explaining the menu to you and did also offer to bring out all the different cuts of meat we have on offer here, I can also guarantee that Antoine's food knowledge is at the exact level that we pride ourselves on here so I’m surprised to hear that he did not meet your expectations in better understanding what we do here at JSH.

I can also assure you that I did take your concerns seriously and that is why I made sure that your meal got to you straight away as you must have been in a hurry, I did also offer you another round of drinks however you refused this.

Our staff are trained here to give great friendly professional service without being intrusive on any ones night, Antoine your waiter had been over to see your table to take your order and get drinks and did not want to be intrusive on your night as you appeared to be enjoying yourselves.

We take every complaint here at JSH very seriously and use these experiences to improve our service here; we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in Queenstown.

Kind regards

Hayden
JSH Queenstown


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Although it is part of the Sofitel this steak restaurant was superb. Our waitress from New Hampshire (forgot her name) was excellent. Her knowledge of the steaks was impeccable. The food was superb - couldn't finish it all, but just mouth watering steak. thank you

Thank jimmyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear jimmyandian

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

Love your title!, it's a real motivation for our great team to keep up their hard work. Pleasing to read the food we have on offer backs up our service.

Sarah was your server for the evening and i will certainly pass on your kind words.

Hope you can visit us again next time you're in Queenstown

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

For San Franciscan: House of Prime Rib is a personal favorite, and the prime rib here was just about as good (making it the second best prime rib perhaps in the world). But you have to order it in advance because they have a limited supply.

For anyone who has been to Vegas: the NY strip equivalent is as good as the Golden Steer. Another high water mark.

Why do I know the quality of 2 different cuts? Because it was so good that we are here twice during our 3 night stay in Queenstown.

Definitely recommend.

Thank baveniat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear baveniat

Thank you for your review,

Great to read that you enjoyed yourself so much that you returned for a second night.

Our Signature Prime rib is a slow roasted cut which are available on the night but we do recommend pre-booking this to save any disappointment.

We hope you can return if you're ever back in Queenstown.

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We always make sure we come here for dinner when we are here. Meals are unbelievable. Steaks melt in your mouth and kids menu is great

Thank 74robadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear 76robadams

Thank you for leaving a review,

It's great to read that you and the family enjoy the food we have on offer here at Jervois. The children's Mac & Cheese option always puts a smile on the faces of our young diners!

We will be launching our new winter menu in the upcoming weeks so hopefully we'll see you back next time your down in Queenstown.

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jervois Steak House Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Jervois Steak House Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing