We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Amazing”

Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.32*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 157 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched high above Queenstown, keen stargazers have the opportunity to access a 'hidden world' not seen by the naked eye. Skyline Stargazing will take visitors to a specially-constructed area high above the Gondola, where there is no trespassing light, allowing for an unbelievably clear view of the night sky. Top-of-the line telescopes give stargazers the chance to view an amazing array of stunning sights, from the iconic Southern Cross, to nebulas, planets, the Milky Way and other galaxies.
Reviewed 6 May 2017

I can hardly find any words for it! It was simply amazing! Jesse, our really passionate guide guided us with really great humor through all of these stars and constellations of new zealands amazing starsky! We had a clear Sky with many stars and we learned soooo many astonishing things what's going on above our heads! Jesse really made our day! Thanks soooo much for that! I totally recommend it! It was Amazing!!!

1  Thank Julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review Julia. We are so glad you had such a brilliant time on your tour, and were able to learn a few new things. Jesse is great, and yes so passionate not only about the night sky, but also about sharing it with everyone, we are lucky to have him as part of our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

I was dragged along to stargazing by my wife expecting it to bore me to tears, I could not have been more wrong, Jesse and his pommy mate (sorry forgot his name) were informative, excited by what they were showing us and telling us and they were funny, they had my full attention for the session which isn't easy coz I bore easily. well worth doing, cheers fellas

Thank michaelaR1940CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

We are so glad your wife dragged you along to our stargazing tour, and that Jesse and Gareth where able to keep you entertained! Hopefully we have ignited a new found passion for the night sky :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Christian's knowledge and passion for all things astronomical was evident! We had so much to discuss, see and experience!
Fabulous & worth every cent!

The only downside was he did say we each had an information pack of sorts on our return to the lounge. Didn't receive that. Would have been nice as a memento!

Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Gloria, thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely comments, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed it. Sorry you didn't receive one of our information packs. We'd love to be able to send one - if you can email your address to queenstownsales@skyline.co.nz we can send it on it's way :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

The experience of Stargazing is something you have to have!
Wonderful looks to distant Stars, we even saw Jupiter!
The guys are talking about interesting stuff and tell it with humour, so you get entertained as well as learning something new.

Thank Romatze412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

We are thrilled to hear you had such a great time with us under the stars! Isn’t Jupiter amazing, and how brilliant that you are able to see the moons as well through our hi powered telescopes! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we would love to see you down here again, maybe we can show you a different planet next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed by family including 10yr old son. Had great view of southern lights (aurora). Amazing. We went on a perfect clear night. Tour guide was very good. 5 minute climb to view

Thank Kiwifamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad the whole family were able to enjoy such a special night with the Aurora and all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing