We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome way to spend the evening”

Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.65*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 160 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched high above Queenstown, keen stargazers have the opportunity to access a 'hidden world' not seen by the naked eye. Skyline Stargazing will take visitors to a specially-constructed area high above the Gondola, where there is no trespassing light, allowing for an unbelievably clear view of the night sky. Top-of-the line telescopes give stargazers the chance to view an amazing array of stunning sights, from the iconic Southern Cross, to nebulas, planets, the Milky Way and other galaxies.
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We booked this as part of the gondola/dinner/stargazing package with our work social of 16 people. Expectations were exceeded all round. We were lucky to have a great clear night for gazing the stars and ended our social trip on a high. Thanks team!

Thank Mallory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hi Mallory, we are so glad we were able to accommodate your group and have a beautifully clear night for you! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we would love to see you back next time you are in Queenstown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

I was very lucky to get an exceptionally good view of the Southern Lights on my tour. I was enthralled to learn how to identify the location of south using the Southern Cross and Achernar. The view of the Milky Way is awe-inspiring. The goose down parkas are necessary as it does get cold.

Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

How amazing that the southern lights were visible on your tour! We have been lucky to get them a couple of nights this year, and it sure is special every single time. So glad you enjoyed yourself, and that the Canadian goose down jacket kept you nice and warm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

The weather cleared beautifully to give us a cloudless sky to observe the amazing sights above (and below) us! Our guide, Tom, was extremely knowledgable and really engaging! The combination of general observation, and the awesome telescopes really worked well. The jackets were nice and warm too!

The views of Queenstown from so high up was also spectacular!

Definitely recommended, especially if you're a space buff, or from a big city - you don't realise how much is really up there when the city lights never dim down!

Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hi Gemma, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad the clouds cleared so Tom could share our beautiful sky with you. Yes it sure is astonishing how many stars we can see, when we get away from the city lights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Jess was a great guide full of knowledge and enthusiasm for the stars and planets. We had amazing close up view of Jupiter and moons as well as all of the key constellations. We were immediately rebooked when our first night clouded over without any hassles. It's a great gondola ride too!

Thank Q9636IYlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We are so glad you had such an enjoyable experience with us up here at Skyline! Jupiter is very special, we love being able to share it with all our guests, it is definitely a highlight of the tour! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I decided to do the Skyline Stargazing because of many good recommendation from Tripadvisor reviewers. I would like to add an important point before doing this tour. Although the sky was clear but I saw much less stars than I expected and barely saw the Milk Way because of light of half moon.

Don't waste your money if the sky is not dark and clear.

1  Thank ModBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and sorry you were disappointed with your experience. Yes the moon is a very bright white light in our night sky when it is visible, which does effect the amount of stars we see with the naked eye. However we are very lucky down here that we have very limited town light so the moon is the only light we have to combat, which means our high powered telescopes are still able to show us all our deep space objects with full splendour! Of course having the moon in our sky also means we get to look at that moon through those telescopes, which is quite a treat, especially seeing those ancient craters up close and in full detail. We do recommend our guests look at what nights the moon is in our skies or not in our skies if they have a preference, and book accordingly. We would love to have you back again on a moonless night so you can have a chance to see the milky way in its full glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing