We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Rata

Rata
Ranked #21 of 299 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rata is a collaboration between internationally recognised Michelin starred & New Zealand Masterchef judge, Josh Emett and highly regarded local restaurateur, Fleur Caulton. Their company, Mayfare Limited, is fast becoming synonymous in New Zealand for creating genuine dining experiences that are contemporary and inspired. 'Uniquely Southern', Rata takes inspiration from the Southern landscapes and everything that epitomises New Zealand. The decor uses influences from the Otago scenery mixed with modern industrial elements and reclaimed & repurposed vintage items to create a uniquely contemporary and welcoming dining room. Queenstown's cooler climate lends itself to Josh's love of slow cooked dishes and robust flavours, the discipline of his Michelin star background and that of Executive Chef Chris Scott who heads up the Rata kitchen, ensures elegant well-balanced and inspired cuisine that always showcases the best of regional and seasonal produce. The wine list proudly showcases wines from the Otago region and afar with a large selection of wines by the glass to give the diners variety, and match easily with the style of food. Rata is a relaxed eating-house with a neighbourhood feel, excellent service and exceptional food. Located discreetly away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, tucked alongside heritage buildings with several dining spaces perfect for lunch, dinner and casual grazing. Rata is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy award winning and genuine Southern hospitality.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was exceptional! I had the oysters and clam for appetizers, duck breast with carrots for the entree and for dessert we had the blueberry sorbet with lemon. Everything tasted amazing!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank abrownlee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed a delicious meal here on Valentine's Day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Ambiance is relaxed but upscale. We'd definitely recommend this for a date night.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GourmetGirlfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed an amazing dinner at Rata. They have impressive options in the Vegetarian/ Vegan menu. The highlights were rata bread, mushroom ragu and blue cheese ice cream. The tables are a bit too close to each other.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maulikkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed a meal here last week with a group of eight people. We chose Rata for the last night of a great Southern sojourn for our group of Northlanders. We fully expected this to be a highlight, and we are all agreed that the food was first rate, each dish exceeded our expectations. We were put next to the window which caused a problem on this warm evening when the air conditioning was cranked up to cool the busy restaurant. Those of us next to the window were cold all evening, even when we moved the table out, twice. Our waitress was delightful, although clearly the staff were stretched as we had to wait 20 minutes for our entree plates to be removed. They also missed out on additions to our drinks bill more than once by not attending our table. The Shiraz lovers amongst us were very disappointed in the wine list. We appreciate they are trying to feature New Zealand wines but a couple of good Barossa Shiraz choices surely would round out the list nicely.
I guess we caught the team out on an unexpectedly busy Tuesday night, but due to the concerns above I can only give a rating of 3 Stars.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby and I had lunch here last week whilst staying in Queenstown. We both had the Cheese-roll starter (a very gourmet version of the classic Mainland Cheese-roll to be sure) and both enjoyed this very much. For mains hubby had the pork belly and I had another starter which was the Kingfish Crudo. Both of these dishes were also very nice. The price was $38 for 2 courses so I did think it was slightly odd that I wasn't offered a small discount for ordering 2 entrees vs an entree and a main. BUT...as the price was reasonable to start with I felt this wasn't a major issue to be fair. As well as great food the space/ambience and service are lovely.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristabel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rata also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Rata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing