We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its reputation”
Review of Rata

Rata
Ranked #20 of 297 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rata is a collaboration between internationally recognised Michelin starred & New Zealand Masterchef judge, Josh Emett and highly regarded local restaurateur, Fleur Caulton. Their company, Mayfare Limited, is fast becoming synonymous in New Zealand for creating genuine dining experiences that are contemporary and inspired. 'Uniquely Southern', Rata takes inspiration from the Southern landscapes and everything that epitomises New Zealand. The decor uses influences from the Otago scenery mixed with modern industrial elements and reclaimed & repurposed vintage items to create a uniquely contemporary and welcoming dining room. Queenstown's cooler climate lends itself to Josh's love of slow cooked dishes and robust flavours, the discipline of his Michelin star background and that of Executive Chef Chris Scott who heads up the Rata kitchen, ensures elegant well-balanced and inspired cuisine that always showcases the best of regional and seasonal produce. The wine list proudly showcases wines from the Otago region and afar with a large selection of wines by the glass to give the diners variety, and match easily with the style of food. Rata is a relaxed eating-house with a neighbourhood feel, excellent service and exceptional food. Located discreetly away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, tucked alongside heritage buildings with several dining spaces perfect for lunch, dinner and casual grazing. Rata is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy award winning and genuine Southern hospitality.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were brought here as a final evening of a three-week tour of New Zealand, and our host promised it would be worthy. It certainly was. The ambiance, the service and, most important, the food was excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank melsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Anne and I and our adult children has just had a great time walking the Hollyford.
We needed a meal to celebrate our return from the wilds and for us, Rata really worked!
We had a big round table for the six of us. Can't remember the waiter's name but he was a great guy from the Veneto and he coped admirably with us.
There were so many wonderful sounding dishes on the entree side of the menu. We ordered a whole lot to share with the slow braised Merino shoulder and a double order of the Trumpeter with clams to follow.
We started with an orange wine from Valli in the Gibbston and then an excellent Chablis.
I think we felt the small courses trumped the mains. That's not to say the mains weren't good, just that the small dishes were something else. Things like kingfish crudo, goat's cheese profiteroles with rata honey, Southland cheese rolls with pickled cauliflower, beetroot cured salmon, Bluff octopus La Plancha, Cloudy Bay storm clams. Each dish had so many twists and tastes, just lifted and fed off each other. Mind you I think the Chablis helped.
An older, Two Paddock Pinot Noir from Bannockburn was a delight with the lamb.
We were going to do desert but in the end it was just cheese followed by sweetmeats, with coffee and cognac.
This is a stylish restaurant, exploring and innovating, not as far out there as some of the Nordics, but proud of local produce and with a real feel for food.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrispy5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great experience at Rata, food was lovely and the people and service are amazing. It is a fine dining restaurant with a relaxed kiwi nature. The meals are simple but elegant and full of flavour. I highly recommend Rata.

If you like big standard meals then this is not your place.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank faye_stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service with an interesting menu. Not every dish hit their mark but in general, we enjoyed ourselves.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jleesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner passed through Queenstown for a couple of days and we were recommended Rata from one of our friends. The food and venue were amazing and the service was some of the best we have ever had. Our waitress Meg helped us with everything and even recommended some fun things for us to see and do in town before we leave. Thank you all so much for a unreal experience we will be back next time we are in town !!!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stilltravelling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rata also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Rata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing