We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Rata

Rata
Ranked #19 of 293 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rata is a collaboration between internationally recognised Michelin starred & New Zealand Masterchef judge, Josh Emett and highly regarded local restaurateur, Fleur Caulton. Their company, Mayfare Limited, is fast becoming synonymous in New Zealand for creating genuine dining experiences that are contemporary and inspired. 'Uniquely Southern', Rata takes inspiration from the Southern landscapes and everything that epitomises New Zealand. The decor uses influences from the Otago scenery mixed with modern industrial elements and reclaimed & repurposed vintage items to create a uniquely contemporary and welcoming dining room. Queenstown's cooler climate lends itself to Josh's love of slow cooked dishes and robust flavours, the discipline of his Michelin star background and that of Executive Chef Chris Scott who heads up the Rata kitchen, ensures elegant well-balanced and inspired cuisine that always showcases the best of regional and seasonal produce. The wine list proudly showcases wines from the Otago region and afar with a large selection of wines by the glass to give the diners variety, and match easily with the style of food. Rata is a relaxed eating-house with a neighbourhood feel, excellent service and exceptional food. Located discreetly away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, tucked alongside heritage buildings with several dining spaces perfect for lunch, dinner and casual grazing. Rata is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy award winning and genuine Southern hospitality.
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Amazing was a perfect night with beautiful food! Would definitely recommend Rata for a romantic evening although there were larger parties it was just lovely

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Scottie2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,078 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

My husband took me to Rata for my birthday and as usual it was amazing! The appetizers and the main course were delicious but what made it perfect was the service! Johnny who took care of us was very attentive and knowledgeable about the food and drinks! He was quite busy but we didn't feel left out, although we had to wait a little while for our main, we didn't Ming and he offered us complimentary sides and desserts which was really thoughtful! All together, an amazing experience! Will be back for sure!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I went there for the 3 course lunch.
was a raining day so the restaurant was a bit empty.
they had such great service and the waiter will constantly coming and ask how was your food.
the entree was clam and was fresh and delicious.
the main was lamb. tender and juicy
dessert was goat cheese pudding, which at the beginning i was scared it is too goatish… but its really light and was good

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Tastingthecloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

We called in on the off chance of getting a table and were delighted to be lucky. Highly recommended by our motel receptionist as a place frequented by locals, it's not in an obvious location - but really well worth finding.
Imaginative and skillful cooking. Just the right levels of informality and expert guidance from the wait staff. Excellent ambience.
Queenstown can feel a bit "tacky" but this restaurant would be a success in any capital city in either hemisphere.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank ACM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

We went to Rata on Sunday for a quick lunch & they didn't disappoint! The set 3 course lunch was just what I wanted. All the courses came out at a really good pace & they were all delicious . Highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Silly_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rata also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Rata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing