We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NMFC18
Gold Coast, Australia

Location great but a little tired

Review of Villa del Lago
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2023via mobile
Recently spent 5 nights with family, property is on the lake and views are amazing. The apartment itself is of a decent size and the kitchen/laundry facilities are handy however is a little tired from furniture to paint. Worth noting the position of the apartment provides amazing views from all rooms but also its challenges..the driveway is very steep, parking is tight and the apartment has multiple flights of stairs so be mindful if mobility is an issue. Overall considering cost and position would recommend.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Try and avoid the marathon weekend...traffic was a problem
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$445
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
$418
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Entrance
$229
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Villa del Lago
Restaurant
Room service
$340
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $340
2.0 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$439
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
$394
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$432
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Villa del Lago
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    $341
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Villa del Lago
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel reception
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
559
94
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
559
94
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment the kitchen lake wakatipu bottom level walking track gas fireplace flights of stairs washer dryer self catering excellent accommodation in town short drive views units nz driveway furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for over a week and enjoyed it. Due to staff shortages our room wasn’t cleaned however we managed. It’s a nice distance from town and only a $11 Uber fee. Lovely walk to town and past the botanical gardens. Great views! Has a washing machine and you can sort your luggage

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sistersandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2023 via mobile

Excellent accommodation. Before we arrived, clear instructions were given on parking and key which we had no problem following. Great contactless check in. Location is prime. Just 10mins from airport and 10mins from city center. Peaceful surrounding. We had a lake view room and indeed the view was superb. It was wonderful to wake up to. Room facilities were comprehensive. Fully equipped kitchen with all sorts of utensils, fridge, washing needs. Nice fire place that auto regulate. Bed was comfortable. Toilet was spacious. Room was very clean. In fact, the room was so comfortable that we overslept on the day of check out. Housekeeping team was really understanding and gave us some extra time to get ready. (Thank you!) I would stay here again if ever in Queenstown.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JenTayHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Thanks for such a lovely review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2023

Everything we needed for 5 days in Queenstown. A slight walk from town but doable before and after dinner (especially in the summer) with fit legs. Quiet. Stunning spot.

Plenty of space and amenities were all excellent. Ventilation in the bathroom could have been better, and the steps down from the car park were steep, otherwise fantastic!

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GinzaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Thanks so much for your review. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

We were very satisfied with the unit and all it had to offer. The fireplace was nice to have in the evening when the temp dropped. We emailed them about a light flickering in the bathroom and they fixed it very quickly. We also requested a late check out which they were able to accommodate which helped as we were catching a flight that day. Our only complaint was parking. It was so challenging to drive down the very tight roadway to where we had to park and the parking spots were difficult to get into unless you got the middle spots. The view was very nice and we enjoyed walking on the path below which we walked into town one day which was about 25 minutes one way. Self check in was very easy.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyFirst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Thanks very much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2023

We recently stayed for a week in an one bedroom unit which is at the bottom of the complex and closest to Lake Wakatipu. The view was fantastic and easy access to a jetty and small beach at the front of the property. The walking track which led into Queenstown was directly below the property. It was a quiet location and no road noise. Check in instructions were clear.

The kitchen was well equipped and the unit had a washer/dryer. As noted by others, the apartment is not serviced during your stay but they did supply plenty of dishwasher, washing and bathroom needs. Yes there are lots of signs but obviously this is because people have not done the right thing. The heated floor in the bathroom kept that area lovely and warm and there was a gas fireplace in the lounge. The cleaning fee was annoying but we did save money by booking direct with the property and we were aware that it was charged.

The driveway and parking is not for the faint hearted - it is a quick turn off the main road. Due to the steep nature of the site there is a hairpin bend to access the bottom level parking. The carpark itself is a tight space. There were a few flights of stairs to our room which did not bother us at all but may be problematic for others.

Recommended.

Room tip: Take care in entering and exiting the property from the main road
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsbeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews