We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Leo

Great stay in supreme location

Review of Villa del Lago
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2021
Stayed her during lockdown in August/September 2021. Charlotte really helped us out here with a great apartment. Must be one of the most comfortable stays we have experienced. Though it's getting a bit dated and really needs a deep clean, overall the apartment is extremely 'livable' and of a great size. The views are just simply epic!! Apartment is on the lake's edge and you can start the Frankton walkway from your doorstep. The walk to Queenstown is a very easy 20 or so minutes. Absolutely great...so lucky to spend lockdown here.
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
Tripadvisor
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Tripadvisor
$250
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Villa del Lago
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$280
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $280
  • Hotels.com
    $280
3.7 km from Villa del Lago
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
Booking.com
$186
  • Tripadvisor
    $186
  • Priceline
  • Doubletree
    $186
3.7 km from Villa del Lago
Restaurant
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $345
  • Hotels.com
    $345
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $347
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $255
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $338
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $275
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $275
1.6 km from Villa del Lago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
558
94
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
558
94
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment the kitchen lake wakatipu bottom level walking track gas fireplace flights of stairs washer dryer self catering excellent accommodation in town short drive views units nz driveway furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Pros: The 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Lake View Apartment was spacious and warm, had a gas fire and heaters going. Beautiful contempory bathrooms. Excellent mountain views from most directions beyond a row of flats. Handy to town with a car or a $10 Uber ride.
Cons: Interior did not reflect the freshness of the photos- interior a bit dated and in need of a deep clean. It may have just been the apartment we were in. Room service was sketchy and it was difficult to get ahold of anyone to sort this- however, they did sort it after I managed to get ahold of someone.
For the price during high season, I thought it was decent value for money. Definitely not 4-5 star accomodation, but comfortable.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thanks for staying with us over these challenging times. As you can imagine, Covid has dealt a terrible blow to tourism accommodation businesses in Queenstown. We lost most of our staff last year and with borders closed, only a few customers throughout the year and no certainty going forward. It has been difficult to keep the remaining staff we have. We had a small peak over July, the only peak we have had in 18 months and we had to manage this peak short staffed. We are also operating limited reception hours in order to stay afloat. We hope you will understand that we are no longer able to operate at our normal levels of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We arrived late afternoon to a key box with parking intructions. Our designated bay was taken. From the office it was 40 steps down the hill to the villa. The offer to help with carrying the bags up did not eventuate with no one in the office on departure day. I questioned the $127 added cleaning fee on the 2nd day of 3 when we arrived back to an unswept floor. With no broom provided the least the cleaning fee should include sweeping the floor. The Villa's are close to the CBD and the walkway that ran just metres from our villa made for a nice walk to town. We feel that more information should be given about the concrete outside steps to get to the Villa. The jetty shown online was a feature we didnt see, probably because the banks are overgrown. The Villa was well appointed and having a washing machine, dryer and a clothes rack was excellent. Being lake front accommodation the jet boats with many people on board doing donuts in front of the villa from early morning vastly detracted from the quiet of the place.

Room tip: Choose a Villa nearer the road, but the road noise on the busy road could be an issue.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2021

Hi and thanks for your review. Prior to Covid we used to operate a Reception from 8.15am to 7pm 7 days per week. With border closures and few New Zealand guests, our business has been gutted and we simply cannot afford to operate a fully staffed Reception anymore. We have been running at a loss for the past year. We explained in our welcome letters that we do apologise that we may not be there to greet you. There are no 'designated' parking spots. We show a map with parking areas, and guests are free to park in whichever parking space is available. We specify on all of our sites that there are external flights of stairs to all of our 1 bedroom Suites. If you would like help with your bags, we would need to set this up with our housekeeping team in advance. We conduct a daily service, details of which are specified inside the apartment. This includes making beds, taking away rubbish, wiping down tables and replacing amenities and replacing towels if they are on the floor. We don't do dishes and vacuum unless you stay for for more than 4 nights, then we do a full mid stay clean. We provide a dustpan and brush under the sink for floor crumbs. In order to lower our rates from pre-covid levels and ensure our housekeeping costs are covered, we had to add the cleaning costs as an added extra. This is very common with Airbnb bookings. We pay our staff the living wage and the cleaning fee only just covers the cost of staff, amenities and linen. The jetty is on the lakefront and the section is very steep. There are stairs down to the beach and jetty. There are beech trees between the beach and Villa del Lago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Great location, clean and spacious. Perfect for our family holiday. Everything we needed for our stay. Very helpful staff. Daily cleaning an added plus. Would definately recommend this place to friends and family.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TanyaC1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Thank you so very much for staying with us and for your kind review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely experience staying three nights at the VDL - the one bedroom unit was spotlessly clean, it is a large size with modern decor and also has a good size kitchen fully equipped with appliances, crockery, laundry facilities, includes heating and a gas fireplace. VDL has an amazing view of the lake and it is conveniently located close to CBD, airport, and shopping centres. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marionl660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Would highly recommend this accommodation. Stayed here during a skiing holiday, has ski storage and boot drying facilities. Friendly and helpful staff, accommodation clean and warm and everything you need for a home away from home. Stunning views of the lake.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 20Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again. Wishing you safe and very happy travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews