We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$247
View deal
Hotels.com
US$247
View deal
Priceline
US$243
View deal
eDreamsUS$243
Booking.comUS$243
CheapTicketsUS$247
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
548
87
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
548
87
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment the kitchen lake wakatipu lakeside path gas fireplace minute walk new zealand washing machine in town laundry facilities water taxi accommodation views mel dryer heater driveway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely experience staying three nights at the VDL - the one bedroom unit was spotlessly clean, it is a large size with modern decor and also has a good size kitchen fully equipped with appliances, crockery, laundry facilities, includes heating and a gas fireplace. VDL has an amazing view of the lake and it is conveniently located close to CBD, airport, and shopping centres. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marionl660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Would highly recommend this accommodation. Stayed here during a skiing holiday, has ski storage and boot drying facilities. Friendly and helpful staff, accommodation clean and warm and everything you need for a home away from home. Stunning views of the lake.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 20Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again. Wishing you safe and very happy travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

We loved our five night stay here. It was comfortable, clean, well appointed and had an amazing view. We had a one bedroom apartment and loved that we had a comfy couch, fireplace, kitchen and laundry facilities. It was a great place to return to at the end of a activity filled day.
Couple of small things, first and this wasn’t so much an issue for us but might be for others is that we had quite a number of stairs to climb to get to and from our apartment. With all our gear it was a bit of a pain but I could imagine for elderly, would be a challenge. Secondly, and I notice other people liked this so this may be just a thing that irks us, is the fact every time we came back to the apartment, lots of lights were switched on and the fire was going. And sometimes this must have been for hours....it’s just not necessary and not great for the environment either. There should be an option to say you don’t need this. The apartment actually kept wonderful warmth without having the fire come on all day.
Anyway, we would definitely stay again. The stay was absolute value for money and was a perfect base for all our Queenstown activities.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Toni-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2020

Thanks so much for your review and your comments on lights and the fire. Over the summer months we don;t turn the lights on as the days are long, but we do put them on after a service in winter so that it feels friendly when you come back from your day's activities. We take your point about the environment, and we do use all LED bulbs to help reduce our electricty usage. The gas fire is on a thermostat. It is the main heater and only comes on to bring the room up to temperature and goes off automatically. Hope that helps to clarify.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this lovely place that had great views and was spotlessly clean. Loved how it was so close to the lake, just a few steps away. Car parking and great service too. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

This was a return stay at Villa del Lago - we had previously stayed in 2008. 12 years on it was still superb accommodation. Our one bedroom apartment was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and the kitchen facilities had everything I needed to prepare the odd meal if required. The view over Lake Wakatipu towards The Remarkable’s is spectacular. It is a short drive into Queenstown or you can have an easy walk along the lakeside path if you are wanting to be a bit more active. We will definitely be returning for our next stay in Queenstown. A perfect spot for both couples and family and friends groups.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MezzyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

So good to hear your return stay fulfilled all your expectations. Our new kitchens and bathrooms and new wooden floors in the living areas were worth the effort! Please stay again, and take advantage of our VIP club discounts - free to enroll and yours to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews