We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:15 am - 8:30 pm
TSS Earnslaw and BBQ Buffet Lunch in Queenstown
821

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
Reviews (5,882)
Filter reviews
5,882 results
Traveller rating
4,243
1,195
274
104
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,243
1,195
274
104
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep shearing walter peak tss earnslaw bbq lunch steam ship steamers lamb lake wakatipu sheep station doubtful sound boat ride great trip new zealand visiting queenstown steamship farm coal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 5,882 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2024

Loved our time in Queenstown. One of the highlights was our trip onboard TSS Earnslaw Steamship to Walter Peak Station for a BBQ lunch and Farm show. We picked a sunny day and a popular trip. The views fabulous and setting absolutely stunning. BBQ lunch was everything you needed. Plenty food and a good variety, all perfectly prepared and cooked. After lunch we attended the informative Farm show consisting of sheep shearing and gathering. The presenter knowledgeable and fun. On the way back to Queenstown we sat outside at the back of the boat, the perfect seat to take in views and fresh air. As we neared the dock we ventured upstairs where a pianist was playing and singing. One of the people on the tour even managed to play the piano and sing. A great day out. Don,t forget your camera, its stunning !

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that your time in Queenstown was so enjoyable and that the trip onboard the TSS Earnslaw to Walter Peak was a highlight. It sounds like you had a perfect day with fabulous views and a stunning setting. We're glad you enjoyed the BBQ lunch and found the food plentiful and well-prepared. Enjoying the pianist on the way back to Queenstown sounds like a perfect end to the day. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2024

We were so disappointed The Earnslaw was packed and to be honest since we were last on board the interior looks very tired.The commentary was scarce and all in all the cost is high for a ferry trip.Would we go on board again No It is aimed more for the Asian market now.Such a shame.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Sheenagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your recent experience on the TSS Earnslaw did not meet your expectations. We regret that you found the interior tired and the commentary lacking. We strive to offer a valuable experience for all our guests and will take your comments into consideration for improvements. Your input is important to us, and we will work to enhance the experience for a diverse range of visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

A few days ago I booked a day trip via RealNZ (Queenstown) to Milford Sound. The whole tourist experience from the initial booking experience through to the 13 hour journey to Milford Sound and return to Queenstown was seamless.
A special call out to Sìan, the sales lady at the Queensland location. She was very professional, setting the expectations of the trip from beginning to finish.
Additionally a special mention for “Pete” the guide and driver. Not only was Pete an impeccable driver, he took great pleasure in explaining, as he was driving the winding roads, the history, both from a geological perspective and a mythological perspective. His enthusiasm was infectious.

Whilst it’s a long day’s journey, the Milford Sound journey was well worth the money spent.

Kudos to the RealNZ team and to Sìan and Pete!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank joecV4429VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

It's wonderful to hear that your Milford Sound day trip was such a seamless and enriching experience! It's great that all through your day, you experienced excellent service from our team, specifically Sìan and Pet. We're delighted to have created such a memorable day in Milford Sound for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

This Trip and BBQ lunch was amazing. Service on the Earnslaw was very professional. Our lunch at Walter Peak Station, was of a very high standard to being welcomed, your waitress, and the food was 5star. Thank you a day I'll never forget. Definitely not a kiwi BBQ, was top of the rang self service. Asked to go up table by table. Endless salads, hot and cold. 5 hot meats, with numerous condiments. Followed by desserts and cheeses.. Thank you

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank Culture42259874873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

It sounds like your trip to Walter Peak Farm Station was absolutely unforgettable! We're thrilled to hear that the service, both on the TSS Earnslaw and at Walter Peak, met your high standards. Thank you for sharing your appreciation; we're delighted you had such a fantastic time and felt compelled to thank us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another exceptional day out in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

What a shame. We were a group of locals and visitors celebrating a milestone birthday. The whole dinner was rushed, we were only just finishing off our mains when we were told we had 10 minutes or else we would miss out on the desert buffet. An extra 30 minutes of dining time is much needed to get a sense of value for money, and to enjoy the ambience of the place. The on-boat entertainment was poor to middling. Bring back the piano sing song please. Service was very good and food ok for a buffet. But not value for money folks.

Date of experience: January 2024
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience, we're sincerely sorry for falling short of your expectations during this special celebration. Your comments about the timing and the rushed feeling are valuable, and we will address this concern with our team to ensure a more relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests. Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023

The ship tour fell a bit short of my expectations. I wouldn't recommend doing just that. While you get a glimpse of the ship and get closer to the mountains, it doesn't quite hit the mark. Exploring other water tours might offer a more exciting experience.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank E8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sincerely sorry to hear that the cruise did not meet your expectations. We strive to be transparent with our guests on what to expect from all of our experiences, and are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. In the future, may we suggest cruising to Walter Peak farm station, where there is a vast variety of activities including farm tours and our BBQ Dining experience. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews