We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Whakatipu Cruise & BBQ Buffet Lunch
685

Book in advance
from
$175.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $175.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $145.00
More Info
Reviews (5,880)
Filter reviews
5,880 results
Traveller rating
4,241
1,196
274
103
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,241
1,196
274
103
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep shearing walter peak tss earnslaw bbq lunch steam ship steamers lamb lake wakatipu sheep station doubtful sound boat ride great trip new zealand visiting queenstown steamship farm coal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 5,880 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

What a shame. We were a group of locals and visitors celebrating a milestone birthday. The whole dinner was rushed, we were only just finishing off our mains when we were told we had 10 minutes or else we would miss out on the desert buffet. An extra 30 minutes of dining time is much needed to get a sense of value for money, and to enjoy the ambience of the place. The on-boat entertainment was poor to middling. Bring back the piano sing song please. Service was very good and food ok for a buffet. But not value for money folks.

Date of experience: January 2024
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience, we're sincerely sorry for falling short of your expectations during this special celebration. Your comments about the timing and the rushed feeling are valuable, and we will address this concern with our team to ensure a more relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests. Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023

The ship tour fell a bit short of my expectations. I wouldn't recommend doing just that. While you get a glimpse of the ship and get closer to the mountains, it doesn't quite hit the mark. Exploring other water tours might offer a more exciting experience.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank E8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sincerely sorry to hear that the cruise did not meet your expectations. We strive to be transparent with our guests on what to expect from all of our experiences, and are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. In the future, may we suggest cruising to Walter Peak farm station, where there is a vast variety of activities including farm tours and our BBQ Dining experience. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2023 via mobile

We’ve done this experience three times and each time we have thoroughly loved it. The boat is a gentle, lovely sail on an incredibly beautiful lake, surrounded by mountains and vistas. The lunch is top quality, with amazing barbecue and a broad selection of food and lovely wines. The farm show is entertaining and educational, giving you a glimpse of the rural life. A great way to have some fun in Queenstown! Three times is not too many!

Date of experience: December 2023
Thank Donpettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Thank you for your fantastic review of the TSS Earnslaw Steamship and BBQ Dinner at Walter Peak! We're delighted you enjoyed the experience just as much the third time around and found the scenery as beautiful as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

A heartfelt THANK YOU to Amanda and the team in Walter Peak Station!! Our gallery team had the most beautiful cruise and bbq dinner for our Xmas party, during which I somehow managed to lose a small gem from my earring! I let some of the staff know once we were back on the Earnslaw and was beyond thrilled to get a message back from Amanda the next day saying they had found it! Honestly made my day. What a great bunch of people….❤️

Date of experience: December 2023
Thank HARPERart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

We're overjoyed to receive your lovely review! It was our pleasure to host your gallery team for the beautiful cruise and BBQ dinner at Walter Peak for your Christmas party. We're delighted that Amanda and the team were able to find and return your lost earring and will pass on your heartfelt thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed the experience of being on the steamship. Weather was good and views on the lake were lovely. Interesting to see the engines working below and the stoker shovelling coal into the boilers. We would have liked a longer cruise.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Paddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Thank you for your wonderful review of the TSS Earnslaw Steamship cruise in Queenstown! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed exploring this historic vessel and the lovely views of the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2023

Great views and a well organised, well catered BBQ lunch at Walter Peak farm.

The loudspeaker system onboard the Earnslaw was very poor and neither of us could hear the commentary during the trip across. It needs replacing.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023


Thank you for sharing your feedback on the TSS Earnslaw Cruise! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great views and the BBQ lunch at Walter Peak farm.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the poor loudspeaker system on board the Earnslaw. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will look into improving the audio experience to enhance the overall cruise.

We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better experience in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews