We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 am - 7:00 pm
Save
TSS Earnslaw & BBQ Buffet Lunch
676

Book in advance
from
$175.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $175.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $145.00
More Info
Reviews (5,880)
Filter reviews
5,880 results
Traveller rating
4,241
1,196
274
103
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,241
1,196
274
103
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep shearing walter peak tss earnslaw bbq lunch steam ship steamers lamb lake wakatipu sheep station doubtful sound boat ride great trip new zealand visiting queenstown steamship farm coal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,737 - 1,742 of 5,880 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This steamship ride takes around 45 minutes to steam across the lake to Walters Peak sheep station. The scenery on the way over is incredible with amazing photo opportunities of the remarkable mountains. Commentary on the way over but difficult to hear. Sing along on the way back - lovely way to finish the day.

On arrival we were taken to a sheep shearing show followed by the sheep rounding by the two dogs on the properties - very cute dogs and so obedient.

Gardens are simply amazing and were in full bloom, incredible colours and the scent of the roses delightful.

If you are looking for the best BBQ then this is the place to go. Food was unbelievable. Chicken, beef, lamb, pork, sausages, salads, vegetables just to name a few things. Dessert was fantastic if you can fit it in after the BBQ. Drinks were extra but complimentary tea and coffee available and water served at table.

The only negative (and this has nothing to do with the organizers), is the people who feel the need to push and shove to get on and off - they must think the boat will leave without them if they do not get on or off fast.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank KateeCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Great afternoon going full speed down the river. Had young kids and Jim accommodated perfectly. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank solid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haley K, Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for your recommendation, we do enjoy taking out the whole family on Thunder Jet and its great to here everyone enjoyed their trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We did the station to station ride along the lake finishing at Walter peak. Lunch was an extravagant BBQ! Everything you could imagine! There was no need for dinner that night! The farm tour was good too.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Adamsonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We started our tour at the steamship wharf in Queenstown, where we boarded the vessel and puffed our way across the lake. On the way there were great views of the mountains fringing the lake, and we saw those weird sub jet vehicles zipping about. Narration about the ship and farm and piano music was provided. The ride across was about 45 minutes, and when we landed we were shown a table for 2 for our buffet lunch. Staff "controlled" the crowd volume by selecting small sections to get in line and begin to fill their plates at the many stations. You can't go hungry here, there is plenty to eat, and pork, chicken, lamb and steak were available for carnivores. Some went multiple times, but our 2nd trip was just for desserts.

After lunch, we were given a dog herding display, followed by sheep shearing. By then it was just about time to return to the steamship. There was a sing along on the way back, with a few folk interested in belting out golden oldie chestnuts, while most just enjoyed the ride and/or snoozed.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2017

everything about this experience is sublime. The journey across lake wakatipu on a working steam boat over a hundred years old is fantastic. The high country station is beautiful and dinner is without a doubt one of the best meals you will have in queenstown. Delicious and copious...you will not leave hungry. The sheep shearing and farm dog demonstrations are a great touch to.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank littletravelvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews