We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
afrowoman
Auckland, New Zealand

Very pleasantly surprised

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
When I discovered my husband had booked at this hotel, after reading all the negative reviews, I was very upset and expecting a stay from hell there. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised. The day before we arrived they contacted us asking if we'd like an upgrade, we said yes, they upgraded us to a room with a king size bed.

The room very clean (I am extremely fussy about cleanliness) and pleasantly decorated. The buffet breakfast was very good value for money and all the staff we interacted with were very courteous & friendly.

The hotel is smack bang in the middle of everything. Everything is within walking distance.

The only things I would criticise is that there's no complimentary water in the room and ou room was at the back and we could hear the rubbish truck (?) in the wee hours of the morning.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Get the buffet breakfast option, great value for money.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear afrowoman

Thanks for your review and for staying - great to hear we looked after you well.

When looking at reviews you will always find negative comments for any business and yes you can be aware of these and read into them what you will - we want all our guests to be happy but not all guests end up in the best place for them and in some cases we do get it wrong.

When I go travelling I tend to note the percentage of good vs bad - 85% of our reviews are very good and excellent - less than 4% are poor or terrible and then others are ok - I think this reflects fairly well on the hotel at its age and stage and yes our owners will upgrade at some point - hopefully soon.

We do not promote complimentary water - the water in the rooms is perfectly fine to drink and we live in an environment where water is plentiful but resources are under pressure - so the use of plastics - particularly single use ones are being done away with - and even recycling of glass in Queenstown is problematic. We are working to install drinking fountains/refilling stations so that guests can get ample supply of filtered water as they require.

We hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $459
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $424
  • StayForLong
    $403
  • Hotels.com
    $498
0.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $403
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $403
  • Hotels.com
    $403
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $479
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $330
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Mercure
    $248
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free parking
Pool
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$202
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,976)
Filter reviews
3,976 results
Traveller rating
1,636
1,748
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,636
1,748
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,976 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2024

This is the second time I have stayed with Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, and they certainly did not disappoint! After a seamless checkin on line, I received a complimentary upgrade upon key collection and found myself in an alpine view room with vistas from the lake to the gondola and beyond. The daily buffet breakfast was superb, as was the in room dining! Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and always manage to achieve whatever is required or requested! And you cannot beat the location! I look forward to staying again in the future.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear roxanne

Great location with good view, good room, superb breakfast, helpful and friendly staff - looks like we ticked all the right boxes and you had a good stay.

Thanks for the feedback - this has been passed on. Hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2024

My wife and I just enjoyed a fantastic week staying at the Novotel, Queenstown. Undoubtedly the best location to stay when visiting. The staff were excellent and very attentive, especially, Carly Gilmore, Guest relations manager, who went over and beyond in helping make our holiday a memorable experience.
We had a lakeside room which, to be honest was faultless with a great view. Room was spacious and always kept clean and tidy by staff.
Breakfast has an excellent choice, so is the evening meal.
Thank you to everyone at the hotel, especially Carly!

Room tip: Location is the best, together with great hotel. Queenstown is a must if you enjoy the outdoors. Make sure you visit Milford Sound .
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 559lawrencef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 559lawrencef

Thanks for your feedback - we have passed this on to Carly and the team. They always appreciate the good feedback and love to look after our guests.

We call our team Heartists - as they are artists of delivering service from the heart - it is our aim to make our guests feel valued and feel welcome - looks like we succeeded in this

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024

Location, YES! Quality of our stay, NO! This hotel is banking on its location, since it is the only major hotel right on the lake in Queenstown. It is also the only hotel on our three-week trip to New Zealand and Australia that did not include a breakfast in the price of the room. I checked the reviews on their website and discovered several that reflected the poor quality of our room. Others raved about theirs, which tells me there is definitely a mixed bag of accommodations. Our room was VERY small. The bathroom hadn't been updated in decades. Floor tile broken. Dirty grout. Tiles falling off or painted to cover damage. Dirt around the tub fixtures. Broken towel rack. Paint chipped. There was an open seam in the hallway carpet. I would include pictures of our bathroom, but others have posted several similar ones on the website reviews. They are too depressing. There are plenty of excuses on their website, blaming the owners for not upgrading. Time to step up!

Room tip: Ask to see your room before you check in.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutheranLadySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Dear LutheranLadySanDiego

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most hotels in NZ have rates that either include breakfast or not as do we.

We do not make excuses or blame our owners for the hotel but do explain to guests that our Owners have bene planning a major refurbishment of teh entire hotel and will start this when they have the design they want and the permissions to do so - this can take some time but in the meantime our aim is to present the hotel in a clean and tidy state - we apologise if there were aspects of your stay that did not meet these standards.

I have shared your comments with our executive housekeeper - we are currently using a slightly quieter time to reveiw and refresh where we can - replacing around 50 rooms where carpets needed to be replaced, regrouting and repainting others. These are temporary fixes until such time as the works are done.

Thanks for providing your feedback - we do hope that your trip around New Zealand was memorable and that your travels were safe.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

We stayed at the Novotel Queenstown Lakeside and from start to end we had a faultless, wonderful experience in terms of customer service and accommodation. As we pulled our car up to the hotel lobby after a drive from Lake Tekapo we were greeted by the valet and concierge. As I checked in at reception, the valet and concierge helped to unload the considerable amount of luggage (7 bags of various sizes) while it was raining heavily raining outside and got our luggage securely into the hotel nice and dry.

We were greeted at the hotel reception by Shannon and Lucy who looked after our early check in and made the whole process fast, smooth and easy. They arranged the valet parking, movement of luggage to the room, upgraded our room to a better lake view room and provided us with our drink vouchers. They also provided an umbrella so that we could walk into town. Equally at checkout their customer service was once again impeccable and smooth.

During the evening, we went back to reception where Lucie also provided us with wonderful customer service and helped us to arrange a late checkout so that we could have adequate time to do the Skyline Gondola in the morning and still have plenty of time to get back to the hotel to check out with no stress.

The room itself was so spotlessly clean and comfortable and the hotel made us feel extra special with the bottle of local wine and chocolates. My wife particularly loved the view from the accessible balcony that looked out over the water and mountains. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in and we had the best night sleep. There were plenty of powerpoints available to charge our devices and the bathroom amenities were nice.

The Elements Bar was very comfortable and we enjoyed having drinks in front of the fireplace which was very relaxing.

Location-wise, the hotel is perfectly placed by the water in Queenstown central and literally a 30 second walk into town, 8 minute walk to Fergberger, 9 minute walk to Steamer Wharf and 14 minute walk to the Skyline Gondola. So basically really close to everything.

Thank you to Shannon, Lucy, Lucie and the rest of the Novotel team for making our stay so wonderful. We'll see you again soon.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Dear rodt988

Thanks for your positive comments - these have been passed on to the team.

We hope that you will come and see us again soon.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2024 via mobile

Well located hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Grateful for a late check out. Nice little cafe on the ground floor. Rooms comfortable and clean. Hotel looking tired and dated, particularly the bathroom. We stayed in a room with good lake views. The hotel is let down by its restaurant with a poor menu and not great food.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WestSydBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Dear Bundy Club

Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us.

We acknowledge your comments about the menu - we have recently appointed a new chef who has been working through menus to increase the range of dishes on offer and work with the team on quality and are looking forward to launching this in the next week or so.

We have also been working on a refurbishment plan with the owners of the hotel. This has taken longer than we would have liked however our job is to try to maintain the hotel and the team as best we can until the work gets completed.

We are sorry if these things impacted on your stay in any ways.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews