We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WestSydney
Bundanoon, Australia

OK Hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Well located hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Grateful for a late check out. Nice little cafe on the ground floor. Rooms comfortable and clean. Hotel looking tired and dated, particularly the bathroom. We stayed in a room with good lake views. The hotel is let down by its restaurant with a poor menu and not great food.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bundy Club

Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us.

We acknowledge your comments about the menu - we have recently appointed a new chef who has been working through menus to increase the range of dishes on offer and work with the team on quality and are looking forward to launching this in the next week or so.

We have also been working on a refurbishment plan with the owners of the hotel. This has taken longer than we would have liked however our job is to try to maintain the hotel and the team as best we can until the work gets completed.

We are sorry if these things impacted on your stay in any ways.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$379
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $379
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $349
  • Expedia.com
    $398
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$445
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$254
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
5.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $343
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Entrance
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $172
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $237
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $225
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $332
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $272
  • Algotels
    $301
1.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,975)
Filter reviews
3,975 results
Traveller rating
1,636
1,747
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,636
1,747
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,975 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

A very dated hotel, in much need of new carpet, painting, and new outfittings. We had a double room (two double-sized beds) which felt really squishing in the tiny room. The bathroom was dated and pokey. Certainly not what I expected for the price we paid. It was in a good location along the lake front. Lifts weren’t working.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BronMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear BronMD

Thanks for staying with us - we are sorry that you did not feel the hotel was value for money. We acknowledge your comment about the lift being out of action in one area of the hotel - we are in the process of replacing the guest lifts - the final lift will be installed by 5 June and then we need to do the final fit out of the interiors which has vastly improved the guest experience with these. We have one more lift after that which will finally give us an option to give lift access to our restaurant.
In regards to refurbishment of the hotel our owners are still working through this process and we hope that a major piece of work will be started within 12 months but it is taking longer than we had expected. The bathrooms and rooms are all going to be extended in size and fully refitted - something we are looking forward to. Hotel prices do vary throughout the year and are based on many factors but our aim is to try to be competitive with other hotels in the region and to give our guests a positive experience. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations but on balance we get many comments .
We do hope that you may be able to return one day after we have completed these works and get to experience the hotel at that time.
Regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

This is a gem of a hotel. We ha a lakeview room, although the trees now hide much of the lake, it is still a very nice outlook. It is just a couple of minutes stroll along the lakeside to the harbour and town area. If you are looking for a huge, high-rise hotel then you are out of luck. Most of Queenstwon buildings are only short. The Novotel is no exception, only some 4 stories. You have a choice of Lakeview or 'Remarkables' (moutain). We were on the second floor and chose the lakeview, and very pleasant it was too. The room beautifully bright and clean and exellently maintained. All systems worked. The hotel has a mezzanine style restaurant on the second floor, and on the ground floor a bar and exit to a lawan area. On arrival the check-in staff were very pleasant to deal with. The Consierge staff were excellent, helping us to book tours and a good widow seat in the 'Stratosphere' restaurant overviewing the town. Tip, book an evening meal there and take the ride up later afternoon, then enjoy the views during daylight and night. And the food is great and pletyful...as much as you can eat! We can certainly recommend this for your Queensland stay.
And of course highly recommend the Hotel. Thanks to all the staff that looked after us!

Room tip: Don't let the rather dark corridor put you off. You don't live or there! The rooms are large, bright, airy and clean and too the bathroom.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek65552045862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Trek

thanks for your feedback - it was good to hear that your experience was positive and that the team looked after you so well

regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

I had a very nice one night stay at Novotel Queenstown to see the beautiful autumn colours. I appreciated the upgrade to lake front room on the 4th floor as I’m accor gold.

The room was very adequate, not brand spanking new but it had everything I needed and was very clean. The bed was comfy with nice cotton bedlinen and I slept well. The aircon control was a little fiddly to use, I found. I liked the opening windows though.

The hotel has the best central location in Queenstown as it’s in the middle of the CBD. The room rates reflect this, (although I used my accorplus night voucher for this stay). Queenstown is not a cheap town to stay, so I feel for the room rates offered it’s probably a fair deal for such a good location.

The lake view from my room was somewhat obscured by council trees (which the hotel can’t do anything about) but you can step straight out of the hotel to that glorious promenade on the Queenstown lakefront. It’s just gorgeous at dusk. I think I’d try and get a ground or first floor lakefront room next time. I liked being able to go for a stroll and then go back to my room.

There’s no free parking, being in the CBD. I elected to get the valet parking for $28 which was very efficient.

I would return to this property again if the rate was right. I loved the central location, you can’t beat it. I prefer this over walking up a hill to get back to my hotel room in Queenstown!!

NB I had fish and chips at the food truck, Eriks, opposite the Novotel entrance. I wouldn’t recommend that place. A bit subpar and expensive.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms would be very convenient to step out and go for a walk along the lake front.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urbanite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Urbanite88

Thanks for your comments and for staying.
We do not promote our rooms as lake"view" due to the trees and we do try to show this in our photos - the few rooms we have on the front of the hotel are classified as lakeside rooms which we hope better describes them.
It was disappointing to hear that our neighbours Fish and Chips were not to your liking - our team does a pretty good alternative to this for anyone interested.
We hope to see you again soon.

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

We stayed here for 4 nights. While the rooms were very clean they were also old, tired and well worn. Our bathroom basin had a very large crack in it, and so, while it was still completely functional, it didn't look so great. The carpets and curtains are worn and dated. The beds were huge (could be queens instead of kings and have a little more space in the rooms?) and reasonably comfortable. You pay for the location, not the quality of the rooms. Quite expensive for what we got.
The staff on the other hand were exceptional. All of the staff. From the front desk, to the cleaning staff. All were super friendly, professional and very efficient. Absolute credit to the hotel. The location is fantastic and close to everything. We could walk to the gondola/luge in 15 mins. A couple of places we found to eat that we really liked.... Yonder (we had breakfast there, but they did other meals too), Fergburger and hands down the best place was Ferg Bar. Had amazing food, great staff and really cool atmosphere. Good breakfast, and coffee too. Patagonia for hot chocolate and ice cream. Avoid Erics fish and chips, that is a food truck across from the Novotel. Very ordinary fish and chips, and not worth what you pay. Go to the pub in Arrowtown for excellent fish and chips. Although I'm sure there are plenty of places you could find fish and chips within walking distance of the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Andy

Thanks for the informative review - we appreciate your feedback.

The hotel is due for refurbishment and we as management are working with the owners of the hotel to finalise designs for this work which hopefully will happen in the not too distant future. Our role in the meantime is to try to present the hotel in a clean and tidy fashion and to have great staff - we try hard to achieve this and in most cases I think we do pretty well.
We have replaced a number of carpets recently, replaced all the beds, tidied up the lounge area, replaced 2 or the 3 lifts with the 3rd starting next week, replaced the WIFI system and we are currently repainting a number of rooms - our aim is to keep doing what we need to until such time as our major refurbishment project - this will be extensive and will change the experience our guests get totally. We are very excited to get going on this work and being able to have the very best location, great staff AND an upgraded facility.

It is through comments such as yours that we can focus on what we want to deliver and get the owners to commit to the works.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Avoid this hotel at all costs. They will charge you for food or services you have not availed of. I filed a complaint to the NZ Commerce Commission as a breach of the NZ Fair Trading Law. The old outdated and run-down rooms, facilities, and halls are not worth the money you paid for. This is the result of poor management. When you complain, nothing happens. This organisation has a bad culture that is unsuited to the business climate in New Zealand. If you or a family member ended up being the next victim, it would be unfortunate. Very outrageous conduct by management and staff.

Room tip: Please avoid Novotel Lakeside Queenstown. You could be the next victim
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Curiosity68500397874
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Curiosity68500397874

As mentioned when you made contact with me I have the right of response to this review to allow context.

Anyone reading this should be aware that:

1 The reviewer is correct a charge for 1 burger ($36) went to their account in error
2 Immediately it was agreed that the charge was wrong and a correction was made
3 On check out the guest started yelling and filming our team and causing some disruption
4 The guest claimed they missed their taxi to the airport due to this confrontation and it was agreed that we would pay for this

Following this the guest wrote to me and offered to accept a payment of $5000 to settle his complaint or he would take a complaint to the Commerce Commission and the NZ Police - I refused to accept such a ridiculous demand and to be threatened in this way. He then said he would accept a full refund of $1160 which again I felt uncomfortable with and refused.
He has threatened legal action and I have suggested he take whatever action he desires - it appears that he has fallen back on writing Tripadvisor reviews.
We maintain that we credited the charge that was identified as incorrect immediately and offered to pay the taxi that was missed and may have done more if the guest had been reasonable.

Hopefully this gives some context to this review.

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews