We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gavin M
Auckland, New Zealand

Best deal in town - right next to the Lake

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Dec 2023
As Queenstown regulars, we've stayed in quite a few different locations and the Novotel is easily the best in this price range in the downtown area.
It is showing its age, but the room was large and clean. The bed was great and we slept really well thanks to the airconditioning - it was 25+ outside.
A real plus is the Nespresso coffee machine in the room and we used this every morning.
We upgraded to a Lake View room and were on the ground floor so we could sit outside and walk out our door right up to the beach - amazing. It was very quiet - even on a Saturday night. Would definitely get this room again.
Location is ideal - centre of town, right next to the Gardens.
We would absolutely stay at the Novotel again - 4 star Hotel with 5 star value
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Get a Lake View Room - worth the extra.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear GMoney 484

Thanks for staying with us - sounds like you have found the room type that suits you best and it worked for you which is great.

Yes, we acknowledge that the hotel is showing its age - the owners understand this and are working with their architects and designers on the next upgrade. This year they re-modelled a couple of rooms but did not feel they were as good as they wanted so are back to doing the same soon along with working out designs for the restaurant, bar and lobby areas - this exciting project hopefully will start in late 2024 but possibly early 2025. We are excited for this but in the meantime our aim is to have great staff that look after our guests and to maintain the building as best we can so that while it may be older that it is clean and works.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Vio.com
    $139
  • Priceline
    $156
0.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$340
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $361
  • Priceline
    $311
  • Hotels.com
    $361
0.5 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Agoda.com
    $342
  • Expedia.com
    $408
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $395
  • Agoda.com
    $381
  • Expedia.com
    $395
2.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
  • Vio.com
    $229
  • Priceline
    $246
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Priceline
    $155
0.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Priceline
    $199
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
Tripadvisor
$169
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
5.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $230
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,972)
Filter reviews
3,972 results
Traveller rating
1,633
1,747
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,633
1,747
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 3,972 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2023

Super-friendly front-staff - went above and beyond to give us a better room (ie view) and seem to really care. Nothing too much trouble. Special mention to Nick and Carla but everybody was super nice. Felt like family truely. The rooms are fine - the corridors are showing some age but the friendliness and convenience outweighed that to me.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V7063GCmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Dear V7063GCmarkg

Thanks for your comments and for staying with us. Great to hear that our team looked after you well and in particular Nick and Carla.
We appreciate that the hotel is getting older and we are working on an upgrade that hopefully may start as soon as late 2024 but may end up being early 2025 - we aim to have great staff, and be clean and well maintained in the meantime.

Thanks - hope to see you again some time soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, one before and one after our Milford Track walk. The rooms were meticulously clean and hotel service was very good.
The manager was out and about during breakfast to ensure guests were happy.
The hotel is close to the Milford Track Ultimate Hikes admin centre which made things easy.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dallas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Dear Dallas K

Thanks for staying and for your review - great to hear that we looked after you well.
I like my time in the restaurant and try to get up there when I can as it is a good time to meet our guests and to get feedback but also just to make sure we are looking after people as I want all our guests to be looked after.

Thanks for your comments - they are helpful to the team.

regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2023

Good position in town within easy walking distance of everything. We were given a very small room with a very small balcony (no seats or table). A shower over the bath (grab rail but just an old style shower curtain) was not ideal. Very comfortable bed and good room safe. Strange recent "add-on" of a semi-circular desk (?) below TV. Great breakfasts. Helpful reception and tour offerings.

Room tip: Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the great buffet breakfast.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KandTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear K and T

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay - while your rating of your experience was not as high as we would like to achieve a number of your comments were positive so on balance it appears that you did enjoy your time in Queenstown which is good.

We are still working through with our owners the next major upgrade which we hope will not be too far away. This will get rid of all of the shower curtains and the majority of showers over the baths.

The desk is not a recent add on - it has been there since the last upgrade which is quite a few years now.

It was pleasing to hear that you had great breakfasts which is a very important part of having a great stay - and also that the team looked after you.

We appreciate you staying and do hope that you will come back again some time.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2023

I can't imagine a better location if you are staying in Queenstown. Steps away from the Queenstown Gardens and the harbor. The rooms are quite nice with some rooms looking out on the Gardens while others look out toward the lake. The rooms are well-appointed and breakfast buffet and dinner service in the hotel are excellent.

Room tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the lake.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamesl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear James

Thanks for your comments - hope to see you again some time

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

Had the good fortune of staying here as part of an extended NZ cycling tour. Its proximity to Queenstown CBD and a large public park/gardens was fantastic.

You most likely won’t need a car if you stay here as all in town activities are an easy walk.

Hotel was very well staffed. It also had an excursion team (concierge desk) to help you navigate the wide variety of day trips you can book

Versus other hotels I stayed in during my NZ trip, this one was on the large side. Neither quiet or intimate. Rooms and bed were comfortable. Ours opened onto the courtyard, providing fresh air.

Breakfast was average, more like a mass feeding. Still, I’m impressed by the staff’s handling of so many patrons

Well managed

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanC296
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear DanC thanks for your comments and for staying with us. We have had some big groups in the hotel lately so I would agree that breakfast has had to cope with large numbers which does make the experience less intimate. The team is focused on not allow "busy" to mean "bad" and to look after all guests which on the whole I believe we achieved.

We hope that you enjoyed your New Zealand experience and that you will come back to explore more some time.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews