We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,959)
Filter reviews
3,959 results
Traveller rating
1,628
1,746
438
103
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,628
1,746
438
103
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,959 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

Had the good fortune of staying here as part of an extended NZ cycling tour. Its proximity to Queenstown CBD and a large public park/gardens was fantastic.

You most likely won’t need a car if you stay here as all in town activities are an easy walk.

Hotel was very well staffed. It also had an excursion team (concierge desk) to help you navigate the wide variety of day trips you can book

Versus other hotels I stayed in during my NZ trip, this one was on the large side. Neither quiet or intimate. Rooms and bed were comfortable. Ours opened onto the courtyard, providing fresh air.

Breakfast was average, more like a mass feeding. Still, I’m impressed by the staff’s handling of so many patrons

Well managed

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanC296
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear DanC thanks for your comments and for staying with us. We have had some big groups in the hotel lately so I would agree that breakfast has had to cope with large numbers which does make the experience less intimate. The team is focused on not allow "busy" to mean "bad" and to look after all guests which on the whole I believe we achieved.

We hope that you enjoyed your New Zealand experience and that you will come back to explore more some time.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

Prior to our five night stay I noted some really negative reviews. Our experience was entirely positive. Great front desk, house keeping and concierge. No problem with lifts or drinking water. You pay for valet parking but all parking in this area is expensive - I also tried the Wilson public parking and it turned out more expensive! The location is perfect. Our room (434) in the Horne wing was quiet with a decent view of the hills. Everything worked well in the room. There is a guest laundromat which is fair priced and a great blessing as we are on a long trip. It is true that some of the floor, walls and fittings are a little worn but really not a big issue at all. Did not try the breakfast or dinner as there are really great options nearby with lake views. Thanks to everyone for a great stay, would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Matthew S

Thanks for your feedback - sounds like you had a great time which is what we would like all of the time.

The recent boil water requirements from the local council due to a problem with their plant and equipment has not been ideal but has been outside our control. This has now been lifted and the water in the tap is back to being safe to drink as it is in most places around NZ but not necessarily in other countries. This has impacted on our guests sentiment.

Replacing the lifts in the Hotel has also caused some issues for some guests with resulting negative reviews and while we understand this we believe that the new lifts will be vastly improved - we are half way through the project but will be halting works until after Easter to get us through the busy Summer season without further interruption which will be good.

You are right about parking - we believe that our options are the best for our guests.

Thanks for staying - great to hear that you would like to come back some time.

Regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2023

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside offers a convenient location with close proximity to the waterfront, shops, and restaurants, making it strategically positioned.

Unfortunately, that is the only good thing about this hotel. Despite its advantageous setting, the hotel fell short in various aspects. The overall ambiance was uninspiring, with room that appeared, felt, and smelt outdated. In addition, the broken elevator forced us to climb three flights of stairs daily.

Upon check-in, we were warned not to drink the tap water due to contamination of the water supply in Queenstown. Unfortunately, the absence of complimentary drinking water in the room and the consistently low supply of water in the jug in the lobby just really inconvenienced us.

The room rate was pricy, especially considering all the inconveniences and lackluster facilities, and that neither breakfast nor parking was included.

Definitely it was not worth the value!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Guest

Thanks for telling us about your experience - we are sorry that this was not as we would have liked for you to experience.

The Boil water issues in Queenstown were forced on Queenstown due to an outbreak of illness back in late September - despite testing Council has found no issues with the water supply but took the action until a further filter system could be installed. Initially we did not provide bottled water as we were having difficulties getting supply at the volumes we required and because we have been actively trying to get rid of plastic bottles. In supplying access to water we had hoped that this would be enough but having received a lot of feedback that guests felt we should supply bottled water we managed to get a regular supply and did back down on this and started to supply it. The boil water notice has now been lifted and it is perfectly fine to be drinking the water that we enjoy again.

In terms of the lift - this was not broken down it was actually being replaced - as the first stage of an upgrade plan for the hotel. While we are doing this we are working with the owners of the hotel on refurbishment plans which we hope will start in the not too distant future. This will be major works on all areas of the hotel and we are excited that it will address the areas that you have highlighted

We are sorry that you did not feel we offered value - our pricing changes and depends on many factors so our aim is to try to offer value in comparison to the market and to look after our guests - while value is subjective we are sorry that you did not feel we met our goals in this area.

We do hope that you enjoyed Queenstown and will return at some stage

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

and a really nice stay! Right downtown, across the street from all the shops, and adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, you couldn't locate a hotel any better.
Ask the hotel about the Jacuzzi, it's a private hot tub you reserve for a half hour and really does a great job of working out the kinks and relaxing you

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Northern_Traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Dear Northern Traveler

Thanks for staying with us and for providing your feedback - great to hear that you enjoyed the experience.

We hope you will come back to see us again some time.

regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

There are only two things to recommend about this hotel: the location, and the breakfast buffet. The property itself has never been refurbished, and looks at least 40 years old. It's in very tired, shabby condition. Housekeeping does a great job, but there is only so much they can do to overcome the shortcomings of a run-down property. The location, however, is outstanding! Note: Queenstown has had a problem with potable water, so guests are advised NOT to drink tap water. No bottled water is provided. Guests are instructed to boil water in the kettle in the room.

Room tip: Lake views are best. Avoid rooms that face the carpark.
Date of stay: November 2023
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1805BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and for staying - we acknowledge your comments about your experience and apologise for any areas of concern that you had.
you are correct the hotel is 35 years old however its not quite correct that it has never been refurbished - in fact the tope floor was added new around 15 years ago and at the time the rest of the hotel did have considerable works - having said that we recognise that a refurbishment is now overdue. These works had been planned pre covid but were stopped during this time for obvious reasons. The works have not recommenced with new plans and designs being worked on. We are currently replacing our lifts and continue to maintain the property as best we can as we head towards the full refurbishment.
In terms of water we have provided safe water for drinking in a number of areas around the hotel and all guests should be receiving notification on check in (as well as this being listed on the website etc to try to inform guests before they arrive). This issue is a town wide issue and apparently will be resolved on the 8th of December when our local council installs a specialised filter on their water supply.
On going testing of the water supply by Council has not found what the issue actually was so the boil notice is a precautionary measure but we are taking this seriously.
We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay but we do hope you enjoyed Queenstown and New Zealand
regards
Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews