We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$218
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
travelup.com
$220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nospeedrestriction
Brisbane, Australia

Looking very tired

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2023via mobile
In typical Accor style, this property looks like it hasn’t seen a dollar of investment in 20-25 years. In desperate need of a refit and renovation.

The downstairs bar is a little odd and lacks identity. Not sure if they are going for a modern bar or cosy intimate atmosphere. It’s all a bit confused.

The hotel is in a good location but very limited parking options exist outside of their valet service which is fairly expensive.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear Nospeedrestriction

Thanks for your comments and for staying with us.

While we respect your view Accor is generally a management company for owners who own most of the hotels and choose when to upgrade their properties - having said this there are many new hotels being managed by Accor and many of the 5100 hotels around the world in the group are being refurbished all of the time.

In regards to Novotel Queenstown our owners have been working through an upgrade programme and start in a couple of weeks in replacing the lifts in the hotel while we finalise the room design and a full refurbishment of the public areas. These works will take some time but will be extensive. Original plans were shelved with COVID which has slowed the process a bit but we are excited to be almost there and are ready to go - with the hope we can have the best hotel in our category in the best location.

The lounge area was tidied up in the last couple of weeks with new wallpaper and cushions as an interim measure to make the area more comfortable. We are sorry you found this confusing but having had many comments that the lounge was somewhat boring and not comfortable for our guests this was a temporary solution. It was a matter of finding fabrics and wallpaper that matched other aspects of the area until we complete a full refurbishment We are very happy with the look and have had many very positive comments - clearly we cannot meet everyone's expectations.

There are parking options for our guests - the Hotels options are valet parking at $28 a night or discounted self parking at the Wilsons for $23 with multi entry. The other options for guests are - Wilsons charge $3/30 minutes and is single entry, the parking on the street is $4/hour with fines if not managed - it is free after 6pm until 8am , there is some very limited free parking spots around town if you are happy to walk to your car - we believe ours are the best options but again it is a personal choice that are open to all guests. Other local hotels are charging up to $50 a night for parking.

Thanks for staying and thanks for your comments - we do review these and do try to look after all of our guests as best we can.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $224
0.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Agoda.com
    $342
  • Expedia.com
    $409
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $394
  • Agoda.com
    $367
  • Hotels.com
    $395
2.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $246
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $198
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$277
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $228
  • Agoda.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $277
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $178
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$169
  • Tripadvisor
    $169
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $169
5.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $340
  • Agoda.com
    $305
  • Hotels.com
    $361
0.5 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,972)
Filter reviews
3,972 results
Traveller rating
1,633
1,747
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,633
1,747
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 3,972 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

The location is perfect! Step straight into the centre of Queenstown from the front entrance. Rooms serviced daily to a fantastic standard. The valet service was very convenient and the breakfast was always fantastic. Bar staff were very friendly and offered great tips for us on our travels.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Dear Melissa F

Thanks for staying and thanks for your positive comments - great to hear you enjoyed the experience.

We hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

We’ll located just in the fringe of town. Staff were attentive and helpful.

The room was tidy and well maintained throughout our stay.

The valet parking was very good, $28/day we’ll spent as parking would have been nightly.

We didn’t try the restaurant or room service.

Room tip: Go with the valet parking
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cam-AKL-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Dear Cam-Akl-NZ

Thanks for staying and for your feedback.

Next time you stay we hope that you will find our restaurant and give it a try. Breakfast is generally very popular with both our guests and locals alike - there is a large selection for most tastes.

Dinner is also getting good comments now and we continually look for improvements - it has been tough to get staff but we have now rebuilt the team in this area.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2023 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Novotel (5 aug to 10 aug) The buffet breakfast was amazing and having a bar at the hotel was fantastic for those days when you wanted a drink but didn’t feel like going “out”. We were lucky enough to get a room upgrade 2 days into our stay, from a roadside room in to a lake front room! It had the most wonderful view!! The whole staff couldn’t have been more accommodating, from helping with bags, booking, recommendations and providing a few little items we had forgotten at home too! We cannot wait to stay here again! Thanks Novotel Queenstown Lakeside.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roxanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Dear Roxanne A

Thanks for staying and for your review - we look forward to having you stay with us again soon

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

Beds were super comfortable, in room dining selection was okay but there's a ton of restaurants and 24 hour places near by. Room was super clean, and our mountain view room even had a lake view if you reached out enough. Loved the room, would definitely stay again. Super convenient to walk around town, just on the outskirts of the main area, making it quiet but still close to everything. Private hot tub available to book per day, free, but you just have to put your name down before everyone else!

Lift could be updated but wasn't a problem at all. Bar was fine, better options in town but it'll do. Ski room available for all your equipment, and the towel warmer in the bathroom was a nice touch.

Special shout-out to Lexi at reception- she made everything super easy and was always happy to help :)

Room tip: Valet parking only, but really accessible for ski busses and taxis
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charlieccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Dear charlieccw

Thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay and for staying with us.

The lifts in the hotel start to be replaced entirely in mid September and we are hoping that the rest of the hotel will not be too far behind - although these big projects always take a reasonable amount of time.

Will certainly pass on your comments to Lexi who is relatively new to her role but is doing a great job.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023 via mobile

Great service. Awesome, helpful staff on the front desk. Great guys on the bar. Superb concierge with skis and the car. Late check-out was really appreciated. Room was good, pretty standard, nothing special but good enough. Clean. Cleaning staff were friendly and really good.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Dear Anotherkiwitraveler

Thanks for your positive comments - it was great to hear that our team looked after you in many different areas of the hotel. We are working on the upgrade of rooms and the hotel in general so are looking forward to having both a superior product and an amazing team.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<