We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lovejoypeacefruits

Great location and staff, but hotel needs a makeover

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jul 2023
Pros: Hotel staff are friendly and there was a little gift of a packet of chocolate left for us in the room, which really gave it the personal touch. Room was relatively clean and beds were spacious and comfortable. Location was central and easily accessible. We were upgraded to the Mountain View room upon arrival which had a nice view. TV was quite new and had cast function and apps. In the hotel, there is a gym room and a hot tub for guests to use.

Cons: Unfortunately, the hotel is quite dated. The bathroom toilet seat looked old and appeared to be yellowing. The plastic on the seat had winkled (it was still usable but not what you'd expect from a hotel). The lift servicing the hotel sounded like it might break down any minute. Sofas and chairs in the public lounge looked squashed and overused. There were also no power outlets near the bed (the nearest power outlet was next to the TV from memory). Our liquid bath soap bottle had not been refilled two nights in a row.

The hot tub requires booking and it is pretty much booked out several days in advance. There is a booking book at the reception.

Overall, the beds were comfortable but I expected a bit more for a 4 star hotel.

Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Book the hot tub in advance (try emailing the hotel) because it will get booked out before you...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear HungryPaulie123

Thanks for your detailed comments - it looks like overall you were happy with your experience but there were a few things that you feel we can improve on.

Our owners are working on a refurbishment project and we do hope that this will start in the not too distant future - the lifts start to be replaced (which is a huge job in itself) in September and we are working to tidy up the couches and the lounge area in the bar with new wallpaper and new cushions which we start mid August. This work is just to tidy things up until teh larger works start which will fully upgrade the entire hotel.

There are plugs next to the beds in all rooms so I am sorry that you did not find these and I apologise that the soap was not replaced - this has bene mentioned to the team to make sure that it is being checked and replaced as required.

Thanks for staying - we hope we will see you again soon.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$420
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $420
  • Agoda.com
    $318
  • Hotels.com
    $420
0.5 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Entrance
$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Official Hotel
    $229
0.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $399
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $399
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $445
  • Agoda.com
    $434
  • Hotels.com
    $445
2.1 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$363
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
$254
  • Expedia.com
    $240
  • Agoda.com
    $213
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
$332
  • Expedia.com
    $332
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $332
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
$309
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$254
  • Expedia.com
    $254
  • Tripadvisor
    $254
  • Priceline
5.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $379
  • ZenHotels.com
    $378
  • Expedia.com
    $379
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,975)
Filter reviews
3,975 results
Traveller rating
1,636
1,747
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,636
1,747
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 3,975 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2023

Great hotel and very central to downtown Queenstown. Buffet breakfast is good and sets you up for the day. Most tour companies will pick you up from the front door and drop you off after your tour. Staff were fantastic to deal with and were very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms are nice and warm (we were there during winter) and serviced daily. The hotel is getting a bit old and probably needs upgrading.My bit of advice to travellers: Avoid going there during school holidays!

Room tip: Parking is very hard to get after 3pm so either book the valet parking or use the parking building 1 street away!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear ColNP

Thanks for your comments - good to hear you enjoyed the experience.

While you may be correct that school holidays are busy and we have many families staying that is because we try hard to look after them and make sure they have a good time. We recognise for people traveling without kids they may find this a bit overwhelming but for others it is a treat.

Thanks - hope to see you again some time

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2023 via mobile

Got it with my membership discount in my room...very accommodating Easy access to nearby restaurants or boutique hi end .I would love to come back again...room clean ..I had my freebies free drinks too upon my check in.. easier no hassles at all

Room tip: We got this hotel because easier for us to travel by bus around 8 am departure you must be at terminal around 7 am ...you can just walk to that...
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikkaelag2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear MikkaelaG

Thanks for your Loyalty - it is always great to hear that our regular guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

Stayed over the new year period. Even through Queenstown was really busy we had a wonderful stay.

Excellent location being in the city centre but situated at the waters edge, next to the beautiful gardens.

The room was clean, cosy and we will be back :)

Thank you for looking after us!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sippinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear sippinn

Thanks for the feedback - hope to see you again soon

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2023

The best thing about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is its central location. It is absolutely perfect being situated right on the lakefront between the CBD and Queenstown Gardens. Stayed in a lakeside room with king size bed and like so many Accor Hotels across Australia and New Zealand it is very much in need of a facelift to bring it into the 21st century. The bathroom in particular is really old and dated. That said the room was clean and the king sized bed was very comfortable. Nespresso machine was a welcome touch. The bar area has so much potential in yet is extremely underwhelming and not very Queenstown to say the least. Parking is expensive as was the accomodation for what you get however, this is Queenstown and nothing is cheap. Overall had a comfortable stay and would certainly consider staying here again in future (preferably after a renovation).

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear hamishf750

Thanks for staying and thanks for your feedback.

You are correct that we are due a refurbishment and while this was meant to have started COVID did get in the way and the owners went back to square one in their planning - this does seem to be progressing and their intention is to fully refurbish both the rooms and the public areas. In the meantime we are tidying up the bar area about to start replacing the lifts which is a big job in itself. This is just the first stages while the design of the rooms etc is under way.

Parking in town is relatively expensive and our aim is to be able to offer a service that meets the needs of the guests that use this service at a reasonable cost.

We do hope that you will come back to see us again some time

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2023

I booked this hotel so we could be close to LUMA. I read some really mixed reviews and was a little nervous. But we had the BEST stay!
Right from calling up as I made a mistake booking online, the man who I spoke to was so helpful, accommodating my large family group over three rooms .
It was a really really busy weekend at the hotel with Luma on and kings birthday, but the staff were all so lovely and friendly despite being run off their feet,
Highlights were the comfiest beds ever, the fab spa pool which was a hit with us adults and kids( you book a slot at reception), and the amazing lake front view from the lake front rooms. There was even a kids corner near reception with Xbox game, books and a few toys.
The reviews online had been average for the breakfast. While it wasn’t ground-breaking, it was more than fine and the custard danish pastries were delicious!
Overall, we had a fab stay and would definitely book again.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Froudcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear bobjD1756YK

Thanks for your positive comments - it was good to hear that you enjoyed your LUMA weekend - you are correct it was busy.

We do hope that we will see you again some time soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews