We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin W
New Plymouth, New Zealand

Very Central

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jul 2023
Great hotel and very central to downtown Queenstown. Buffet breakfast is good and sets you up for the day. Most tour companies will pick you up from the front door and drop you off after your tour. Staff were fantastic to deal with and were very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms are nice and warm (we were there during winter) and serviced daily. The hotel is getting a bit old and probably needs upgrading.My bit of advice to travellers: Avoid going there during school holidays!
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Parking is very hard to get after 3pm so either book the valet parking or use the parking...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear ColNP

Thanks for your comments - good to hear you enjoyed the experience.

While you may be correct that school holidays are busy and we have many families staying that is because we try hard to look after them and make sure they have a good time. We recognise for people traveling without kids they may find this a bit overwhelming but for others it is a treat.

Thanks - hope to see you again some time

Jim Moore
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $399
  • Hotels.com
    $399
0.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
$422
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $422
  • Expedia.com
    $422
  • Hotels.com
    $422
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$324
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $324
  • Expedia.com
    $324
5.2 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
$299
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$349
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn Hilton Honours Points
  • Expedia.com
    $349
  • Tripadvisor
    $349
  • eDreams
5.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Restaurant
Room service
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$260
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $260
6.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $479
  • ZenHotels.com
    $473
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    $330
  • Agoda.com
    $288
  • Algotels
    $331
1.7 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Expedia.com
    $296
0.4 km from Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (3,976)
Filter reviews
3,976 results
Traveller rating
1,636
1,748
442
105
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,636
1,748
442
105
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking in town per day restaurants and shops the ground floor buffet breakfast central location new zealand lake concierge accor internet nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 3,976 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2023 via mobile

Got it with my membership discount in my room...very accommodating Easy access to nearby restaurants or boutique hi end .I would love to come back again...room clean ..I had my freebies free drinks too upon my check in.. easier no hassles at all

Room tip: We got this hotel because easier for us to travel by bus around 8 am departure you must be at terminal around 7 am ...you can just walk to that...
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikkaelag2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear MikkaelaG

Thanks for your Loyalty - it is always great to hear that our regular guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

Stayed over the new year period. Even through Queenstown was really busy we had a wonderful stay.

Excellent location being in the city centre but situated at the waters edge, next to the beautiful gardens.

The room was clean, cosy and we will be back :)

Thank you for looking after us!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sippinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear sippinn

Thanks for the feedback - hope to see you again soon

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2023

The best thing about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is its central location. It is absolutely perfect being situated right on the lakefront between the CBD and Queenstown Gardens. Stayed in a lakeside room with king size bed and like so many Accor Hotels across Australia and New Zealand it is very much in need of a facelift to bring it into the 21st century. The bathroom in particular is really old and dated. That said the room was clean and the king sized bed was very comfortable. Nespresso machine was a welcome touch. The bar area has so much potential in yet is extremely underwhelming and not very Queenstown to say the least. Parking is expensive as was the accomodation for what you get however, this is Queenstown and nothing is cheap. Overall had a comfortable stay and would certainly consider staying here again in future (preferably after a renovation).

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear hamishf750

Thanks for staying and thanks for your feedback.

You are correct that we are due a refurbishment and while this was meant to have started COVID did get in the way and the owners went back to square one in their planning - this does seem to be progressing and their intention is to fully refurbish both the rooms and the public areas. In the meantime we are tidying up the bar area about to start replacing the lifts which is a big job in itself. This is just the first stages while the design of the rooms etc is under way.

Parking in town is relatively expensive and our aim is to be able to offer a service that meets the needs of the guests that use this service at a reasonable cost.

We do hope that you will come back to see us again some time

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2023

I booked this hotel so we could be close to LUMA. I read some really mixed reviews and was a little nervous. But we had the BEST stay!
Right from calling up as I made a mistake booking online, the man who I spoke to was so helpful, accommodating my large family group over three rooms .
It was a really really busy weekend at the hotel with Luma on and kings birthday, but the staff were all so lovely and friendly despite being run off their feet,
Highlights were the comfiest beds ever, the fab spa pool which was a hit with us adults and kids( you book a slot at reception), and the amazing lake front view from the lake front rooms. There was even a kids corner near reception with Xbox game, books and a few toys.
The reviews online had been average for the breakfast. While it wasn’t ground-breaking, it was more than fine and the custard danish pastries were delicious!
Overall, we had a fab stay and would definitely book again.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Froudcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear bobjD1756YK

Thanks for your positive comments - it was good to hear that you enjoyed your LUMA weekend - you are correct it was busy.

We do hope that we will see you again some time soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2023

The bathroom fittings are old, squeaky and hard to operate. Rooms are noisy. We could hear people walking upstairs. Lot of noise from people talking in the corridors. Couldn't sleep. The view room is waste of money and is misleading.

Room tip: View room is waste of money
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Radha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Moore, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear 172radhav

Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us. It is disappointing to hear that you had issues with your room and with noise.

The owners of the hotel are working on a full refurbishment project and we hope to get this underway soon. This will take in all aspects of the hotel and we are looking forward to being able to get this under way.

In regards to views we have photos on our website that we believe accurately show the views - we do not talk about lake "views" in any of our descriptions - it is our intention to make sure that these accurately describe what our guests will experience. We are sorry if you thought you were getting something that you did not get.

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews