We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
$169
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jaquez

Best Hotel in Queenstown

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2024via mobile
Beautiful hotel and was pleasantly surprised, given that HIE is not usually impressive. This facility was built in the last few years so everything is new, tech enabled, and clean. Queenstown doesn’t have many upscale resorts so this spot is probably one of the better places you can stay, especially given the convenient location. Prices are also very reasonable.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $395
  • Agoda.com
    $374
  • Expedia.com
    $395
1.1 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $224
3.0 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$340
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $361
  • Agoda.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $311
3.3 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $165
2.9 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
Booking.com
$195
  • Priceline
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $195
2.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Agoda.com
    $351
  • Expedia.com
    $409
5.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
Booking.com
$169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
2.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $198
3.0 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $246
3.5 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$218
  • travelup.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
3.1 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
178
217
104
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
217
104
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view bus stop new zealand frankton road buffet breakfast town sauna lakeview heating hill snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2024

We stayed here for 2 nights and picked a room with the lake view. Highly highly recommend! Beautiful balcony seating with unobstructed lake views. Saw the clear dark sky in the night. Just for that this is a 5 star rating for me. Breakfast was decent, staff was very courteous and friendly. Room was very clean.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gayastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel experience in Queenstown after staying in multiple hotels here. First of all the first impression of this hotel is that of a cheap shabby rundown lodge that must have been in operations maybe 100 years ago and has recently been taken over by holiday inn management. The management seems untrained and unreceptive. Now we come to the rooms.
The rooms look like that of a motel 500 years back. We had booked a lake view room which it did have. But apart from the view the room lacked basic living conditions. We had booked a room for 2 persons and yet there was a big single bed in the room apart from a double bed which took away every inch of walking space and also not a tiny inch to keep your luggage. When we requested the reception staff to do something about it they just flatly refused. They could have come and put the beds together to make space like other hotels do or suggest an alternative. This shows the level of sub standard hospitality this hotel offers. The bathroom is soo rundown and not even basic toiletries are provided. There is no proper flow of water from the shower.
Now the breakfast. Anybody booking this hotel please do not take breakfast. They serve only siders in the name of breakfast.
This is the first hotel of this level which has refused to serve pancakes at an extra charge even durina breakfast when I reauested saying that since pancakes are an all day menu we will not serve during breakfast even at an additional charge.
Please stay away from this hotel at all costs since this is a very old hotel and very very bad standards if you compare with other hotels of this category.
Also the location of this hotel is not the best.
Would suggest Ramada, Novotel, Rydges Crowne Plaza in this category which are much closer to the main attractions.

Room tip: Completely avoid this hotel. Go for Crowne plaza, Novotel, Rydges
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arurima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hello arurima,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, New Zealand.

We're determined to make your stay pleasant, and I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your visit. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the actions that they will be taking will make your next stay with us better than the last. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience.

I hope you stay with us again!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023

This is our first visit to New Zealand and we staying 3 nights at this beautiful lakefront hotel.The front staff as well as management is extremely accommodative and hospitality given to customers is top-class.The rooms are extremely comfortable and views are so much enjoyable.I will definitely visit to this hotel with next visit!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Explorer815850
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

This is a well located nice modern hotel. The rooms are small but somewhat efficient. Staff was friendly and accommodating. They do have a laundry which was excellent. HOWEVER, they did not put a luggage rack in the room. You have to use the table and one of the chairs. So only one chair is available for use, very inconvenient.

Room tip: Front desk will Give you coins for laundry and charge your room.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

It looks like a motel on the outside initially. Perhaps it was late at night.

However we were warmly welcomed and check in by the friendly front office. There is free parking if you having been driving down from other cities.

A very good location situated just next to the magnificent looking lake. Rooms are very well maintained.

Breakfast range is decent and service personnel Mu have been very helpful throughout.

Suitable for families

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sawarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews