We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
$169
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Booking.com
$169
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Hotels.com
$169
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
linalinz
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Very disappointing stay - poor service for the $ we paid

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2023
Stayed here 8 nights February and paid $325 / night which I consider at the higher end even for Queenstown. On arrival we were advised hotel had introduced additional $15 per night parking charge which we refused to pay - 25sq metre room was better suited for business travel than a couple on holiday as it offers very little living space - no cutlery in the room for those who wish to prepare cereal for breakfast and no wine glasses - we were told no need to book for dinner and when we arrived at the restaurant told there was an hour and a half wait to order as they were preparing meals for a tour group - needless to say we didn't try the restaurant again after that- housekeeping hit and miss, not always toilet paper or towels refreshed -front desk not welcoming or friendly and we had to stay 1 extra night in Queenstown due to floods in Auckland and air travel disruptions - so we asked was a room available for 1 more night and the hotel answer was yes at a new price of $350 (this after we had paid $325 per night for the previous 8 nights) - Wow !
Date of stay: January 2023
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Hi linalinz,

A pleasure to host your extended stay and we appreciate the business that you bring to Holiday Inn! We pride ourselves in making your stay memorable and inviting. I am sorry to learn about the issues you've encountered during your visit.

I shared your comments with our hotel management. We always challenge ourselves to be better and feedback like yours will serve as a constant reminder to enhance our services.

We know you have many options when it comes to accommodations, and we look forward to having the opportunity to share a more positive experience on your next visit.

All the best,

Alice P
Case Manager
IHGService
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $395
  • Agoda.com
    $374
  • Expedia.com
    $395
1.1 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Priceline
    $156
3.0 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$340
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $361
  • Agoda.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $357
3.3 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $165
2.9 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Agoda.com
    $351
  • Priceline
    $409
5.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
Booking.com
$169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
2.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $198
3.0 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$246
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $246
3.5 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$218
  • travelup.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
3.1 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $176
  • Priceline
    $195
2.4 km from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
178
217
104
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
217
104
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view bus stop new zealand frankton road buffet breakfast town sauna lakeview heating hill snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2023

Arrived 230 for 3pm check in. Too early. Ok. They had the room as a king size 1 bed. Showed email. I'd requested 3 months earlier twin single beds as was staying with my mum. The man said he would update the booking & to come back at 3pm. Went back told no would be another 40 to 60 more minutes. We had a wedding to attend at 5pm and needed to get ready. Come back at 340 room still wasn't ready! Geraldine "fixed" it and got us our room. Got to room it qas a King size bed NOT twin single beds as requested. We were super stressed by that point so just accepted it so could get to wedding on time. Booked park for the 2 nights. The 1st night there was no park. I was still charged. Guido asked how was your stay? When I checked out. I told him all of above he didn't even reply!! Shocking service. Is it really too much to expect check in time to actually be what it's advertised 3pm?

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeraldine Rimban, Owner at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Hello, Lisa B

We value your opinion. It helps us understand how to serve our guests better. Thank you for leaving your comments and making us your primary choice for accommodation. I would like to take this chance to apologize for the situation you have encountered. Don't worry, I have shared your sentiment with our management for further attention.

We have a vocation in service and will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction and enjoyment. I hope you will visit again in the future. It would be a pleasure to host you once more. Stay safe and healthy until then!

Alejandro G.
Case Manager
IGHService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2023 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here on a road trip. The property was on a steep hill so not great for less mobile people. Restaurant food was great. Staff very friendly and courteous. Beautiful views of Lake Wakatipu from the rooms and restaurant. Not many channels available on the tv.

Room tip: Parking is $15 per day
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Hello Stephfed,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback.

While I am glad that most aspects of your visit went well, I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, as a reference for the improvement of the services offered. I am certain that the steps that will be taken will improve your next visits with us.

I hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2022

Would not bother with this one, plenty of other places in Queenstown to stay. Run down, no atmosphere, ramshackle and constant plane noise. Also the rooms are quite small as are the bathrooms. I stayes there one night at the end of a trip but would not go back.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

Hi ivalee9,

We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road for your leisure stay.

We work hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best. I'm sorry if there is an inferior aspect during your stay with us, and I will share your comments with our upper hotel management team to take the necessary steps.

I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting.

Yours in hospitality,

Melissa P
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the holiday inn for 1 night to try out, as we got a bargain price for about $100 for 2ppl. The hotel is newly built, and some parts were still under minor construction. The whole area is a newly developed area, so lots of constructions happening around.
I personally really enjoyed the stay, the beds were super comfy, the decor were modern and appealing.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Quest11684857482
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2022

Our family was there for 4-5 days the end of October and beginning of November and we could not wish for a better stay to begin our first trip to NZ! Beautiful place with blooming bushes, cabbage trees, and other flowers in their well-maintained gardens and grounds; a spacious room with balcony where we had dinners and marveled the magnificent and tranquil views of the lake, the Remarkables mountains, and the vibrant landscapes; a modern and clean bathroom; and a convenient location a short distance from and in the middle between the city center and the airport! Staff was nice and helpful. Special thanks to Monica who helped us select the room and greeted us on our arrival, answered questions about the kiwi house (which we recommend as it’s not so easy to spot the kiwi bird in the wild) and gave us directions for the walk to the city. The weather was nice and sunny when we arrived in the early morning after long flights (12 hr international and 2 hr domestic), so we were eager to get back on our feet. The walk to the City center alongside the lake was invigorating with photo worthy views every other step. We took the gondola and then went on the Ben Lomond Track, which was about another 2-3 hours hike and were rewarded with gorgeous views of the lake and mountain peaks. The next day we did the Queenstown Hill, which was shorter and more popular with also good views. The last day, it rained in the night and for a couple of hours in the morning and the mountains got covered all in magnificent snow white caps! The tours we booked before we arrived in NZ took us from the hotel with exception of one, which started from the city center. The bus stops are right in front of/below the hotel. The uphill was not an issue for us – that’s what brings the great views. We took a taxi when we arrived from the airport (cost about NZD30). The bus to the City was NZD2 cash (and NZD1 with card). I wasn’t aware but we asked the staff and were told there was a bus to the airport, as well, which we took. If we are fortunate enough to come back, this hotel will be our first choice!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odyssey565550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews