We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deepa S

Superb location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2024via mobile
Stayed 4 nights here from may 26-30. We had a Very comfortable & enjoyable stay. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.
Best location possible for any tourist. Opposite the wharf. Lovely views overlooking the lake.
Lots of places to eat, all 2-3 minutes away from the hotel. Will definitely recommend this place
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$458
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $458
  • Hotels.com
    $459
0.3 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$479
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $479
  • Hotel Website
  • Agoda.com
    $1,037
1.9 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$260
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $260
7.1 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
    $369
  • travelup.com
    $365
  • Priceline
    $369
0.4 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
    $168
0.8 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    $330
  • Vio.com
    $275
  • Algotels
    $333
1.3 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
  • Expedia.com
    $296
  • Vio.com
    $257
  • Priceline
    $297
0.6 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $332
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $299
  • Algotels
    $309
2.3 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $475
  • Vio.com
    $468
  • Hotels.com
    $475
2.5 km from Crowne Plaza Queenstown, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveller rating
929
717
157
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
929
717
157
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking lake view egg station steamer wharf tss earnslaw in town per day valet service buffet breakfast hotel is located new zealand milford sound stayed two nights amazing views balcony lakeview
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2024

Made the booking directly with the hotel and as IHG member we were extended an extra discount. We did of course read lots of reviews from different sites. Our decision to book ahead with Crown Plaza Queenstown was influenced by our gut feeling. And we are glad we went with it.

We had an amazing and very comfortable stay with Crowne and would definitely stay here again.

We booked a Lake View Room on top flr ( 7th Flr) . Please note that the lift only go up to 6th flr and you have to make your flight up on foot to 7th which was not a bother to us ( truly a few steps) They explained this clearly during booking and gave us options for the same room style on other floors should we don’t want to stay on top for and do the walk up.

Communication during booking and stay was transparent, ground staff’s were all very helpful with all our enquiry. The check in / check out process conducted by Jonathan was very welcoming, friendly and attentive.

Room: The room was comfortable and although it doesn’t have the elegance of what you see now with modern built hotel, the room is basic ( as what you would expect from the likes of Crowne, Mercure, Adina) , however, room amenities were provided how a 5* nor modern hotels would. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows too, had a great sleep throughout our stay. They also offer additional types of pillow which you can request should you need one for better sleep & comfort. But most of all, we found our room serviced daily and well cleaned. Special mention to Rajat who was our room’s housekeeper for 3 days. Suggestion: To install USB charging outlets .

Instant Coffee, tea & milk , pod coffee machine and biscuits all provided in the room. No mini bar which is great for us as we have the fridge space and got what we need from local grocery nearby for the duration of our stay. WIFI is free.

Location: We couldn’t have asked for a better area to be our home based for a few days in Queenstown. Directly across the Lake Wakatipu and 1 min from both Steamers Wharf/ Boardwalk and main shopping area. Eateries for all budget are around this area too. Definitely 11/10 on location.

Concierge: Very helpful and attentive to what we needed and suggested many options to make our trip comfortable and sightseeing affordable. Definitely an asset to Crowne Plaza Queenstown is the Concierge on floor on May 22 afternoon, he was very friendly and knew a lot about the area and his local knowledge was very helpful to us as first time visitors to this city.

Breakfast:
The staff’s were very attentive. Hot & cold breakfast were available. Continental breakfast are extensive but would be great to have a variety for hot breakfast selection. Suggestion: For management to look into giving additional training to staff a barista training course to make great coffee from coffee machine.

Transport: We took the Orbus public bus from airport and there is a bus stop just across the road of Crowne Hotel. Bought the card for $15NZD and every ride is $2. The cheapest and economical way to go around. Even used this Bee Card to Arrow Town & Lake Hayes for $2 per way only. Again, the Crowne communicated this to us when we enquired about how to move around. Hiring a car is another option and or booking yourself with a tour company like Southern Discoveries which we have done to Miford Sound.

Thank you Crowne Plaza for a very hospitable and comfortable stay. We hope to return another time.

Room tip: The hotel have a gym. No pool.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

From the check-in to the room, breakfast and staff - everyone was excellent! The room was spacious, beds were firm but comfortable, sheets clean and soft. Everything was clean and kept clean every day. I had a coffee maker in the room, so that was handy a few times, though the coffee at the restaurant at breakfast was really good. Breakfast was a buffet but you could order eggs separately (their scrambled eggs had cream in them and I needed lactose free options). buffet was a nice spread, eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, toast, pancakes, cold cuts, pastries, etc. Lots of good food to choose from. The hotel is also in a supreme location that is just across the street from the dock where I was able to catch a few sunsets and sunrises. Gorgeous views! Staff is extra friendly and helpful. Special thank you to Francia, Ivonne and Nora for their smiling faces, friendly chats and making my stay extra special. Great experience :)

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunciB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2024

We spent a good time at New Zealand but got offensive in Crown Plaza queenstown.
We stayed in Crown Plaza queenstown from 3 may 2024 to 5 May 2024. On 5 May morning we went to restaurant to take breakfast. We choose to sit on a table close to the window. A waitress come and said that her manager ask her to tell us that this table is for 5 persons we cannot sit there. We moved to another table. We observed that all the tables in the restaurant were flexible enough to seat four or more guests. There is no table for two. In fact, there were other tables with only two occupants seated near the window. We had never witnessed the tables being occupied by five guests during our two-day stay at the hotel.Most of the time, they were occupied by two, three, or occasionally four people. We arrived at the restaurant well past 9:30 AM, after the peak breakfast rush, and the number of patrons was gradually decreasing. Throughout our meal, we were the only ones who were asked to relocate, while other couples who arrived later were seated at window tables without any issue. There’s no reason to ask us to move. The only reason is racial discrimination .
This happened on our last day in New Zealand. We can bring all my best memories in New Zealand back to home but now what we bring back home is racism.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2024

Great Hotel in an idyllic locale surronding moutains and lake

Very clean rooms that's number one observation.

The staff were polite and accomodating.

The hotel is located right in the city center, in the midst of all the attractions of the city. It offers greats views of the mountain and lake wakatipu.

The breakfast was good. The tour operators offer pick up from this hotel which is great.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeevaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024

You must get a lake view room for the experience of seeing the place in all sorts of weather and time of day. Weather was adverse so we actually never got to sit on the balcony but we stared out the window many times each day. Breakfast was adequate (no porridge?) and I appreciated the willingness of the staff to microwave our leftovers one day. There is a self-laundry on the 1st floor and the staff is very nice. Public bus around town, to & from the airport stops right in front of the hotel. Doesn't get easier than this. We were on the 4th floor and I thought that might be too low for views but it was great. It was a few steps to nearly everything we wanted to do.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews