We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveller rating
798
639
133
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
639
133
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location a lake view room tss earnslaw in town per day excellent hotel breakfast buffet hotel is located two double beds restaurants and shops new zealand steamers free wifi lake wakatipu stayed here for nights spectacular views south island
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

The location is great. Fantastic access to town. The staff were pleasant.
But...check in was slow. the room is old. The mattress sagged terribly. The shower pressure is mild and the shower is far too low and is over the bath. The bathroom mirror fogs up. There are no power point by the bed. Breakfast was ok, but how can you ruin hash browns?The coffees took forever to make an appearance.
I do not often do negative reviews, but the standards have slipped and pleasantries wont fix the underlying tired problems.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pilmore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Good Evening pilmore64,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - it is unfortunate your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our team and location really are two of our greatest assets so we are pleased these left a memorable impression - in regards to your other comments we have definitely taken these on board for future continuous improvement - we are always looking at ways to improve on our Guest Experience and by you providing a detailed review we can definitely learn from this and share the comments with our management team.

I have shared directly with our Maintenance & Housekeeping managers as we can rectify some of your comments in the near future and plan to do so.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future to show you a stay truly reflective of the service and standards we pride ourselves on as a Crowne Plaza hotel.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed here for a couple of nights, and the location was just perfect directly across the road from the TSS Earnslaw's wharf. We were able to check in very early (11am-ish). The room was fine, not really big but it had all the things we required. The hotel breakfast was fantastic - so much variety and good service. Check in and check out were quick and easy.

Room tip: Go for a lake view room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Good Evening CantonaForever,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we really do appreciate our guests taking the time to comment and provide feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our ideal location in town and accessibility to some of Queenstown's amazing attractions.

Our delicious buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day - it is great to hear your enjoyed the variety and our friendly team!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future,

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, breakfast included in room package. We arrived early morning, with front staff welcoming and suitcases stored in a locked room until room was ready. During this time, we used it to our advantage to start our sightseeing with prebooking a helicopter tour with pick up from the lobby. Upon our return, bags were in our room waiting. Room was well laid out, daily housekeeping good, with daily replenishment of toiletries. Full mini bar, although we didn’t utilise it. Crowne Plaza delivered a comfortable stay, location location location is the trick to staying anywhere, central to everywhere. Breakfast service was excellent, well staffed, with usual array of hot and cold selections, breakfast with a view. Would stay again happily, and hope to do so.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Good Evening sneezydownunder,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable one.

Our team and location really are two of our greatest assets and our ideal location in town means some amazing views both from some of our rooms and at breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future for another amazing stay in Queesntown.

Kind Regards,

Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Our family of four recently stayed here on trip to Queenstown. The location was excellent with shops and restaurants right outside the hotel and a very short stroll into the town Centre. The view from our room of the mountains and lake was amazing. The breakfast was excellent with great coffee. We utilized the valet parking option which worked perfectly for us. Perhaps the most outstanding feature was the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. It is a credit to the management. Special mention to Jordy a concierge who went over and above to ensure our trip was memorable and flawless. Thanks. Will definitely stay again when visiting Queenstown.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank eagle140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Good Evening eagle140,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are so pleased your family enjoyed our ideal location in town and the amazing views over Lake Wakatipu & the mountains. Our team and location really are two of our greatest assets and we are so pleased they made your stay a memorable one.

We will most definitely share your comments with the team and specifically Jordie - they really do take pride in your comments and are so passionate about providing our guests a memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location I s great, close to the lake and very central.
Staff were polite and friendly, and the breakfast was plentiful.
Downsides -
balcony door lock not working.
I found the previous guest’s leftover noodles in the fridge.
Bathroom toiletries not replenished after first day.
Issues solved when I reported them but at NZ$ 330 I really shouldn’t have had to.
For this reason only 3 stars.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Klyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Good Afternoon Klyfor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and provide your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our ideal location in town, as well as our delicious breakfast and amazing service team.

I did also receive your in-room feedback form today to review and I appreciate you taking the time to highlight the balcony door lock - please note this has been addressed and resolved by our maintenance team.

It is disappointing your minibar was not cleaned and checked prior to your arrival, and also that you had to follow up on toiletries being replenished - please rest assured this is not reflective of the high standards of service we as a Crowne Plaza provide and these comments were shared with our Management teams for both departments to address.

Once again I appreciate you taking the time to give us the opportunity to address, and also am sorry to hear this impacted your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future to provide you a stay reflective of the high standards we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews