We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
$2,441
Booking.com
Priceline
$2,464
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
321
18
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
18
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake wakatipu pre dinner drinks cecil peak floor to ceiling windows a wonderful stay south island nz views luxury fireplace helicopter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2023

We spent 7 days in Queenstown at the Matakauri Lodge for our Honeymoon and could not be happier with our experience. The setting it breathtaking with panoramic views of the mountains and lake in the dining areas and room. We were surprised to hear it was "down" season for tourism in October, but although we received some overnight snow on night, the weather did not inhibit any of our planned excursions throughout the week. In fact, it only dipped below 50 degrees Fahrenheit once, which made for ideal walking conditions without any large crowds of tourists.

Their chef prepares what must be the best dining available in Queenstown each night, and the staff could not have been any more friendly or professional.

This was as luxurious of a stay as we've ever experienced throughout our global travels and would highly recommend to anyone seeking a relaxing, 5-star experience in New Zealand.

Date of stay: October 2023
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2023

Matakauri Lodge is more than just a destination; it's an experience that stays with you long after you've left.
An oasis of tranquillity, where time stands still, and memories are etched with pure magic - It’s no wonder why guest' return!
Throughout our stay, we were blessed with a remarkable display of nature's wonders, sunshine one day, snow the next. The food was exceptional, and the staff were too! An experience we will treasure, forever.

Date of stay: August 2023
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srkbrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

This was a bit of a splurge at the end of a 2 week celebration of our 20th anniversary, and it was totally worth it. The rooms were stunning, and so private. The staff was amazing. The views were unreal. One evening we walked out on the dock and experienced the Southern night sky as you would not believe. The food was excellent. They made easy arrangements for us to go into town for a lovely dinner, arranged a private tour, and helped us identify amazing hiking trails. So glad our New Zealand adventure ended with this memory.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alycias2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023

I’d have to say this is one of the best places I’ve ever stayed at. Our family was totally impressed. From the scenery, the staff, the food, the room plus the other facilities (sauna/pool/spa, the gardens). Even had a swim in the icy lake!!! It has it all. Thanks to all of the staff. Nothing was any trouble for them. They really made it a pleasure for us all. The food also outstanding. Certainly unforgettable and hope to be back again.

Room tip: The rooms attached to the main part of the lodge are a real treat. Just metres to the bar, dining area.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Santies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023

We have just returned from an absolutely amazing 4 night stay at Matakauri Lodge. It really doesn't get any better than this anywhere. If you can manage to get to the lodge you are guaranteed the stay of a lifetime. We have never been so spoilt anywhere.

Date of stay: June 2023
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marilyn725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews