We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$206
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Journey184186
Wilmington, Delaware

Not as one would expect

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Nice location but noise level is high (main roadway right outside with lake view)
Thin walls. could actually understand what the man in the next room was saying during his phone conversations. Must not have closed his bathroom door either...some of that I did not want to hear.
No fan in bathroom, no AC. Will not book a room at this hotel in the future.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Don't spend more for a lakeview. The lake is on the otherside of the roadway, nice view but a...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$348
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $348
  • Expedia.com
    $349
  • Tripadvisor
    $349
0.7 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $339
  • Agoda.com
    $300
  • Expedia.com
    $339
1.5 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$255
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $255
  • ZenHotels.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $255
0.5 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$345
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $345
  • Tripadvisor
    $345
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Tripadvisor
$250
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
Tripadvisor
$198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$315
  • Expedia.com
    $316
  • Prestigia.com
    $306
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$280
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $280
  • Expedia.com
    $280
6.1 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$178
  • Doubletree
    $178
  • Tripadvisor
    $178
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
22
38
29
23
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
38
29
23
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reds bar air conditioning lake view bus stop first floor in town lakeview balcony vanity lakeside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Should have read the reviews before booking .

Website is a scam as is definitely not as listed .
Rooms are extremely dark and out dated , walls are paper thin , shower is out dated no exhaust fan.

Booked on line for two nights at just over $300 a night wish we didn’t do that now first night in and we would like to leave to go somewhere else .

Best thing going for it is the view ,

Back in the day I guess there were on top but now they have dropped below the bar , out side needs some weeding done on the grounds and on the building , paint work is horrible.

If you want some great customer service this is not the place to come for it . Front staff were not great or out going or friendly. Megga disappointment .

Room tip: Walls are paper thin no sleep
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammypmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024

We transferred to this hotel for 3 days in Queenstown after our original hotel reported night roadworks immediately outside.

We didn't first check the reviews. Having later done so, we desperately tried to book elsewhere, but the whole town was booked out.

Upon arriving were were pleasantly surprised by the location and the presentation of the lobby. Expecting our room to be a disaster, we ventured to the 3rd floor to find our Lake View King room. Another pleasant surprise. The room was quite nice. Yes, it's a bit 90s, but everything was clean and tidy. The bathroom was a reasonable size and also clean. Amenities were satisfactory. We had a small private balcony with furniture, but it was the view directly down the lake which clinched it.

There's no kitchenette or table in the room for breakfast. There is a kettle and the standard bar fridge to store some milk.

The beds were comfortable. As others have stated, there is no aircon, but this seems to be pretty common in the NZ south island from my experience. Despite being on the main road, the nights were quiet, so opening the windows was not a problem.

The staff were all quite polite and helpful when required. The hotel in general is clean, well organised, and well presented.

The best part of the hotel is its location. It is a level 5 minute walk to the tourist district around Steamer Wharf, but the hotel is far enough away to avoid the noise of the tourist activity.

Parking was free and adequate, as long as you don't wait until too late in the afternoon. If we hadn't been able to park onsite, we would have been in for an almighty walk back to our room. The streets are lined with cars for hundreds of metres in all directions from the main hotel and tourist strip.

All in all, I would happily stay at Rydges Queenstown again, provided I'm on level 3.

Room tip: Try not to book a room on level 2. That's the one with the shared balcony area. Level 3 is the go. Grab a parking spot by mid-afternoon.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoogeeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024

I would not recommend this hotel. I was surprised given that Rydges is a famous luxury hotel at the standard we received for our stay here.

Cons - The walls are very thin so you can hear traffic driving past outside as well as the guests next door. There is a creepy door that is adjoined to another door in your room that can open up into the neighbouring guests room if they open up their side of the door. We can hear guests next door laughing and talking. The views from the room weren't that great as there are trees blocking it. The bathroom is very old with no ventilation. I do find the cost substantial considering the above conditions.

Pros - Bed is comfortable and the staff are friendly. Around 5 minute walk to the CBD.

Overall, with what you are paying, I do not think it is worth staying here.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank songnguyen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Even though we booked our trip early last year we arrived to be told we had been moved to a different hotel due to maintenance issues of which they couldn't elaborate on !! Reception staff were very unhelpful and basically couldn't care. They said they had no contact info for us to advise us of situation before our arrival.
We eventually spoke to a ?manager who said we had been upgraded at the new hotel. They quickly organised a taxi to take us there but we arrived to be told they had booked us a standard room . We booked a king-size lakeside view room and ended up with a double groundfloor carpark view !
The staff at the Novotel were fantastic and moved us the next day to a garden room with balcony they were so apologetic for our situation.
Rygees lakeland resort you are terrible and don't deserve the trade

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mobile29639209794
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

The location is good. The room is tiny and really stuffy. We need to sleep with the balcony door open. But, to top it off, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Think about it… it’s really important. Restaurant’s; don’t bother. Do Management care? Don’t think so.

Room tip: Avoid the restaurants. Main ingredient is salt.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JudithR359
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews