We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brian M
Manchester, England

Lakeside View

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2024via mobile
We stayed 3 nights bookending a trip to the Doubtful Sound.
The first room was better than the second. L202 was larger, lighter with a larger balcony than our 2nd room.
L101 ( the end room) was smaller and had a tiny balcony. It also adjoins the road with some more noise and headlight impacts.
Both rooms were good.
It's a good comfortable hotel, well located for Queenstown. Easy 15 min walk there although more challenging uphill walk back. For us it was better to be away from the busy centre of town.
The rooms were well equipped with kitchenette and a washer/ dryer ( very useful on a long tour) basement car parking was ideal and we didn't use the car at all during our stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Try to avoid the end rooms in the Lakeside buildings
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$321
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$360
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $363
  • Agoda.com
    $306
  • Hotels.com
    $360
1.5 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
    $292
  • Expedia.com
    $298
1.3 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $449
  • Hotels.com
    $445
  • Tripadvisor
    $449
3.7 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Heritage Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
Executive Studio Room
$320
  • Expedia.com
    $319
  • Agoda.com
    $245
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free parking
Exterior
$289
  • Tripadvisor
    $290
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $294
1.7 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Heritage Queenstown
Free Wifi
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$178
  • Tripadvisor
    $179
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $179
6.9 km from Heritage Queenstown
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Heritage Queenstown
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (2,324)
Filter reviews
2,324 results
Traveller rating
1,076
842
282
77
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,076
842
282
77
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest wing family room lake view deluxe room buffet breakfast in town spa pool steep hill new zealand washer dryer amazing views balcony lakeview lakeside nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,324 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

It appeared that every accommodation within 100 miles of Queenstown was booked when our plans changed due to weather. But, the Heritage had a room, saving our bacon. And, it is a top-flight hotel. A nice walk into town though a little steep on the way back. Bonus was free underground parking, in a town where parking is hard to come by.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wc9828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Splurged for the lake view/front room according to the booking. As you can see, technically you can see the lake through the bushes, but it feels like a bait and switch and more of a garden view. Manager was unable/unwilling to move us.

Very disappointing.

Room tip: Don’t bother booking lake view
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

After a long but spectacular drive from Franz Josef we arrived here. The Concierge who checked us in didnt make the best impression, being a bit surly but maybe that was a little to do with not having english as a first language. This made us slightly concerned but the rest of the time the staff were excellent - friendly and helpful.
We had a lakeside suite and it was one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.
Massive size ; massive, comfortable bed; kitchen area including hob and dishwasher; sofa, chairs,table and in a large cupboard, a washer/dryer.
The bathroom doesnt quite match the rest of the room but its all relative. It has everything you need including a good shower but is slightly dated and lacks room to hang towels and shelf space in general.
View to die for over Lake Wakatipu.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was good if the service was a bit slow. Breakfast had plenty of variety and made even better by Mitchell who welcomed us each morning and was very helpful. He was very friendly and a credit to the hotel.
The pool/sauna area was clean with lots of towels and a shower area and the gym looked well equipped.
The bus goes from outside the hotel - takes 5 minutes and costs NZ$4 per person. Often its the first stop from town on the way back.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Our room had a balcony and a view of the lake. Room was large, great well equipped bathroom, super comfy bed and spotlessly clean. Lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds and towels, gym and sauna. Underground secure parking - always important. A bit of a walk from the main hub but we preferred the peace and quiet. Can highly recommend.

Room tip: If you are not fit you would need to either drive or get a taxi down into the town. The hotel is up a bit of a hill. The upside is that the stunning
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 986sandieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Booked a room at this hotel through an agent over 8 months ago. With 3 days to go before our arrival they contact the agent to say that due to ‘maintenance issues’ they can no longer honour the booking. They had however booked us into another hotel. I looked at the reviews of this hotel and they are awful. I phoned the Heritage and spoke to the Duty Manager who confirmed our booking had been cancelled, but we were being moved to another‘wonderful’ hotel. I asked if she had seen the reviews of this apparent‘wonderful’ hotel, and she hadn’t.

The rooms at our new ‘wonderful’ hotel are normally cheaper, probably because the * rating is lower. No mention of any form of refund for the difference, although at such short notice they probably had to pay more.

Book the Heritage hotel at your peril.

Room tip: Avoid booking to avoid disappointment
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S5518ENdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Agata Kurdziel, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Morena David,

Thank you for your time providing feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us.

Please note that we did have a maintenance issue that affected some of our rooms in the last 7 days. This is not ideal, we would love to have you stay with us. Unfortunately, this situation was out of our control and our team worked hard to find alternative accommodation at another hotel in Queenstown in these busy times.

We would not relocate you to another hotel that is not in a similar category or even higher category as we want you to have a great experience in Queenstown. Note we did not take advantage of the situation by booking you in a cheaper hotel with a difference in rate.

Please kindly be advised that we have taken your feedback on board, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly.
We hope your next stay in Queenstown will be a pleasant journey and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Ngā mihi nui,

Agata Kurdziel
T.H.E. Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews