We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin W
Richmond, Virginia

Passable.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 May 2024
This is a bit complicated but we ended up here after a previous reservation at another hotel turned out to be a disaster (nearby, nameless hotel). So these folks bailed us out at the last minute, which we were grateful for. 3 stars on the actual room but 4 because they helped us and they had bar, restaurant, and room service! "Real rooms" are probably superior to the one we stayed in but it IS an older property that needs some TLC. Staff were okay but not overly friendly. You may find a better place but this one is not too bad.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review
Responded 12 May 2024
Hi ColinW1431
Thank you for the review of your stay nice to hear the team were able to assist in a last minute booking for you. Hope you had a great time in Queenstown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$467
  • Expedia.com
    $417
  • Agoda.com
    $368
  • Hotels.com
    $427
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$405
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $405
  • StayForLong
    $400
  • Priceline
    $405
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
$295
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $295
  • Agoda.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $266
0.3 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Restaurant
Room service
$449
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $449
  • Expedia.com
    $449
  • Hotels.com
    $449
2.6 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$402
  • Priceline
    $402
  • Expedia.com
    $402
  • travelup.com
    $404
0.4 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$475
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $475
  • Agoda.com
    $454
  • Priceline
    $475
1.8 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel reception
$328
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Agoda.com
    $258
  • Priceline
    $328
0.6 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free Wifi
Exterior
$379
  • Priceline
    $379
  • Expedia.com
    $379
  • Hotels.com
    $379
4.9 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
$369
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $369
  • Agoda.com
    $323
  • Hotels.com
    $369
1.6 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$341
  • Expedia.com
    $349
  • Algotels
    $332
  • Priceline
    $341
5.0 km from Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
253
468
261
88
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
253
468
261
88
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand a lake view room car parking in town hotel room spa bath views lakefront lakeview hill mountains remarkables
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2024

Don’t be fooled by the star rating (4 stars) this is a very tired and poorly maintained property. There are a huge number of better options in the immediate vicinity so there’s really no excuse for booking this place.
On the upside - we had a lake view room which offered a large balcony area with nice views and a large bedroom area with 2 double/king size (comfy) beds
On the downside - first impressions count so, on arrival, the stale, unpleasant smell in the corridors makes you concerned for what your room will bring (I suspect it’s due to the decades old carpet not being cleaned in a long time. As for the room Itself other than the beds and carpet which seemed pretty new and in good condition the rooms are very basic with cheap furniture - the 4* offering in the bathroom is a single showercap so don’t get too excited. Not even a shelf in the shower area to put anything on just 2 rawl plugs in the wall covered in a dab of sealant. After complaining about the room we were shown an alternative (marginally less shabby) and discovered there should have been a shelf there but no-one had bothered to replace it or indeed clean the bathroom very well - human hair on wall etc. A duty manager spent over 40 minutes cleaning the bathroom so it felt safe enough to use. If you’re into bedside lights that don’t work, stained lampshades, flat pack furniture from the 1970s, sundry dead insects trapped in light fittings and no air conditioning then this is the place for you!!

In summary, rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, cleanliness is sadly lacking, hotel needs some serious investment to address all the shortcomings. We stayed in 10+ hotels on our tour (2-4.5* star places), often not the most modern but this was, by a clear margin, the worst. Even the most basic other hotels were scrupulously clean and pleasant smelling - the Copthorne Lakefront wasn’t.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MF2007Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Hi MF2007Manchester
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of cleaning as our team work very hard to provide a welcoming stay in a clean room. Your comments will be passed onto the Housekeeping team to help focus attention on the areas you see we are able to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

I was ambivalent about staying here after reading through the reviews, but all and all I had a good stay. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The towels were fluffy and plentiful. The location is great for walking to town (7-10min), and the breakfast buffet had a good selection of food. There was a very nice laundry room for quests that I didn’t need to use, but great to know it was there. I was part of a small tour group and there were several large groups there at the same time, but this had no negative impact on my stay.

As noted by many, the rooms could you some refurbishment of the furniture and carpeting throughout, as well as the bath including getting rid of shower curtains. This is just a function of age, not lack of maintenance.

It was an enjoyable stay regardless. With these added touches I’d probably rate the hotel higher. Rooms with a lake view cost a bit more but are worth the awesome look.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank zg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Hi zg64
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay we appreciate you sharing your experience at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Be careful when you book, the website lays out the booking in such a way that you think you are booking a lakefront room because the way it refers to the room in the hotel, this is a ruse - the hotel is titled that, even though it is a very long way from the lakefront. So we were not exited by our view of other peoples rooms opposite. Now the review.

Before even coming to the hotel, they send you a confirmation email with SIX links on it for things you can add-on to your stay. THREE of the SIX links were broken - error messages, so we did not book a spa or anything. When I tried later to access the Copthorne web site from the hotel guide, the whole site was down..

When we arrived, the receptionist was busy ignoring me. So I said "good afternoon" and she asked me to wait whilst he shuffled some room keys for a while - not a good start. Eventually, she finished gave us a key and we went on the hike to our room. When we came back after discovering our room was at the back, they seems especially well versed at explaining how wrong I was, as if this was well-practiced "you do not understand, superior room means not lakefront or it would say lakefront " of course this was the hotel's booking record, not what I could see from booking - be warned.

So now the room - empty fridge which we later discovered was a freezer, no air conditioning controls just a fan, someone else's dirty make-up swabs in the dustbin, scratches on the wall, marks on the carpet, missing net curtain (because rooms were right opposite we had to close the curtains for basic privacy) or be on display, broken toilet seat, chipped paint and a very run-down appearance overall - this place is a dump. It did not even have a box of tissues - they even have tissues in the worse places in Pakistan.

Later, on our way out to dinner, I asked to speak to the manager who was on duty to tell them about the room, after a long wait, we just left, clearly they have other things to do rather than speak to customers and perhaps even fix a few things.

We had booked for 3 days and as we could not find any other hotel rooms anywhere at short notice, we stayed and on day two they did not even bother to make the bed. Normally as you pass staff in the corridor they say hello - not here, I think there is a really bad vibe here.

Day three the fire alarm went off which turned out to be a false alarm, no surprises there. Checkout I was ignored.

The Copthorne "Lakefront" is a place to avoid. Instead, stay somewhere near the lake !

Room tip: Go somewhere else that does not lie about their location, the room and where some of what you are charge-for actually is provided.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrevorD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi TrevorD74,
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We acknowledge from your feedback that we have not met your expectations on this stay and you have highlighted a number of areas where you see we could improve. The hotel does have room types with a Lakeview and without a Lakeview sorry if this was not understood at the time of booking. We have investigated the problem you had with the confirmation email but have not been able to replicate this error with broken links, pages down, but thank you for alerting us to the issue you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024

The Copthorne Lakeside is in a good location, an eight minute walk into the centre of Queenstown. We had a room facing the lake and the view was amazing.
The room was more a three star than a four. It was tired and in need of refurbishing. The curtains were slightly ripped, the wallpaper was coming off in places and the carpet seemed old. The bathroom was decent with a good shower and shampoo etc provided. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was decent with a reasonable choice.

The staff were nice and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discover60369678813
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi Discover60369678813

Thank you for your review, pleased you liked the Hotels location and views. Appreciate the comments on areas you see we can improve and the things we are getting right. Hope you had a great time in Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed in Queenstown between Christmas and New Year Eve and found hotel booking extremely challenging. Price is very high and vacancy for 3 consecutive nights seems not exist. Luckily after effortless attempts, we bumped into this hotel online (probably someone has cancelled) and booked immediately even though non-refundable policy applied. We stayed in another hotel for a night afterwards.

This hotel needs a bit of uphill walk (15 mins) along the Stanley Street from the town centre/ intercity bus last stop. We found the location not bad though because the pickup location of any tour eg Milford Sound is in the front of Holiday Inn Express on the Stanley Street which is 1-2 mins away on foot. A public bus stop is also opposite to this hotel and we took the bus to airport economically and effectively (around 20 mins drive).

The hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms spacious clean well equipped and we booked the lake-facing rooms views are good.

The price is affordable and great. I tried the buffet breakfast. Not fabulous and variety is limited.

I tried the private jacuzzi located in a separate building and it required booking. It's rather strange for me frankly as I need to remove the large floating spongy cover of the pool by myself before I was able to enter into the pool for a dip. I had to put the cover back after using the pool. There were no tables or chairs in the room where I could put my clothes and towels so I could only place them on the floor.

I ever tried the room service and the food is delicious and price affordable.

Staff ok and overall, recommended.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Copthorne Team, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel And Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi MissHK2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, sounds like you have made the most of your trip to Queenstown over the busy Christmas - NY time. Thank you for the feedback on the facilities and pleased you liked the location of the hotel close to everything you needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews