We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$265
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$253
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$202
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
662
470
149
50
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
662
470
149
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill one bedroom apartment close to town washer and dryer the kitchen uphill walk great room spacious room buffet breakfast road noise new zealand lake wakatipu views balcony maze accommodation laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024

This is one of the worst hotels we stayed at in New Zealand. A maze to get to our room which faced a busy street with pedestrians walking by at night. Part of the way to the room is not only outside but uncovered and the walkways inside are either uphill or downhill. The breakfast ( like all of the scenics) uses powdered eggs, and for a veg gf, there is little to eat.

Room tip: The uphill walk at the end of the day is not fun. Drive down to the port and park on the road just beyond it.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heartland Hotels Scenic Suites Queenstown, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry you found our hotel to be a maze and didn't enjoy the breakfast options. We do thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards
Amanda H
Scenic Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Read so much good reviews of this place at booking.com so after Sofitel we need 1 more night before heading out. Location is ok only if you're not too elderly and have difficulty walking up the hill. It looks like a dodgy American apartment as their breakfast and happy hour resto looks sad. To locate our apartment call REMARKABLES go through a bit of a maze. But really doesn't look too remarkable walking along the entrance. Luckily room is spacious enough. Apartment looks rather old. The bed is the worst. I just sink in, so glad I only stay 1 night here. Washing machine works though they only give a small pack of detergent.

Wifi is the problem. Non-existent. Initially I thought it will be fine after few hours but by 7pm is still so bad. My partner decided to call front desk if they can help, they said they'll send someone up. Nothing. Then 8pm, we call again, finally a nice cheerful chap JayJay? came in and try to help but can't fix the problem.

Anyway, we paid close to NZ 600 a night here with no breakfast included. You still have to pay NZ 15 a night to park here. Upon checking out, my partner express their wifi is not working and front lady said wifi is not their problem as they outsource. Then they shouldn't sell the place with WIFI, said is stone age if they can't be bothered to fix it?

The nice guy who came to our room happen to see us upon checking out and told us mini bar he'll waive it off. We consume a bottle of their Pinor Noir and have told the lady when checking out. Since Mr IT said waive off, we let him have it off. Upon driving out to Invercargill in less than 20min, IT guy called and ask did we consume a bottle of their wine? I said yes, he said can he go ahead and swipe our CC. I said sure and hang up. I looked at my partner and laugh as what's the definition of Mini Bar being waive? Wine is only NZ 45 a bottle and I was disappointed is not part of their mini bar (but is on their mini bar menu). :)

I would just stay at Sofitel in future. Way better location, wifi super fast and has a 24hr gym.

Room tip: Don't choose Remarkables Room 9307 if you need wifi.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heartland Hotels Scenic Suites Queenstown, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We understand walking up a hill is not for everyone and the Remarkables rooms were named after the Remarkables mountain range. We do apologise for the Wi-Fi or more lack of Wi-Fi and this has been passed on. Once again we do apologise for you having an unhappy stay with us but we do look forward to welcoming you back to show you our improvements!
Kind Regards
Amanda H
Scenic Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

We loved this hotel, because of the room, delicious breakfasts, service, and room amenities! We could’ve stayed in our room for weeks, since it had a kitchenette, washer & dryer, a nice sitting area, along with an outside deck, and fine bath and bedroom features.

Room tip: The walk to town and the nearby lake is fairly short, but involves walking downhill and back up…unless you use a taxi!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JanetG2172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heartland Hotels Scenic Suites Queenstown, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your room and the lovely breakfast! We do look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards
Amanda H
Scenic Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

The peaks of the mountains across the main road into Queenstown are a great benefit - the downside is the route from reception to the room is kind a three peaks challenge.
Our one bedroom suite was well fitted out, beds comfy and a balcony to enjoy the evening sunset was a bonus.
Despite poor reviews I chanced the bar meal and must say was excellent steak egg and chips.
My error was settling the bill in cash. When checking out two days later was hit with a charge for extra beverage. Despite it not being signed for, the hotel was insistent it was paid for.
Hotel is well located for the shops and restaurants.

Room tip: Get receipts if you pay anything in cash as you may be charged twice
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alanpA5492YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heartland Hotels Scenic Suites Queenstown, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We Rae so pleased you enjoyed the bar meals and found our hotel well located. We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards
Amanda H
Scenic Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

We did not have the scenic view that I was expecting. The internet service is horrific at best. They tried to make the beds comfortable with some type of topper, but instead, it made a big hump in the bed. The hallways were usually cluttered with carts from the cleaning service and trash. The breakfast food was terrible. They ran out of coffee the first morning. I would avoid this place and look for other options that are clean and truly have a scenic view.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heartland Hotels Scenic Suites Queenstown, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Some rooms on the higher floor have beautiful views but these rooms are usually the first rooms booked. We do apologise for the horrific internet and this has been passed on. We do thank you for the feedback on the breakfast options and we do look forward to welcoming you back to show you our improvements!
Kind Regards
Amanda H
Scenic Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews