We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gary M

Not happy

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2023
Not happy, very disappointed, filthy room, dirty, sticky surfaces, from driving into the carpark, going to the lobby just felt uneasy, old and uninviting, once we saw the room and bathroom, asked for our money back and left and stayed elsewhere.
Luckily I booked myself direct and not an online booking agency as then I got my refund there and then, should all note that as if you book online then very difficult to get a refund.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
$209
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
    $186
0.5 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Free parking
$459
  • Expedia.com
    $458
  • Agoda.com
    $384
  • Hotels.com
    $459
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$369
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $365
  • Expedia.com
    $369
0.7 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$479
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $479
  • Hotel Website
    $442
  • Agoda.com
    $1,037
3.0 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Free parking
$422
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $422
  • Expedia.com
    $422
  • Hotels.com
    $422
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest room
$299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $291
  • Algotels
    $309
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$297
  • Expedia.com
    $296
  • Agoda.com
    $275
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
$332
  • Priceline
    $332
  • Expedia.com
    $332
  • Trip.com
    $332
4.5 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Pool
Restaurant
$330
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $330
  • Agoda.com
    $286
  • Hotels.com
    $330
2.3 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Pool
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$260
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $260
  • Tripadvisor
    $260
  • Vio.com
6.1 km from Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
235
399
255
82
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
399
255
82
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view town centre two bedroom apartment min walk guest laundry spa pool new zealand amazing views balcony hill kitchen roomy heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2023

There are 2 Copthorne Hotels in Queenstown a few minutes apart, one called Lakeside and one called Lakeview. It is very easy to get confused when you are initilly trying to find your hotel!
We stayed at Lakeview. Hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast with a limited range of meals available in the bar. Otherwise our room was nice and spacious. Bathroom had no shelf for toiletrries which was a bit irritating.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023

Great view. Large room.
Unrefurbished. Looks like 1990's.
3 star quality.
Crazy high price at $700 for 2 nights.
I expected 5 star. Got 3 star.
Owner must be lazy and money hungry.
November 2023 so not peak of summer.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Chose to here last year with my two older adult children, as 2 bedrooms were needed. Place was a bit sad and tired, but I put it down to post covid issues.
Latest trip was a special occasion trip with my younger adult son, also requiring 2bedrooms.
The apartments are beyond compare for view, which sells me when comparing properties to stay in.
The bed in master was fabulously comfortable and the apartments are warm and quiet, with feee parking.
Front of house staff ( check in) need a lesson in friendliness and hospitality.
Not a smile from either and bordering on rude, though my son and I were friendly and excited to be there.
However as per last year, the property is very tired and well in need of serious upgrade, with water damage in the wall in the lounge ( unit 478) and the deck peeling badly (paint)
Furniture is tired, but adequate.
We were there 4 nights with only ONE room service . On last day room service showed up at 4pm, which was far too late as we’d just returned from a day of outdoor adventures and were showering.
I’m not sure I’d stay again, given the price doesn’t really reflect the quality .
A little disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, the view of the lake and mountains is great. It was clean (except the couch) but the whole place is in desperate need of refurbishment. Rooms needed a paint and the furniture was terrible (see photos). Getting in and out of the hotel due to the road works was also difficult. Rather disappointed, expected more for the money.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeonieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in an apartment at Copthorne Apartment Hotel. It is a perfectly located hotel in Queenstown. Helpful reception staff got our room and key sorted out in no time. Good sized rooms, a well equipped kitchen, an excellent bed and bathrooms/showers with all the goodies. Everything kept in shape (making the beds and replacing the linen) and cleaned up every day (including the washing up) by an ever present housekeeping team. I have not seen this very often in an apartment hotel. I should not forget to mention the views from the living room and bedroom terraces. We were blessed with good weather during our stay in early October. It froze one night though, brightening up the mountain peaks for the next morning with a layer of snow, providing us with beautiful photo opportunities from our terrace. Definitely the place to be on a visit to Queenstown.

Hotel highlights
Great value and also walkability. You don't need a car to visit restaurants, stores or any of the attractions the city has to offer (lake cruises, the Gondola). All can be done on foot.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Roland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Guiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Queenstown and we hope that you get the opportunity to visit again in the future.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews