We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedal to Paradise”

Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traverse the western shores of Lake Wakatipu and into Mt Aspiring National Park . Let Revolution Tours take you on Queenstowns original fully guided and supported luxury biking and walking tour. After a day of riding in spectacular surroundings you will enjoy a hearty gourmet dinner and perhaps a good wine (or two!). Following that you may choose to rest your weary limbs in front of the fire or soak in the hot tub. Then happily drift off to sleep in one of the quality historic lodges along the trail and wake refreshed for another day of adventure. Because you deserve it. All luggage is transported by our support vehicle to the following nights destination. This leaves you free to enjoy your ride and walk without the extra weight of all your personal belongings. When riding you can cycle at your own pace along mainly flat and rolling farm and back country roads knowing that all your luggage is taken care of. Your experienced guides are there riding with you, on hand to share local knowledge, take spectacular photos and to fix those unfortunate flat tyres! We take the hassle out of your tour planning by taking care of all aspects of your tour. Everything is included in the price of our tours except 'over the bar' drinks. You just decide you want to come along and we take care of the rest. We love this part of New Zealand and can't wait to share this secret paradise with you.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In April 2014 we had the pleasure of enjoying Revolution Tours (Kate and Matt Belcher) "Pedal to Paradise" tour.

The tour provided great scenery, cycling and walking, along with excellent meals, quaint accommodation, and good organisation. Kate and Matt each have excellent local knowledge and there was never a moment we felt time pressured, with ample time for pictures, rest stops, and time available to take in the atmosphere of the locations.

We have been on a number of similar tours and this one would feature amongst the best for organisation, locations, and overall experience. Of note and not often mentioned in trip reports, Kate & Matt placed a high level on the safety and potential well being of their clients, with good regular safety briefings and reminders, along with safety equipment including radios, location beacon, and defibrillator with appropriate pre briefing.

In addition to the above, all our needs were catered for and they went one step further than previously experienced on similar tours by providing a portable toilet at the remote locations, a most appreciated addition by the ladies in the group.

We would recommend this tour by Kate and Matt to anyone who wanted to be assured of memorable experiences in great locations.

Barbara

2  Thank BK_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hi BK_Lad, thank you so much for the great review- it really means a lot to both Matt and me that you enjoyed yourselves. Glad you liked & appreciated the portable toilet AKA the 'loo with a view'- we think it's great too! Thanks again, Kate & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Revolution tours is a must do for those who enjoy biking and NZ outdoors. Matt & Kate are amazing leaders who look after everyone and their needs . Nothing was too much trouble.
The bikes were very comfortable to ride and each day was spent biking and eating. Don't expect to lose kilos, the food is superb. All ages can do this tour and if you are tired or for some reason can't bike the support van is there to transport you.
The scenery makes you never want to leave and the accommodation on the tour is so comfortable. Thank you Matt & Kate for an amazing time.

1  Thank X292EHchrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Chris G- Thank you so much for your brilliant review. Matt and I are both so chuffed to hear you enjoyed yourself......and the food! Next time we'll try and have some 'choc lumps' for you! Thanks again, Matt & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our group of 5 couples have been taking an annual cycling trip in the South Island of New Zealand for several years. This would have been one of the best trips we have enjoyed so far. Kate and Matt were excellent tour guides very friendly, attentive and well organized. If you wish to cycle on quiet back roads away from the traffic with magnificent views, take a trip on an old steam ship to the start of the trip, stay in a lovely restored historic house, enjoy fine meals, then this is the trip for you.

1  Thank Michael_NZNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Michael. Wow, summed up the Paradise Trail so well! So glad to hear you and your group of friends enjoyed yourselves & we're really stoked to know we rank pretty highly as I know you've done a lot of cycling adventures. Your group was an absolute joy to guide and we enjoyed getting to know each of you over the four days. Thanks so much, Kate & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Many thanks to Matt and Kate for the wonderful time we had cycling to Paradise! New Zealand as it is is breathtaking but cycling in the country side was special. We were picked up at Queenstown from our hotel and driven to Glenorchy for a quick coffee before being driven to start of the track. Everything from the drive to Glenorchy and the cycle route was simply fabulous. We were equipped well with good bikes, safety gear, water and snacks for the ride. The track itself is easy apart from two short hilly stretches. We stopped for a delicious picnic after which we did a short trek along the Rees Dart track. Matt and Kate were great company and looked after us really well.
We definitely want to go back some time and try the four day tour.

1  Thank Krupa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Krupa S, we're so pleased you enjoyed yourself cycling in Paradise. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and guide you through parts of Mt Aspiring National Park. Hopefully you'll be back in NZ next summer for more cycling! Many thanks, Matt & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We(my wife and two children, 13 and 14) took a one-day cycling trip to the place called Paradise in Mt.Aspiring National Park and some Hikes along Dart river. The weather was cloudy but no rain. River crossing with the bicycle was exciting and entertaining. I am a regular cyclist(commuting with a cross-bike in sunny days), but I was the only one who got wet my shoes in river crossings(it was shallow in depth but I could not keep the balance while pedalling). I was disappointed a little bit but a lot of fun, because I have never experienced the river crossings in my bicycle carrier. My wife has Rheumatoid arthritis but had no problem crossing the river and completed the tour without problems(she enjoyed very much, too).
The bikes were Trek mountain bikes and well-maintained.
The surrounding nature, fauna and flora was so nice(a small bird called Fantail was cute and a Robin approached us so close), and the picnic style lunch Matt and Kate organized was excellent, and the food(Vegesandwiches from the famous Ferburger in Queenstown) was delicious(we ate them all of course). This trip was worth the money we spent.
We would like to come back and try multiday cycling in the next time.
And Kate and Matt spoke some Japanese for us. Many thanks to Matt and Kate.
MattさんとKateさんが日本語を少しですが話しながらガイドしてくれたのはとても良かったです。
サイクリングとハイキングをしながらNZの自然をたくさん満喫できるツアーですのでとてもお勧めです。よ。

Thank gnmiyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi gnmiyagi- Thank you so much for you review, we really appreciate it. We're so pleased you all had such a great time & enjoyed the cycling, the lunch and the bird watching whilst walking on the Rees Dart Track. Thanks again, Kate & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing