We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
217shellyc
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Flawless stay with amazing extra treats

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2024
The Carlin is well located in easy walking distance to the Queenstown Mall and Lake Wakatipu. The complimentary airport pick-up made my arrival seamless. The rooms are modern with every detail considered. I received a surprise upgrade upon checking in to the fabulous Royal Suite. The cocktail hour and breakfast included in the rate were delicious and added value. I loved relaxing on the terrace with the hot tub and outdoor fireplace enjoying the box of treats left at evening turndown service and the complimentary soft minibar. All staff members that I interacted with were professional and efficient. I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Carlin the next time I'm in Queenstown.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: During cocktail hour, the bartender will make custom drinks according to your tastes
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$360
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $360
  • Agoda.com
    $300
  • Expedia.com
    $360
0.6 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $320
  • ZenHotels.com
    $267
  • Priceline
    $319
2.7 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $445
  • Agoda.com
    $435
  • Expedia.com
    $445
1.8 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
    $292
  • Hotels.com
    $297
0.8 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Priceline
    $127
0.2 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
$274
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
    $228
  • Priceline
    $274
2.0 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$289
  • Priceline
    $289
  • travelup.com
    $294
  • Algotels
    $290
0.4 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$249
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $249
4.9 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $199
0.2 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$195
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $195
5.0 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
28
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oro restaurant star hotel beautiful hotel comfortable beds two nights the kitchen new zealand privacy property luxury fireplace nz views town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Amazing hotel that caters to pampering, spoiling and taking very good care of its guests.
Patrick was an incredible guide and gave me a tour I will remember forever! He really knows all the best places!
Eric was very helpful throughout my stay.
I enjoyed the restaurant and loved the exclusive feel of the hotel property!
Breakfast was wonderful every day too.
I had a Princess Suite which was extremely comfortable.
Can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

The Carlin Hotel is a stunning property. The views from the balconies are glorious. I really liked the location - just outside of town, so that it is convenient to everything but during the busy holiday season, it’s on a quiet street. It’s a steep walk back from town, but after all the eating we were doing, we didn’t mind. The rooms are beautiful, tastefully decorated. The staff is attentive and friendly (shout out to Patrick who went out of his way to make a stay special). The food at the restaurant is good - we had Christmas dinner at the hotel and it was really delicious. Breakfasts we tasty and plentiful.
If you’ve looked at booking this hotel, you know that it is REALLY expensive. They bill themselves as a six star hotel, but at this price, I’d like even five stars to be perfection.
Cons - the air conditioning is wonky. It kept shutting off in the middle of the night and we’d wake up and not be able to get it on again.
Our family had the Vista and Panorama Suites and the adjoining king rooms had absolutely no windows - of course this is because of the layout of the hotel which is built into a hill - but not only was there no natural light, but it felt like a fire hazard since the only way out in case of emergency is through the door into the hall.
One evening, when the restaurant where we had a reservation was out of food (this seems to be an issue during the holidays in NZ), we went back to the hotel before 8:30 p.m. and were told the only food we could order was from the overnight dining menu, when the hotel menu clearly states that the entire dinner menu is available until 9 p.m. - the food was still tasty, but the menu was extremely limited.
Other than that, the stay was heavenly and I’d gladly come back and stay again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 540amyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Exceptional experience right from the second we arrived. Staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcome the entire time we were here.

We dined in the first night & loved it so much we decided to dine in every night. Food was presented beautifully & was exceptional to eat. Amazing Chefs!! Equally amazing service staff in the dining room.

Beautifully designed facility & very obvious there has been a lot of attention to detail when designing this beautiful property. Super clean & functional & very much enjoyed our first few nights in New Zealand here.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trek06416537841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

The experience staying at the hotel was amazing. There was so much attention to every detail of the property; the views, location, pillows, coffee machine, multiple fireplaces and hot tub were remarkable. Food was delicious, the chef was quick and the menu was thoughtful. James and Eric displayed top-notch service and attention to every detail. We met the owner, Kevin, and it was nice to see him present and involved in daily operations. We didn’t want to leave. We can’t wait to come back again to visit. Zero complaints. 12/10!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 126chadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

I decided to treat my family to 4 nights in the Royal suite on level 4. Although we had terrible weather while we were in town this hotel made it more enjoyable. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly. It is definitely a unique experience staying in a small luxury hotel. The food in the restaurant is 5 star for both dinner and breakfast. The 3 course meal we had for dinner was faultless and really enjoyable. For breakfast the chefs would accomodate our special requests, nothing was a problem. The views are amazing and the location is very handy to town. Thank you to all the staff with a special thanks to Raquel. Next time we are in Queenstown we will definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Todd Gerhardt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teng Long, Guest Services / Front Office at The Carlin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

We wanted to take a moment to express our sincere gratitude for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carlin Hotel, Queenstown.
Your feedback is incredibly important to us, and we truly appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts and suggestions. It's through feedback like yours that we can continually improve our services and enhance the experiences of our guests.
We have carefully reviewed your comments. Your insights are helping us strive for excellence, and we are committed to delivering the highest level of service and comfort to our guests.
We would like to assure you that your feedback is being shared with our team members to acknowledge their hard work. Your input will undoubtedly contribute to our ongoing efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests.
Once again, thank you for choosing the Carlin hotel, and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. If you have any further comments or if there's anything else we can do to make your future visits even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and providing you with an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews