We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chad G
Idaho Falls, Idaho

Amazing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Nov 2023via mobile
The experience staying at the hotel was amazing. There was so much attention to every detail of the property; the views, location, pillows, coffee machine, multiple fireplaces and hot tub were remarkable. Food was delicious, the chef was quick and the menu was thoughtful. James and Eric displayed top-notch service and attention to every detail. We met the owner, Kevin, and it was nice to see him present and involved in daily operations. We didn’t want to leave. We can’t wait to come back again to visit. Zero complaints. 12/10!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$350
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $350
  • travelup.com
    $349
  • Hotels.com
    $350
0.8 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$369
  • Tripadvisor
    $368
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $371
0.4 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$379
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Algotels
    $404
  • Agoda.com
    $364
  • Priceline
    $379
2.7 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $445
  • Tripadvisor
    $444
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel reception
$328
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $295
0.2 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Guest room
$279
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $291
  • Hotels.com
    $279
1.6 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
$342
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $342
  • Hotels.com
    $342
4.9 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$290
  • Mercure
    $290
  • travelup.com
    $289
  • Algotels
    $292
2.3 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$319
Fully refundable
  • Doubletree
    $319
  • Hotels.com
    $319
  • Tripadvisor
    $318
5.0 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$195
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $195
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
6.4 km from The Carlin Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
29
4
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
4
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oro restaurant star hotel beautiful hotel comfortable beds two nights the kitchen new zealand privacy property luxury fireplace nz views town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

I decided to treat my family to 4 nights in the Royal suite on level 4. Although we had terrible weather while we were in town this hotel made it more enjoyable. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly. It is definitely a unique experience staying in a small luxury hotel. The food in the restaurant is 5 star for both dinner and breakfast. The 3 course meal we had for dinner was faultless and really enjoyable. For breakfast the chefs would accomodate our special requests, nothing was a problem. The views are amazing and the location is very handy to town. Thank you to all the staff with a special thanks to Raquel. Next time we are in Queenstown we will definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Todd Gerhardt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teng Long, Guest Services / Front Office at The Carlin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

We wanted to take a moment to express our sincere gratitude for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carlin Hotel, Queenstown.
Your feedback is incredibly important to us, and we truly appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts and suggestions. It's through feedback like yours that we can continually improve our services and enhance the experiences of our guests.
We have carefully reviewed your comments. Your insights are helping us strive for excellence, and we are committed to delivering the highest level of service and comfort to our guests.
We would like to assure you that your feedback is being shared with our team members to acknowledge their hard work. Your input will undoubtedly contribute to our ongoing efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests.
Once again, thank you for choosing the Carlin hotel, and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. If you have any further comments or if there's anything else we can do to make your future visits even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and providing you with an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Good
* Most of the hotel's staff who we engaged with are nice.
Especially, Canadian lady from breakfast is an excellent asset for the hotel. She is so friendly and brings positive energies all around. Also, want thank a young French chauffeur and a bartender for their subtle yet sheer enthusiasm.
* Most of the hard products throughout the hotel since they are still in newer condition.
Especially, Kohler washlet.
* The sunset view.
* Breakfast and room service menu from Oro restaurant.

Bad
* This hotel may be good enough for Queenstown, but Not good enough for real 5 star property outside of Queenstown.... inadequate to meet basic requirements.
Please, see my comments or pix.
* Very very very weak shower water pressure. It's ridiculous.
* The room gets very loud and noisy from other rooms and the hallway.
No sound proofed walls. Hear noise from next room and above all night long.
* Need one consolidated smart control panel instead of every corner of the walls
* Not much privacy on the balcony and hideous partition.
* Mattress quality : It's sunken and dipped too much. I'm surprised no one has complained yet?
* Have doubts about some of the design and material choices for hard products and Especially, curve appeal if they will age well....
* Got one way pick up with a Cayenne and one way drop off with a local taxi that is not as advertised. At both times of arriving and leaving, Bentley was just sitting in the parking lot. Guess, YMMV...
* Never got welcome vibes from the on-site manager during my stay. What's up with that?
* Didn't get to settle the folio until check out since their system was down.

Room tip: Don't bother with this one. There is much better options near by the lakes in the town.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AmazingLucca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teng Long, Guest Services / Front Office at The Carlin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I am disappointed to hear about your experience. We have invested substantial amount of money on the hotel plumbing system, soundproofing system, security system and decors & furniture. I would appreciate if you can please advise us of your booking and state of stay so I could investigate further.
We appreciate of your feedback on pick-up and drop-off service, we use either Porsche or Bentley for airport pick-up and drop-off service, sometimes due to unforeseen situation we may have to use the third party company assisting the chauffeur service.
To help us to improve our service and investigate about your case I would appreciate if you can please contact us reservation@thecarlinhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

The Carlin is pure luxury! We had the privilege of staying at The Carlin for 3 nights and were upgraded to the Eagle’s Nest suite. Our experience was absolutely wonderful, the staff went above and beyond, attending to every need with care. The attention to detail throughout the hotel was unparalleled, from the little canapés they hand delivered each day to the custom scented air fresheners throughout the hotel. We ate dinner at the Oro the first night (highly recommend the King Prawns) which was a phenomenal experience and we looked forward to eating breakfast everyday (we highly recommend the french toast!). When we come back to Queenstown again, we will absolutely be staying at the Carlin! Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jessicawalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dipesh Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at The Carlin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Hi Jessica,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks a lot for such a beautiful review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

Luxe apartment-style 1BR with fireplace, deck & hot tub. Exceptional interior hard product, likely unmatched in Queenstown.

We’ve been to Queenstown many times; we were very happy with the Carlin hard product for our special occasion.

Oozing with pretension (by design), the property is built for Queenstown visitors (and the travel agents who refer them) for whom money is no object.

Nevertheless at US$1.5k+ per night base (same as St Regis Bora Bora; and nearly 2x Park Hyatt Maldives @ 30k Hyatt points vs 40k Carlin), it feels pretty pedestrian to rock up to a ubiquitous 8-unit apartment building, roadside, behind a primary school, beleaguered by road works — situated several blocks uphill (very steep!) from town.

It’s a reasonable use of Hyatt points / Chase UR (40k Hyatt or US$400 value on Chase), particularly when Eicharts is unavailable at the same 40k rate (older property but MUCH better location / curb appeal).

Despite the overly hyped Bentley pickup, we were met both times with a Cayenne. Absolutely fine. Just YMMV on getting too excited about the whole Bentley story. We wouldn’t have flagged it as bait-and-switch, had they not made such a big deal about the Bentley in all their advertising.

Owner was onsite once during our stay. He was primarily interested in promoting the restaurant (chef from France; prawns from Australia), congratulating its local accolades (Viva Magazine? Never heard of it), and name-dropping his other clientele (who perhaps would prefer not be named). I’m sure the restaurant is exceptional (we had other plans), but the interaction was less then. Combined with overwhelming branding (everything engraved “Carlin”), it made the whole place feel like a self-aggrandized owner homage.

We nevertheless felt very welcomed by the staff, who were excellent (esp the bartender!) save one experience where the staff abruptly entered the room without knocking (via an exterior emergency exit to move a mattress — accessing another room through ours).

It’s possible that our experience was a “points” experience — rather than a “paid” one. It was a bit obvious how all the staff (and owner) asked for our name / room before engaging fully (and not-so-subtly governing amenability accordingly).

Despite all of this, and in light of the exceptional interior hard product, I’d absolutely recommend this property those already planning a NZ trip, and who already have Hyatt/Chase UR points to-hand.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2023 via mobile

We pulled up at the hotel entrance, our car keys were taken, we were escorted inside and given a glass of bubbles. Then informed we had been upgraded to the Royal Suite. Escorted to our room, which was to be our home for two nights. Peter fell in love with the bed, which was amazingly comfortable. I had booked dinner in the on site restaurant ORO for 6.30. Dinner was fabulous, we had the salmon and then venison. We spent all day Wednesday on a gourmet wine tour. Then back to our room where we nested for the rest of our stay. Breakfast and valet parking all included in the price. We came away feeling pampered the whole team were fabulous, just loved our stay. Slainte

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews