We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from US$138.40
More Info
from US$93.90
More Info
from US$110.60
More Info
from US$68.20
More Info
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
514
83
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
83
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kawarau river great fun great driver hour ride degree spins boat driver shallow water great ride awesome experience thrilling ride local history high speed adrenaline pumping whole family amazing scenery a lot of fun my partner
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

My wife, son and I managed to bring our dates forward from tomorrow afternoon after some bad news means my wife has to fly out tomorrow morning. Thanks for being so accommodating!
Our pilot/skipper, Harley, was entertaining and the ride itself covers some pretty stunning territory on the Kawarau River. The views of the waterfront homes and the towering Remarkables are gorgeous. Plenty of 360 spins and closeups of the banks, willows and logs along the way. It’s pretty cold, so wear a jacket at least, and expect to get a little wet.
Overall, an enjoyable 1hr trip, that was worth the money.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Reece B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks Reece

Happy to accommodate as we understand things can change plans quite quickly. So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with Harley. We love taking our visitors back country to see some exclusive sites.

Thanks again for choosing to ride with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We enjoyed our 1 hour jet boat ride. They give you rain jackets so we didn't get wet. We were expecting it to be adrenaline pumping but it was very relaxed and not scary at all. We had a great driver who told us some history and pointed out a few things to see. He played great music. The 360's weren't as fun as what we expected. Overall it was good.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gemma212018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thanks Gemma, we are glad you enjoyed our jet boat adventure down the scenic Kawarau River. We pride ourselves on going beyond where there is no road access to give our guest and exclusive ride.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Levi was our captain and promised us a great time and he well and truly delivered. I originally did this for my 6 and 8 year old children thinking that i wouldn’t really enjoy it but I was very wrong. The kids had a ball but I think their smile and enthusiasm was only matched by mine. Not only was it great fun but also informative as our captain pointed out rare birds, mountain ranges and movie sets.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank CorubaBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to experience our jet boat ride, we pride ourselves on the fact it is fun for all ages :)
The scenery is amazing it is the perfect match of nature and machine.

Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Levi was like a “drunken driver” on the Jet! Had so much fun and he’s very funny too! I am afraid of turns but got to like it even at the end as it added to the adventure of the speed!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tripreview777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Haha I love the way you explain Levi, he is great and thanks for choosing to take our adventure while you were in Queenstown, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Levi and the Thunder jet team for a great first jet boat experience and first tour of the Kawarau river. Our tour was informative, humourous, and the music was a great touch to the 360 spins and tight turns by Levi. Cheers guys

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank AvalonA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

We are very glad you enjoyed your first jet boat ride, Levi is just great and you would have learnt some interesting facts while having a laugh.

Thanks again for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews