We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun on a sunny afternoon ”

Go Orange Thunder Jet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: THE ULTIMATE ADVENTURE. Discover Queenstown’s untouched and pristine wilderness during your authentic jet boat journey along the historic Kawarau and Shotover Rivers. Thunder Jet’s trip takes you down an exclusive section of the Kawarau River that is only accessible by helicopter or jet boat! Experience the exhilarating adventure of a whole hour of world famous 360° spins, skimming the water at exciting speeds of up to 90kmph, going the furthest distance of 44km, and delightfully complemented by our storytelling commentary. We have the longest time on the lake for the most economical price. Thunder Jet’s trip is 1 WHOLE HOUR on the lake and also down the Kawarau or Shotover Rivers! Not just that but we are also the only jet boat with music on board!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

My wife, son and I managed to bring our dates forward from tomorrow afternoon after some bad news means my wife has to fly out tomorrow morning. Thanks for being so accommodating!
Our pilot/skipper, Harley, was entertaining and the ride itself covers some pretty stunning territory on the Kawarau River. The views of the waterfront homes and the towering Remarkables are gorgeous. Plenty of 360 spins and closeups of the banks, willows and logs along the way. It’s pretty cold, so wear a jacket at least, and expect to get a little wet.
Overall, an enjoyable 1hr trip, that was worth the money.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Reece B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks Reece

Happy to accommodate as we understand things can change plans quite quickly. So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with Harley. We love taking our visitors back country to see some exclusive sites.

Thanks again for choosing to ride with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great fun"
in 74 reviews
"kawarau river"
in 32 reviews
"great driver"
in 17 reviews
"hour ride"
in 12 reviews
"degree spins"
in 14 reviews
"boat driver"
in 13 reviews
"shallow water"
in 7 reviews
"great ride"
in 18 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 11 reviews
"thrilling ride"
in 9 reviews
"local history"
in 7 reviews
"high speed"
in 9 reviews
"adrenaline pumping"
in 6 reviews
"whole family"
in 11 reviews
"fun experience"
in 8 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 8 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 11 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We enjoyed our 1 hour jet boat ride. They give you rain jackets so we didn't get wet. We were expecting it to be adrenaline pumping but it was very relaxed and not scary at all. We had a great driver who told us some history and pointed out a few things to see. He played great music. The 360's weren't as fun as what we expected. Overall it was good.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gemma212018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Manager at Go Orange Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thanks Gemma, we are glad you enjoyed our jet boat adventure down the scenic Kawarau River. We pride ourselves on going beyond where there is no road access to give our guest and exclusive ride.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go Orange Thunder Jet also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Go Orange Thunder Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing