We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Trip.com
US$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Expedia.comUS$173
eDreamsUS$170
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,633)
Filter reviews
3,634 results
Traveller rating
2,108
881
360
163
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,108
881
360
163
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi wakatipu grill relaxation room bedroom residence stacks pub fire pit lake view close to the airport in town minute drive valet parking rental car our honeymoon new zealand every hour shuttle service amazing views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 3,634 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Drove to hotel no parking at check in due to parking conditions. Surprise no one manning the front desk. Manager came down after we called. He explained that parking was not guaranteed without an additional charge per day. This explained why cars were parked all around the neighborhood and no lobby parking. We were going to be charged for 5 nights and only stay 4 because we missed our first day because our flight was cancelled even though we called and rescheduled before scheduled to arrive. Outraged we chose to not stay one moment longer. One night lost to booking.com. Thoroughly ripped off ..

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Ehmann, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Sorry to hear of your disappointment during our stay. Would be happy to discuss with you to understand your frustration. With regard to the parking there is very limited public parking around the hotel so we provide over 200 spots for guests. You are correct that these are at a charge of $16 per day. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can assist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We stayed three nights in a two-bedroom Lakeview Residence on a Luxury Escapes package. Initially, we were given a ground floor room with a view of an earth bank and some shrubs, barely a hint of a Lakeview we anticipated or thought we'd paid for. We asked Juliane on the front desk if we could be moved, so we actually had the 'lakeview' we thought we were getting and got allocated room 203. This was done unhesitatingly by her, so 11/10 for fantastic customer service and understanding of the problem.

The view across the lake is stunning and I'm sure the Hilton's major selling point.

Our room was however let down by the current state of it's furnishings - stained carpet, a large chip on the dining room table, peeling ceiling in the shower/bathroom, MDF that has suffered water damage, dirty/marked stovetop, bird poop and cobwebs on the balcony, no under blanket on the bed, lack of grouting in-between titles. Basically, the room/hotel is in need of some TLC and a refurbishment. Design-wise the room suffered from glasses, pots/pans and plates being on shelves high up and almost beyond reach. The same with the clothes drier where a chair was needed to reach the control panel.

The hotel layout is a rabbit warren with dead-end corridors which detract from the experience - I do wonder if whoever designed our room or the hotel layout had ever spent a night there.

That said, the room was clean, with good shower pressure and a comfortable bed.

Parking is a challenge - there's free and unlimited parking if you can find a spot, otherwise, it's around $16 per day. The wifi is free (if you're an Honors member) and is very good.

There is a great pool, steam room and sauna - also plenty of towels.

Stacks (the bar), did a great meal - burger and lamb shank. Breakfast was fine, but no engagement from staff.

If you have time, the water taxi is a must-do, $10 return to Queenstown across the lake and a great scenic trip.

So all in all, a great location but in need of some urgent TLC and some basic maintenance.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Ehmann, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thanks for your detailed feedback which I will share with the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Lovely relaxing hotel with beautiful surroundings and very friendly staff, in particular Mohamed (works FOH) who is always so helpful and accomodating every-time we come to visit. Will definitely be back

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JK9024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Ehmann, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you for your comments
We look forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

This was our first time staying here and we chose the hotel because of their Valentine's special. This included a night in a deluxe Lakeview room, dinner, breakfast and a bottle of champagne. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cablebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Ehmann, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you!
Hope you had a good night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

I stayed here for 3 nights with some friends and it was overall a fantastic experience.

Let's start with the good:

- The staff at Wakatipu Grill (especially Adela) were so amazing at breakfast and went out of their way to make things easy.
- The location is slightly out of town but offers amazing views of the lake.
- The self parking carpark was full at one point, and the hotel provided a free valet parking for the inconvenience.

There were a few items to be addressed in the room, and here's what they are:

- A light bulb had blown above the couch in the lounge space.
- The dishwasher had a broken rack inside that was totally snapped off.
- The main bathroom door handle was about to fall off the door.
- The clothes dryer is faulty in more ways than one. It doesn't stop once the cycle is complete and the filter falls off because the spring that holds it on is missing. This means lint covers the floor of the bathroom when it's in use. It also heats up far too much and not enough air is getting through. This needs to be looked at before it causes a fire.
- The bathroom sinks were incredibly slow to drain (5 mins when around half full)
- The main bathroom vanity had been damaged on the side and water is entering the MDF wood causing it to swell.
- The gutter out on the balcony from the roof above appears to be leaking and dripped water over the balcony when it wasn't raining.

Also, an incredibly minor thing, but the gas fire remote needs new batteries. It's almost dead.

The room was otherwise very clean and tidy. The TV was great and Wifi worked incredibly well, even on the standard plan. Would definitely stay again if Hilton do some preventative maintenance on a few things to keep these from happening.

A call to reception to report the sink issue resulted in no action and they still drained slowly two days later just before checkout.

I stayed in the Lakeside residences, room 405.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Ehmann, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you for the detailed response which I have shared with the team for immediate action.
I will be sure to share your praise with the Grill team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews