We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$72.23
More Info
from US$108.71
More Info
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$69.31
More Info
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveller rating
1,174
269
57
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,174
269
57
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bbq lunch overnight cruise milford sound walter peak station coach driver lake wakatipu new zealand earnslaw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2019

My wife and I have never done an overnight cruise before but we wanted to experience Doubtful Sound. The scenery was 5 stars. Even though it was overcast and drizzling this created an awesome atmosphere. The boat was comfortable. We splashed out and paid for one of the 4 double rooms upstairs with a window for fresh air. Everything was great except the food was ordinary. I am not saying it was bad but I think the company "Real Journeys" thinks quantity is better than quality. Don't do this trip if you are wanting a gourmet experience.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank williameR8618AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Loved every minute of it! I'd fully recommend this excursion to anyone visiting South Island. Very unique experience which was well executed thanks to our guide Julianna.

Thank jc0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019

getting to Doibtful Sound is a bit of an adventure in itself. It is in a remote area of Fjordlands National Park in the Southwest corner of New Zealand. First you must find your way to Manapouri. It is a two hour bus trip from Queenstown to Manapouri. At Manapouri, you are provided a very filling box lunch to take on your day trip. (We started in Queensland at 07:45, returning back at 8 pm in the evening). Why a whole day trip? Because you will reach a beautiful fjord that is completely pristine, as it was millions of years ago. No noisy power boats, no tourist traps. Just you and Mother Nature at her finest. Real Adventures has a friendly, knowledgeable staff that make your trip memorable. First, you are met with a boat at the dock. Once on board, the Captain gives a commentary about what you see as you travel about one hour across the lake to get on a bus that takes you across the land on a road built to accommodate construction of a huge underground power project. That being complete, there is no need for equipment, personnel, housing to fill the environment.
Driving through evergreen beech trees, ferns, mosses that hang on the rocks and trees, you will see vegetation that is unchanged since New Zealand broke away from the original land mass of the world. The only sound is that of birds. There is no settlement, so it is pristine. That drive is about an hour since you stop to take pictures and enjoy your driver's commentary. Then the cruise itself. Our was almost three and a half hours around the sound. We were lucky. It was a glorious sunny day. It rains about 200 days a year. Our driver told us rainy days can also be great because the waterfalls run thick and heavy when it rains. However, I don't know if one would be able to appreciate the sheer cliffs dropping down to the water, on a rainy day. The scenery is stunningly beautiful. The wind driving in from the Tasman Sea is bracing, as you head out. Coming back, it is lovely. We didn't see any fur seals, whales or dolphins on our trip. Perhaps they don't like the sunshine and you might find some on a rainy day.
There are snacks on board, liquor, if you choose ( I was drunk on the scenery) and free tea and coffee. Given the filling box lunch, I didn't need anything except my eyes and my camera. If the Captain turns off the boat and asks for silence and no picture taking for a couple of minutes, do it and imagine how it must have been when Captain Cook discovered it in 1770. This boat cruise goes on one of my best ever experiences. Bonus: you don't get the crowds of smaller Milford Sound. It is just you, your fellow passengers and Mother Nature.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank sjecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

A seamlessly organised and very enjoyable day out across marvellous countryside and a smaller lake to the impressive Doubtful Sound. Commentary on the buses and boats was most informative. The fine weather definitely helped!

Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Wet day so seating inside the boat was limited with crowds packed in. The farm talk was excellent with sheep-shearing demo and dog handling in front of the large crowd. BBQ lunch for so many was managed brilliantly. The food is excellent, there is plenty of it and the staff manage the tables very well so that you do not have to queue or wait long for anything.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank _rosemarylait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews