We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$136.93
More Info
from US$336.35
More Info
from US$104.63
More Info
from US$200.13
More Info
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
590
152
20
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
152
20
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound bbq lunch walter peak farm sheep shearing overnight cruise milford mariner lake manapouri day trip lamb nature guide steamers tasman sea te anau nature cruise boat ride glass roof great trip
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The drive through Fiordland National Park and Milford Sound Nature Cruise Tour. If you only have time for one tour on the South Island, this is IT. (You can start/end from either Queenstown or Te Anau.) What an incredible day. What incredibly beautiful and varied scenery -- both traveling to/from Milford Sound by luxury motorcoach and out on the water aboard Milford Mariner. The Nature Cruise is longer than other Milford Sound tours; it goes all the way out to the Tasman Sea and has a Nature Guide on board. The fiord passage with high peaks, waterfalls, lush vegetation: you MUST see it yourself! The Milford Mariner is modern and clean, nicely set up both inside and out. Even fully booked, the boat didn't feel crowded; there's plenty of space to roam about and enjoy great views. Bring a lunch or pre-order a "box lunch" when you make your tour reservations. There's free coffee/tea on board. Real Journeys' motorcoaches do NOT have "facilities", so be sure to take advantage of all "rest stops" -- and be aware of when the driver will be leaving. We had a warm, clear day for our tour, but we recommend that you come prepared for warm, dry, cool and wet. It rains a lot in this part of NZ! Bring sunscreen, hat, sunglasses, a water bottle and, most importantly, camera(s) and extra batteries. You can leave stuff you don't need on the motorcoach. We highly recommend Real Journeys. We enjoyed 3 tours with them while visiting the South Island.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank KurtAndWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hey Kurt and Wendy, thanks for the awesome five star review. We're delighted to see how highly you rated this experience and hear how many amazing memories you're going to take with you. Great to see you made it out on some of our other wonderful products while you were in the area, hopefully we can welcome you back again sometime in future. Kind Regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

The weather was absolutely beautiful and the scenery unbeatable! Our drivers Adrian and John Lockie were both superb with the perfect combination of useful information and witty humour delivered in their commentary. The bus was warm and comfortable. Both vessels across Lake Manipouri and through Doubtful Sound were spacious and modern. The one in Doubtful had plug sockets at the tables which came in really handy when my camera battery died. Both boats also offered free tea and coffee which was a lovely touch - the most scenic cuppa I've ever had! The tour was very well organised. The only negative that I feel needs mentioning is that one of the ladies at the desk in the Queenstown Visitor Centre (Samantha) had a VERY unfortunate manner. She didn't serve me personally, but I witnessed the way she interacted with several other customers and it actually made me feel uncomfortable. Luckily, all the other staff at the boats, buses and visitor centres were so friendly and helpful that they redeemed this and all in all I found the customer service to be great. Thank you Real Journeys - it really is one of the most spectacular places I've ever seen. Would recommend your tour to anyone!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank samotha94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Must-Do if you're in Queenstown. Views are majestic and unforgettable. The stops and Milford Sound itself are some of the most peaceful places on Earth. The bus rides are long but there are enough stops to take photos, go to the bathroom and stretch your legs. There's no bathroom on the bus. If you're wondering about food, there's a one-hour lunch break at Te Anau. There are a couple restaurants near the Real Journeys info center and you'll have ample time for a sit-down lunch. As for the cruise itself, it's a great experience. Before dinner, you'll have the option to do a sound tour via Tender Boat or Kayak. We did the Tender Boat - you won't get wet. The crew is outstanding and very helpful - they love what they do. Dinner was very delicious. So was breakfast. Keep in mind that there's limited temperature control in the rooms. The towel heaters in the cabins don't have enough heat and there are extra blankets under the bed. So prepare to have more layers to sleep in. Again, I highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank adrian_dy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We enjoyed this experience very much. The boat ride is great, being able to go down & have a look at the mechanisms & also enjoying the views on each side. The farm is gorgeous & the gardens are stunning.

Just a couple of things that could have improved the experience - the lunch was staggered but even still there were so many people that we found some of the food was gone, mainly the meat which was a bit disappointing. I know there is only so much you can do though & we could always hang around & wait for more to be dished up but it is a bit awkward with so many people around. Another thing regarding the lunch is that it would have been nice to have the first drink included.

Lastly, it was a bit of a shame that we weren't told about the other farm animals. Perhaps this is a part of another tour but we only discovered them ourselves after the sheep show & we only had 10 minutes until the boat arrived to pick us up. So this was a bit disappointing as it would have added to the experience if we got to see the animals & feed them properly before departing.

Other than that, it was a wonderful day & we would still highly recommend it to all.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank AliciaN615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi there Alicia, thanks for taking the time to post this review. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the team regarding the service and the few minor details that could have been better. As far as the feeding the farm animals go, our full farm tour (which includes feeding the animals and a high tea) is a separate product. The lunch cruise you booked includes the short farm demo that you experienced. Maybe we will see you again in future to enjoy the full farm experience at Walter Peak. Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We caught the steam boat over to the Walter peak farm. The boat ride was lovely & relaxing & there was a lady playing the piano which added a nice touch. Once over there we went to the homestead which was a beautiful old building with large dining rooms & a huge fire place. You could also sit in the court yard which was closed in & had a view of the lake. The food served at the buffet was so delicious, the meats were to die for. The desserts & salads were super tasty as well. You must do yourself a favour & go here. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon & went home with a happy full stomach

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Jasmine565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews