We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Half-Day Milford Helicopter Flight and Cruise from Queenstown - 202
111

Book in advance
from
$1,330.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
from $1,330.00
More Info
from $1,330.00
More Info
from $785.00
More Info
from $1,041.00
More Info
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
928
21
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
928
21
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter ride milford sound once in a lifetime stunning experience great pilot new zealand professional company these guys highly recommend this company highlight of our trip return flight wings great trip amazing views lake wakatipu alfie landing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2023

We woke up to an overcast day and thought we wouldn’t enjoy it. Was fantastic. We landed on a mountain side and played in snow!! We had been to the Grand Canyon a month before and this was ten times better ! Thanks to our pilot Alfie!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Director of Sales at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hi Shellymac0805,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent flight with us.
We love hearing that we exceeded your expectations on your flight and bonus that you got to play in the snow!
I will pass along your kind words to Pilot Alfie!

Kind regards,
Tegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

An incredible experience! I would highly recommend visiting Milford Sound with Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters. Our pilot Stu was professional and welcoming. He made everyone on board feel special and his local knowledge was very impressive. A must-do activity when in Queenstown

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Flyer07090974800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Director of Sales at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hi Flyer07090974800,

Thank you for your review and your very kind words!
We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful flight with Stu. I will be sure to pass along your lovely feedback.

Thank you very much for choosing to fly with GSLH.

Kind regards,
Tegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023

The flight was great. The views going to, over Milford Sound (MS), and coming back from were fantastic. We flew over a variety of snow capped mountains going and coming back. There were three landings, the first was a 10 min. stop at a beach viewing the Tasman Sea, and then a 25 min. +/- stop at Milford Sound airport. Both of these stops provided great photo spots of the MS. The Sand Flies were bad at both of these locations, so insect repellant is advised if it is warm. There's a bathroom facility near the MS airport stop. The third and most exciting stop was a 10-15 min. stop near the top of a snow covered mountain. We landed in about 10 inches of fresh snow and got out to get great pictures. It was sunny and not windy so we didn't need extra clothing at this stop. Everyone had extra clothing in a storage compartment in case they were needed. The pilot was great, the ride was very smooth. Views and photos were great. Tour service was excellent. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. The weather was good which I understand is always iffy. There was another couple flying with us making a total of 4 passengers. The helicopter has six passenger seats (2 in front and 4 in back), so if was nice to have a little extra room with just the four of us. At each stop we changed seating so everyone could get a front seat for one flying section. The trip from hotel pickup up to drop off took 3.5 hours. In-air flight time was around 2 hours. The price seems a little high, but I would recommend the tour as the best way to see MS and a section of the NZ Alps from Queenstown.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank josephtP5649QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Director of Sales at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hi Joseph,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on our Milford Extended flight.
It sounds like you had the perfect weather for your flight to Milford Sound!
We are lucky to be able to share our backyard with passengers like yourself and show the true beauty of our region from the air. We trust you captured many photos and videos from your flight!
I will be sure to pass along your very kind feedback to both the pilot and wider team.

Thank you again for your feedback, it was an absolute pleasure flying you to Milford Sound and thank you for choosing to fly with GSLH.

Kind regards,
Tegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2023

You simply must do this trip. We landed on top of a mountain!! A freaking mountain!! Covered in snow!! Amazing experience, amazing views. Just do it! Stop reading and book it now!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank AussieMike37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Director of Sales at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Hi AussieMike37,

Thank you for your review,
It's not everyday you can say you've landed on top of a mountain! We hope you took plenty of photos and videos of your memorable experience. We are so glad to have been part of this amazing experience whilst you were visiting Queenstown.

Thank you for choosing to fly with GSLH.

Kind regards,
Tegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023

Unreal experience !! Must do here in Queenstown .. staff are incredible from the reception to the pilot .Professional, safe and full of interesting commentary. One of the best experiences I’ve ever done. You get so close to the glacier and have plenty of time to take photos. The best and most spectacular way to see Queenstown and the surrounding areas !! Love love love

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Seryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Director of Sales at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Hi Seryn,

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience about our Earnslaw Burn + Glacier Explorer flight.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time, I will share your kind words to Pilot Kurt and the wider team!

Thank you for choosing to fly with Glacier Southern Lakes.

Kind regards,
Tegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews