We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
from US$662.94
More Info
from US$663.67
More Info
from US$379.87
More Info
from US$500.13
More Info
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
739
20
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
739
20
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound helicopter flight an amazing experience once in a lifetime new zealand great pilot worth every cent professional company these guys bucket list amazing scenery cancelled due awe inspiring boat cruise wings visiting queenstown lake wakatipu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

Arranged the flight to see the Milford Sounds and Glacier but got an amazingly unforgettable experience. We had slight reservations originally given my wife is not particularly robust with air travel and finds the experience extremely fretful. The team and crew ensured that her fears were managed but nothing prepares you for the initial take off and ascending to around 6000 feet. Our pilot was exceptional ensuring that the flight was smooth and continually providing a commentary on the sights, history and environment through which we flew.
After a short period of anxiety the sheer beauty of the surroundings and expert flying my wife was suddenly energised and acting like a child on Christmas morning. The Milford Sounds are stunning and truly remarkable in a world where little amazes this is a cut above. The Snow landing was expertly executed and provided the cherry on top of a very rich cake of memories and experience.
To say this is life changing may be slightly heavy but you cannot leave with some small part of you forever changed having seen a part of the world as it was hundreds of years prior. We noted the ash layer on the snow line which had settled from the great bush fires in Australia showing the impact of such disasters on places seemingly thousands of miles away. Thought provoking.

Thank iansheppard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Kia ora Ian

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing and thoughtful review.

We are so lucky to live and be surrounded by so much beauty and we take great pride in warmly welcoming manuhiri (visitors) to our experiences.

Our pilots understand our experiences can be daunting and I am pleased to hear your wife felt like 'a child on Christmas morning!

We do hope we get to welcome you back here again in the future!







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

The views were gorgeous on the ride, but I was disappointed that our pilot Chris seemed pretty uninterested in Lord of the Rings, cursorily pointing out different filming locations but giving none of the insider perspective advertised.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank hoper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Our helicopter flight was a truly amazing experience. It has to be the best possible way to see Fiordland and all of its beauty. Jonno is a wonderful guide and made the whole flight a very enjoyable one, providing some great commentary of the different areas and landing in 2 wonderful spots on a glacier and mountaintop. We also enjoyed the minibus ride from our accommodation to the departure point with Darren, who is a very friendly driver and made us feel right at home from the moment he picked us up. Overall a great experience and the highlight of our trip to Queenstown.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank CraigWha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Kia ora!

Thank you for your wonderful review!

I am so pleased to hear what a wonderful experience you had with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

The helicopter ride was super fun with great views and the landing on the glacier was spectacular. The cruise on Milford Sound is beautiful but dress warm. Be aware that this trip is weather dependent and often gets rescheduled so good to have flexibility if spending several days in Queenstown. Was one of the top highlights of our trip!

Thank 339dawnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Kia ora!

Thank you for your wonderful review!

I am so pleased to hear what a wonderful experience you had with us! Milford Sound certainly is incredible and the waterfalls are just beautiful and delighted it was the highlight of your trip!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Absolutely breathtaking visuals from the helicopter. Very personal and up close experience. The boat tour of mildford sound was awesome, we got to see seals, other animals, and impressive waterfalls. We did a glacier landing on the way back. Highly recommend this experience.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Kia ora!

I am so pleased to hear what a wonderful experience you had with us! Milford Sound certainly is incredible and the waterfalls are just beautiful!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews