We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$290.59*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
More Info
US$297.95*
and up
Milford Sound Landing and Glaciers Fly Over
More Info
US$338.41*
and up
Milford Sound Fly Cruise and Fly Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Glenorchy Air flies from Queenstown airport and everyone is guaranteed a window seat. We are a family business which is owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We have been operating for 25 years. We fly fixed wing aircraft in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views. These include fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, as well as overflight, and coach options into and out of Milford Sound. Glenorchy Air also runs regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, to Queenstown's local glaciers, to Stewart Island, to Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Reviewed 11 September 2017

A truely awesome trip to Milford (fly-cruise-fly). Highly recommended! Especially great if short on time, only a half day. The team were especially helpful, successfully recovering lost jewellery and arranging for its return.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank scottwJ4103LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Scott for taking the time to write us a review. Not only can we save time getting to and from Milford Sound we also offer some of the most spectacular scenery New Zealand has to offer. You will have noticed that we guarantee window seats to every single customer, allowing for these amazing views to be fully appreciated. We were very happy that we managed to recover the lost jewellery and return it to you, hopefully we see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Fantastic experience! A great way to see Milford Sound and the Southern Alps. Pilot was very knowledgeable and gave a detailed tour of mountains and glaciers around the Queenstown area and the Milford Sound. Stunning views and felt very safe in the small plane.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank baken438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you baken438 for you review. Flying across to Milford Sound is certainly the best way to truly appreciate the surrounding mountains, glaciers and the fiord itself. We prioritise making our customers feel safe and well informed about the geography of the surrounding area and it sounds like you had a great trip. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The friendly professional team at Genorchy Air gave us a truly unforgettable experience.We cannot speak highly enough of our amazing time with them.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank glenns474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you glenns474 for your kind review. We are only a small team but will always do whatever we can to make our customers experience truly unique and unforgettable. It sounds like you had an amazing time and we really appreciating you taking the time to review us. Good luck on your future travels.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Absolutely blew us away couldn't wipe the smiles off our faces Dean was a fantastic pilot my darlin felt very comfortable for her first light plane flt

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank craigbeattie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Craig, thanks for your great review. It's excellent to hear that you had such an amazing adventure over to Milford Sound with Dean. He is an excellent pilot and customers always appreciate the time he spends commentating on the scenery whilst making all those flying with him feel comfortable. We're glad to hear that your first experience in the light plane was a good one and we'd love to have you back in the near future. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

No other way to see Milford Sound than with Glenorchy Air. The reassurance of a professional operation coupled with the informative pilot - thank you so much.

We discussed not flying to Milford sound (and ruled out the coach) but it was our best decision in QT to hop on the Cessna.

Highly recommend.

Thank bigham88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Bigham88 and thank you for your review. It's great to hear that flying with us was your best decision in Queenstown, that is a real compliment. Milford Sound really is a must see and there is truly no better way to see it other than flying over. Being a small family business allows us to be flexible and run our operation efficiently whilst also getting to know our customers. Thank you again for recommending us and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing