We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZs best flight experience ”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$280.09*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
More Info
US$287.18*
and up
Milford Sound Landing and Glaciers Fly Over
More Info
US$326.18*
and up
4-Hour Milford Sound Cruise and Fly Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Glenorchy Air flies from Queenstown airport and everyone is guaranteed a window seat. We are a family business which is owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We have been operating for 25 years. We fly fixed wing aircraft in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views. These include fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, as well as overflight, and coach options into and out of Milford Sound. Glenorchy Air also runs regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, to Queenstown's local glaciers, to Stewart Island, to Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This flight experience is a must do if you are lucky to catch the right weather on planning a visit to Milford Sound. Our pilot Katie flew us on what I consider the most scenic flight you can do in New Zealand. Just 40mins long instead of a 6hr bus journey the flight takes you over the mountains of the Wakatipu and into the breathtakingly spectacular mountainous landscape of Fiordland. Landing in at the small Milford Sound airstrip Katie accompanied us to your awaiting cruise to take in the awe of Milford Sound from the water cruising out to the Tasman sea. On your return Katie was there at the wharf all smiles to guide you back to the aircraft and fly you home...A day that will take up to 13hrs by road you have completed in just under 4hrs leaving you time to pack more into your Queenstown visit.
Katie and GY air offers a high quality experience that is personal, is extremely professional and has your safety at the forefront. You are making the best decision to invest into a day you will never forget and ask for Katie her knowledge, humour and attention to detail leaves you feeling like the day was specially designed just for you! Put this experience on your bucket list...you won't regret it...it is truly a high quality memorable experience for your money.

Thank travelsnowsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you travelsnowsea for taking the time to write such an amazing review. You've really captured everything which we aim to offer, Katie is one of our finest pilots and sounds like you really appreciated her friendly/ knowledgeable personality. Being a small family business it allows us to spend lots of time getting to know our customers and making the trip feel more personal. Timing wise, flying to Milford Sound makes sense but it is certainly the views and scenery which make the trip truly unique. Thank you again for recommending us and look forward to flying you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

I did the Queenstown - Milford Sound fly-cruise-fly package, and genuinely would've paid twice the price I did. It's absolutely the most incredible experience I've ever had in my life, the weather was perfect and the scenery was stunning. Anyone visiting Queenstown has to do this.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mishac267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Mishac267 and thank you for your amazing review. We aim to provide a service and trip that will stay with our customers forever and it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. Weather can sometimes be an issue with flying across to Milford Sound but the scenery never dissappoints. We are delighted you got lucky with the weather and enjoyed your trip of a lifetime across to one of the most beautiful natural wonders New Zealand has to offer. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My boyfriend and I were looking forward to flying over NZ mountains towards Milford Sound and, even if we made a last minute booking, they could find a spot for us for the Flight + Cruise.

In the morning the weather was really foggy so the flight needed to be delayed, but it was really easy to communicate with the office and keep track of the time change. We got picked up next to our accommodation, driven to the airport and, after a short wait, introduced to our pilot Katie. She was a true professional at all time, with a great sense of humor. We felt really safe for the entire flight so we could enjoy the breath-taking view of the mountains and the snow and take a lot of photos, while Katie explained to us what we were seeing. Both the flights to and from Milford sound were pretty long and along different routes, giving us the possibility to enjoy different landscapes.

This has definitely been an experience that we'll never forget

Highly recommended!!!

Thank AnnaMarySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you, Anna, for your kind review. Being a relatively small family business has many benefits, it enables flexibility with timings to suit our customers and allows more time for us to get to know those who fly with us. Bad weather can often lead to delays but we will always do everything we can to reschedule and ensure our customers have a trip to remember. Katie has been flying with us for a few years now and has the great skill of making customers feel safe and comfortable whilst having a good time, it is something customers always highlight after their trip. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip and good luck on your future adventures.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I booked a Cesnar flight from Queenstown Airport out to Milford Sound on tuesday the 18th of July with Glenorchy Air. Despite hassles with the fog for Departure we made it safetly to Milfound sound for our cruise which was Magnificent. Ben our Pilot flew flawlessly and was extremely confident in the drivers seat. Was very experienced beyond his years. The Pick & drop off was extremely convenient by the companys shuttle bus. The whole team at Glenorchy air run a brillant operation an I will definately be back one day hopefully in the near future.

Thank damien k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi Damien, thank you for taking the time to review us, it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your trip out to Milford Sound. Being weather dependent can often be frustrating for all but we will always do our utmost to reschedule and safely show our customers the beauty of Milford. Ben is relatively new to the company but has a vast amount of flying experience and is an extremley accomplished young pilot. Thanks again for reviewing us and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The scenery was magnificent the pilot and staff were great and this is something that should be on the bucket list.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank U8031JAgaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thanks for your review JAgaryd. Milford Sound is one of the most beautiful natural wonders the world has to offer, seeing it should indeed be on everybody's bucket lists. Flying as you will have noticed offers you a different perspective and allows you to really appreciate the size, scale, and beauty of the fiord. Thank you again for reviewing us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind regards,

The Glenorchy Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing