We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We arrived late with no booking and they went out of their way to find a good table.”
Review of Boardwalk

Boardwalk
Ranked #19 of 266 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: US$19 - US$65
Description: Located in one of Queenstown’s most iconic waterfront sites. Boardwalk enjoys arguably the most impressive views from it’s location upstairs at Steamer Wharf, where the majestic Lady of the Lake, the TSS Earnslaw docks. Come and enjoy our delicious cocktails, oysters, caviar and much more. With seating for approx. 135 we can accommodate a range of function requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in one of Queenstown’s most iconic waterfront sites. Boardwalk enjoys arguably the most impressive views from it’s location upstairs at Steamer Wharf, where the majestic Lady of the Lake, the TSS Earnslaw docks. Come and enjoy our delicious cocktails, oysters, caviar and much more. With seating for approx. 135 we can accommodate a range of function requirements.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Excellent meal bluff oysters, eye fillet cooked perfectly, just a smidge before medium-rare. Then a Lemon Meringue Cocktail never had one before, you should try it. Our waiter was Alec and he was excellent as well.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Boardwalk Queenstown, Manager at Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Kim,

Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review, that cocktail really is a winner! We will be sure to let Alec know you mentioned him, he'll be so pleased.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2021

Such a beautiful restaurant up above! We were greeted by the lovely Kelly who showed us to our table with a view! food was excellent, great menu! I had the oyster shots which were a first for me! very tasty! Service was excellent too. Highly recommend this place. Cant wait to go back!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jakshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Boardwalk Queenstown, Manager at Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Jakshair,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review and we look forward to seeing you again for some oyster shots soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Cocktails were on point thanks Elisa, great vibe and better service you can’t go wrong in Queenstown but if you want better go too boardwalk

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Travel13330830126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Boardwalk Queenstown, Manager at Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Finn,
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, Elisa was so pleased to see it and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2021

The staff in house has no idea of seafood at all. Me being a fish fan I was told they had no cry fish in stock and offered me market catch fish of the day flounder which I leave to live in ocean moved on to vinisan they had non in stock being friendly staff they convinced me to pay $10 for a bottle of water highly the staffs were quite racist on skin colour

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Bullslal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management, Marketing at Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hi Bullslal,

We pride ourselves on only serving the best quality seafood we can source, with an emphasis on fresh seasonal produce. Unfortunately due to this we can sometimes run low on dishes including crayfish and oysters. We have a wide range of seafood options which suit a variety of diners and, although our market catch was not to your personal taste, you were under no obligation to order it. We're glad to hear that you found our staff 'friendly', however they did also offer you free water should you have preferred. I am struggling to understand how you could suggest that our staff are racist due to any of your points listed, but I would urge you to contact us should you have any real concerns on this matter.

Warm regards,

Boardwalk Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We didn't have a booking and had only flown into Queenstown that afternoon from Australia however the Restuarant had no trouble to accommodate us. From the moment we walked in the service was five star with great hospitality from the hostess, food & beverage attendant and food service staff. The produce and cooking of all our dishes were perfect (absolutely delicious) and they came out exceptionally quick for a busy Saturday night!!

We couldn't go past the starters on the menu and our picks were the Boardwalk chowder, Soft Shell crab steam boa buns (best one I have ever had), seared scallops are to die for, garlic prawns (Australian banana prawns - must have) eggplant tempura (try this ) it was so good done in black sesame spicy caramel with white bean miso puree and salsa verde (my husband never eats eggplant and he really enjoyed) and the market fish ceviche and the trusty triple cooked chips, unfortunately they had run out of the Braised Fiordland Venison so hopefully try next time. Yes a lot of food was ordered but being starters they were perfectly portioned and yes we ate it all!!

The restuarant is perfectly located in the centre of town on the waterfront pier with views over to the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu, perfect for any occassion you will definitely be happy with the overall experience.

We are already planning to return on our next trip to Queenstown including hopefully to dine at the restuarant for NYE!!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelling4AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Boardwalk Queenstown, Manager at Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Sikalas_Aus,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. you ordered some some my favorite dishes, and you're right, the eggplant is not to be missed.
We look forward to seeing you on New Years eve!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boardwalk also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.