We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I booked a room with ensuite and was pleasantly surprised as it was better than expected for the price, good value for money! The room was clean, the bed was super comfy and there was ample room in the bathroom (not pokey). The room also had a fridge and microwave and electric jug, along with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and milk (which was replenished during my stay). The room was warm (heat pump) and had a tv although I didn't watch it.

All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. They will lock your bag safely away while you explore the town until it's check-in time, which was helpful.

The location is ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT! Right beside the main wharf where boat trips and cruises leave from, lots of bars, restaurants and cafes and a big grassy area in the park like area by the lake. There is always something to see from here, be it jet boats leaving or para sailing, along to the Steamship TSS Earnslaw leaving or arriving.

The kitchen in this place is big, clean and has amazing views over the lake with mountains as a backdrop.

LOVED this place and I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: I had a room over looking the street (not the lake) but it was nice and quiet and still something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Absoloot Hostel. Jamie (dycerscotinnz) was amazing at reception, so knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hostel. Epic kitchen views for breakfast

Central location, clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Absoloot off and on over the past 4 months and it has made my time working here in QT amazing. Super friendly staff willing to help in any way. Spectacular view getting up and having breakfast in the kitchen overlooking the lake. The #1 comfiest sleep I have ever had in a hostel. The only hostel I want to stay at. Thanks guys chur!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Not bad for just one night. In the middle of Queenstown so easy to get around. Room was small but good for just spending the night. Staff was not available in the morning hours and elevator was locked so we had to carry our bags down three flights of stairs. If they locked the elevator to prevent noise then our bags coming down those stairs must have been nosier.

Room Tip: Don't plan on using the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I arrived today and had already booked. Online they said there was an free parking place, but there wasn't a parking place nearby at all. I had to walk almost one kilometer and when I arrived the guy at the reception was very unfriendly and almost rude. The room was smaller than on the pictures and I really didn't like my experience. I would strongly discourage to go to this place!

Room Tip: Don't go here, pick another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelerEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Absoloot, General Manager at Absoloot Value Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi there,

We are extremely sorry to hear of your experience with us. Regarding your parking troubles: your booking was made via booking.com, which only gives us limited abilities with regards to specifying facilities. We have specified in their system that there is on-street parking near the hostel, and we also have a paid parking facility close by, however to establish this you would have needed to read the specifics located in the side-bar on their website. We understand simply looking at the 'parking' icon would be misleading, however I'm afraid we are limited to providing the information in the fashion booking.com choose. We are as up-front as we can be regarding the parking limitations due to our premier location, and you'll find this information across all booking platforms and highlight this in the FAQ section on our website.

In regards to room-sizing - we display multiple rooms of the same configuration on every platform that allows us to do so, and in particular booking.com. On this system we have even specified the rooms sizes implicitly to ensure guests can be 100% in their expectations. Unfortunately you didn't actually stay with us to determine this, which is disappointing as we are certain you would have enjoyed your accommodation if given the opportunity.

Finally, we sincerely apologise for your experience with our staff, as we have extremely high expectations of our front of house in this regard. Obviously you were disappointed on arrival with the parking options available, and on your request to cancel your entire stay due to this, we believe you have taken issue with our staff member reminding you of our cancellation policy. Please understand that they were only performing the duties expected of them from management, and much like all accommodation providers, we have policies in place that staff are required to uphold. Regardless of this, we apologise for the 'poor taste' you have been left with from your experience, and trust you understand that the blame for our policies should be directed at management.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
0.4 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
379 reviews
0.2 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
467 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Queenstown

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $31 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing