We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$277
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
272
112
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
112
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenbed dormfree wifigreat locationfree earplugsprivate roombottom bunkfridge and microwaveown bathroomin towncentral locationclean roomscleaned dailyyour doorstepnoisy at nightcommon areasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Absoloot Hostel. Jamie (dycerscotinnz) was amazing at reception, so knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hostel. Epic kitchen views for breakfast

Central location, clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Absoloot off and on over the past 4 months and it has made my time working here in QT amazing. Super friendly staff willing to help in any way. Spectacular view getting up and having breakfast in the kitchen overlooking the lake. The #1 comfiest sleep I have ever had in a hostel. The only hostel I want to stay at. Thanks guys chur!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Not bad for just one night. In the middle of Queenstown so easy to get around. Room was small but good for just spending the night. Staff was not available in the morning hours and elevator was locked so we had to carry our bags down three flights of stairs. If they locked the elevator to prevent noise then our bags coming down those stairs must have been nosier.

Room Tip: Don't plan on using the elevator
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I arrived today and had already booked. Online they said there was an free parking place, but there wasn't a parking place nearby at all. I had to walk almost one kilometer and when I arrived the guy at the reception was very unfriendly and almost rude. The room was smaller than on the pictures and I really didn't like my experience. I would strongly discourage to go to this place!

Room Tip: Don't go here, pick another hostel.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelerEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Absoloot, General Manager at Absoloot Value Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi there,

We are extremely sorry to hear of your experience with us. Regarding your parking troubles: your booking was made via booking.com, which only gives us limited abilities with regards to specifying facilities. We have specified in their system that there is on-street parking near the hostel, and we also have a paid parking facility close by, however to establish this you would have needed to read the specifics located in the side-bar on their website. We understand simply looking at the 'parking' icon would be misleading, however I'm afraid we are limited to providing the information in the fashion booking.com choose. We are as up-front as we can be regarding the parking limitations due to our premier location, and you'll find this information across all booking platforms and highlight this in the FAQ section on our website.

In regards to room-sizing - we display multiple rooms of the same configuration on every platform that allows us to do so, and in particular booking.com. On this system we have even specified the rooms sizes implicitly to ensure guests can be 100% in their expectations. Unfortunately you didn't actually stay with us to determine this, which is disappointing as we are certain you would have enjoyed your accommodation if given the opportunity.

Finally, we sincerely apologise for your experience with our staff, as we have extremely high expectations of our front of house in this regard. Obviously you were disappointed on arrival with the parking options available, and on your request to cancel your entire stay due to this, we believe you have taken issue with our staff member reminding you of our cancellation policy. Please understand that they were only performing the duties expected of them from management, and much like all accommodation providers, we have policies in place that staff are required to uphold. Regardless of this, we apologise for the 'poor taste' you have been left with from your experience, and trust you understand that the blame for our policies should be directed at management.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Good location right in the city centre near the lakefront. We were there on a Saturday and there was a flea market right at the lakefront. At night it was a little noisy as there was a night activity/party, but bearable on the whole. We got the private ensuite double room. Value for money!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Serene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews