We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lines”
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.92*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Fun tour. You learn about the landscape and importance of being aware of how you affect the earth. Lines are good in length. They also have challenges (go upside down, spin, backwards, etc) which make each fun. Great, scenic views.

Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Whizzing through the trees upsdie down and back to front is always fun. My 8 year old boy had a great time. The views are amazing and the educational bit is quite interesting. Take a jumper though as it can be a little bit cold!

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Chris S,

Thanks for your review!

It is great to hear you and your son had fun while out zipping with us recently!
We certainly agree that the views from our ziplines and tree houses are amazing, and a unique way to enjoy them also!
Sustainability and educating our guests is very important to us so we love to hear when people find this aspect of the tour interesting. And great advice on bringing an extra layer, even on a sunny day it can be chilly up there.

Thanks again for your great feedback,

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

A great zip line adventure for the family or just solo. Highly recommend. The staff have great knowledge of the history.

Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

For someone not great with heights I did cringe when hubby suggested this one. But Wow! so glad we did the big 7 line adventure.
Keely & Andy were brillant. Put me at ease and were so thorough I felt safe the whole time.
Had the best morning and even the 20 min trek between the last 2 lines was easy (I have a dodgy knee and managed fine) .
We had a group of 9 of us, including 3 nimble teens and they were amazing at showing us what we could do and explaining all about the local area.
Very informative and I would highly recommend to anyone of any ability to do it! Best morning spent in a long time.
Thanks so much guys ,awesome job!

Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Sharon M,

Thanks so much for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted to hear you had such a great time and that your guides made you feel safe and at ease throughout the tour. We pride ourselves on our team and so it is always good to hear such great feedback about them.
We find that many people also enjoy the walk as they get to see both the native forest and the Douglas Fir forest up close while learning a little more about the local flora and fauna from the guides.

Thank you again for your great feedback and for recommending us to others,

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

These things called "ziplines" are actually flying foxes people.

The best thing about Ziptrek is it's location. It is bunched at the top of the Gondola at Queenstown along with a heap of other attractions so if you use a bit if initiative you can squeeze a lot of action in to a single day. It also comes with some spectacular views you won't get in other similar flying fox tours.

The staff are professional, delightful and easy going. This activity has a lot similar with the Rotorua Canopy Tours, which we had done three years earlier and really enjoyed. We did the four line trip, the only reason being there were some in our group who didn't want to do the six line and we had other things to do that day.

One word of advice : if you are intending tho do the 6 line, plus also other attractions up there (and especially if you have kids), purchase the gondola ANNUAL PASS for $79. Even if you only use it for a single day you will still win. It comes with deep discounts on things like food and the Luge rides and is also invaluable in the instance that you want to do things like the parasail or ziptrek 6 line and want to easily get back up to the top again. And best of all, one kid rides free with every adult pass.

The only reason I've dropped one star from this review is that ziptrek haven't yet enabled an online solution to obtaining photos of your trek, instead electing to recommend you visit their office in Queenstown CBD to deal with this (which very often there isn't enough time to do). A simple and easy online download option for your photos (ideally included in the price of the trek) would cement this attraction as a winner.

Oh and please people.... have someone up there at the desk ready to sell treks and answer questions live, by at least 9:30am. I shouldn't have to be up there making calls to an 0800 number to make bookings for a service due to start in less than five minutes' time.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Paul M,

What a review, Thank you! It is awesome to see you have provided some great advise to other readers also, there certainly is a lot to do at the top of the Gondola hill and so it is great that you were able to opt for our shorter trip to fit around your other activities.
We certainly agree that our views over looking Queenstown are unique, we are very luck to be located in such a place that we can showcase them!
Our staff are great at balancing both professionalism and fun and so we love to hear when this shines through.

I hope that if you come back to visit us in the future we will ave our online photo system up and running as this is something we are currently working on. For now feel free to email us and we would be happy to send through the thumbnail images from your tour.
We aim to be at our tree house 20-30 minutes prior to our first departure which is usually 10am so perhaps you just missed us that morning!

Thank you again for your awesome feedback, hope to see you back for our Kea 6 Line Tour one day so you can experience the worlds steepest tree to tree zipline!

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing