We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoying program”
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.55*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Guides would not let you enjoy beauty and peacefulness of Mother Nature. They bullied guests into singing or screaming, or hanging upside down. Guests were treated like first graders with nonstop lectures on ecosystem and recycling------this from a company that profits from cruelly cutting and bolting trees with platforms.

Thank Flowers7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Hi Flowers7890,

Thank you for your review- we greatly appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can continue to improve our products. We are sorry that the tour did not meet up to your expectations.

While our guides do encourage people to step outside of their comfort zones, bullying guests into doing anything with which they are not comfortable is certainly not part of our tour. All of our challenges on course, including going upside-down are completely optional. As you can see from many other reviews this is something we get a great deal of positive feedback on.

The sustainability interpretation aspect of the tour is something that we take great pride in and is fundamental to the Ziptrek Ecotours experience we offer. This interpretation has been formulated to engage people from all ages and walks of life, not just first graders but environmentalists too.

As is explained on tour, the pins that we use to suspend the treehouses or ziplines are used in such a way that they cause no permanent damage to the trees and allow them to continue growing. The only trees that we had to remove for the comfort of our zippers have been invasive species, these we have re-used in our structures where possible, and to mitigate the removal of trees we have also planted native species in the many 100 times the number of trees removed. This also gives the added advantage of creating more native habitat for flora and fauna to thrive in.

One thing we totally agree on is the beauty and peacefulness of Mother Nature that you get to immerse yourself within, in a unique way, whilst out on our tours.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and once again I am sorry you did not get the experience you were expecting,

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
There are newer reviews for Ziptrek Ecotours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Me and a friend did the 6 line 'Kea' tour and it was awesome! The lines are all different lengths and heights and the guides offer progressive challenges for each one, including zipping upside down! You don't have to do the challenges because the ziplines are already pretty exhilarating but I would recommend it if you are a thrill seeker! Our guide was Nicholas and he was great, made the whole trip really fun and was very knowledgeable about the woodland and local area. My tip for this tour would be to dress warm as for the most part you are shaded by the canopy of the trees and at times it can get a bit chilly.

Thank Dave420187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi Dave420187,

Thanks for coming zipping through the trees with us!

Fantastic to hear that you had such an awesome time on your Kea 6 Line Tour. The progressive nature of the course allows you to build your confidence and take on line 6, the steepest tree-to-tree zipline in the world! Our challenges are great for those who want to push themselves a little further but like you say, are totally optional.
We pride ourselves on our guides so it is great to hear Nicholas's enthusiasm shone through and that you enjoyed the talks about the local flora and fauna!
And like you mentioned the tour takes place under the canopy of the trees so even on sunny days it is about 4 degrees cooler.

Thanks again for coming on tour with us and for your valued review.

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I did the 6 line tour and am so glad I did! I had never zip-lined before and this was a great first experience! Our guides Sam and Nico were friendly, funny, and kept us safe! I had so much fun and would definitely do it again!

Thank Savannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Amy and Jordanne were our guides and we couldn't have gotten luckier! They were so supportive and understanding of my fear of heights and really helped me overcome this and have a great time, Amy even talked me into doing the canyon swing which I although terrifying I am glad she talked me into it. Thank you girls you are amazing!
Both of the ladies were super knowledgeable and you could tell that they are really passionate about their jobs and the environment. The experience itself was really fun and the views are incredible. No trip to Queenstown is complete until you do this experience!

Thank Beccajanexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Loved it! Four lines through the trees. Even the one who was scared of heights, conquered this. Guides were great, chatty and made you feel safe. Good adventure for mixed ages and abilities.

Thank s9gudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi s9gudgeon,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

Fantastic to hear you had such a great time on your Moa 4 Line Tour. The Moa 4 Line is the perfect choice for families or first-time zippers. Our Kea 6 Line Tour, which includes the steepest tree-to-tree zipline in the world, is ideal for guests with a more enhanced appetite for adventure. Maybe next time you are in Queenstown!
Our Guest Services team and Guides are great at helping to ease the fears of those who are afraid of heights or nervous about zipping. Great to hear that our Guides' sense of fun and commitment to safety shone through.

Thanks again for coming on tour with us and taking the time to leave a review!

Kind regards,

The Ziptrek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing