We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 lines isn't enough - try 6!”
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.23*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 lines isn't enough - try 6!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We will never forget our time on Ziptrek. We were traveling with our young son and our two mothers everyone loved this activity. I wish we would have been able to do the 6-line but our son wasn't old enough. The guides made us feel very comfortable, especially Ashleigh. Our young son was flying through the air upside down starting on the second line! I tried but could only master the "flying dead turtle". It was wonderful. Look forward to coming back when our son is older so we can do the longer tour.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank HBNZ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,188
    185
    48
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really fun with awesome views!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We had done this before but they have the fastest zip line in the world! They were fun, educational and very entertaining.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, 5 April 2016
Hello Martha,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am happy to hear that you had fun and found our interpretative-eco component to be educational. Our entire operation is based on sustainable practice and we use The Natural Step as a basis for this and find that even the most sustainable savvy come away with something.

Our Ziplines are all gravity fed therefore the speed you go will depend on the your weight. On the last line of our Kea 6 line tour guests can reach speeds up to 70km/hr, this line is also the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world!!!

Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and we hope to see you again next time your in Queenstown.

Regards

The Ziptrek team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Exhilarating and educational ”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

So much fun for any age, all the lines are a little scary but a lot of fun. The guides Conor and Naomi were absolutely fantastic. Both great fun professional, informative and have a clear care for the environment and NZ conservation. An all round enjoyable and exciting experience for all the family. Bill and George :)

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good fun on a drizzling day”
Reviewed 2 April 2016

one of the few attractions that does not require a perfect fine day.
if fit walk up and save $32 on the gondola ride. pity they dont have more lines before the last one and you have to climb down to it.
was fun though flying upside down

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank freighttradee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fun!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I did the 6 line zip trek tour yesterday and it was probably the most fun we've had in a long time! Our tour guides Inge and Lily were so lovely and funny and clearly loved their jobs which made the experience so much fun. The lines are great and you feel safe every step of the way. It goes for a good 2.5 hours which makes it worth the money too, and a portion of what you pay goes to charity which is a nice touch. It is also quite informative with the tour guides giving the group information about the surrounding forest and environment in general. The only thing we thought could be changed was to include the gondola price with the ticket, as the gondola is $33 for an adult return trip which you have to pay to get up there, however you are technically only paying for one way because you zip down the mountain and finish at the bottom when doing the 6 line. Other than that it was an amazing experience and I would happily go and do it all over again! Thanks to the ladies for being fabulous tour guides :) highly recommend for all ages in all weather conditions!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Riana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing