We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super fun for big and small people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.10*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super fun for big and small people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2015

We did the 4 line Moa tour in Queenstown. It was super fun as we zoomed our way through the pine forests with a stunning view of The Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. Our guides Stephen and Arjun were full of interesting info about the area, history and Ziptrek's eco philosophy. My 9 and 11 year olds loved it and even went upside-down! I stayed upright but enjoyed the experience no less. Very safety conscious procedures too. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Bec_Christensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    170
    46
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“11th april 2015 kea tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2015

Great fun, guides Arjun and Steve are the best, really pros and always trying to make your experience unforgettable.
Totally recommend the 6-line Kea tour.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank anserme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

I took my 9 and 11 year old children on the Ziptrek tour. They had zip lined before and loved it so were keen to do it again in Queenstown. The tour lived up to expectations. Very exhilarating, especially the big descent on Line 6, so make sure you do the 6 line course. We were well looked after by our guides Steve and Jess who made it fun and at the same time took good care of us so we always felt safe. We did our tour in the rain and that was fine. The tree canopy provides a lot of shelter just dress warm if conditions are wet. Only niggle was that the gondola wasn't covered in the price of the tour, which adds $90 to the cost for a family to get to the tour.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Daytripper222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, 23 April 2015
Good Afternoon,

We would just like to say thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed your ziplining experience and would do it again. Not needing to be an experienced zipper to come on tour is just one reason why ziplining is a great activity for the whole family.

I will definitely be passing on your positive comments on to your guides Steve and Jess they do an amazing job and always have your safety as their main priority.

Unlike many other adventure sports in Queenstown, Ziptrek will run our tours regardless of the weather so rain, shine or snow you are guaranteed an exhilarating experience. The canopy of the dense Douglas Fir forest provides great protection on the rainy days and dressing warm is always recommended as it is approximately 5 degrees cooler on course than in town.

We do our very best to ensure our guests are fully aware that the gondola ticket is not included in their Ziptrek price to avoid any disappointment or confusion. We do this via our website, brochures and all marketing material. I do apologize you were not aware that the gondola was not included. Skyline offer their own packages which can included lugging or lunch with discounts to their gondola ticket. Many of our guests use the advantages of these packages before zipping all the way to the base of the gondola. If you would like to contact me to discuss how you made your booking on nzgssupervisor@ziptrek.com and I will ensure the gondola fee is clearly discussed in future bookings to avoid any further disappointment from other guests.

Your exhilaration experienced on the last zipline of the Kea tour is a great way to describe the feeling you get zipping down the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world that descends 30 stories at speeds of up to 70kpm. Happy to hear that the tour lived up to your expectations and we look forward to seeing your family again next time your in Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Kellie Mckenzie
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looking for something to do with kids on a day off the slopes. You found it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2015

This was great to take up a half a day on our one day off the ski fields. You need to pay to go up the gondola but can take the opportunity to look around when you are up there. We were lucky to zip line when it was snowing so that added to the fun and experience. It was cold though so rug up (we wore our ski gear).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic!! Strongly recommend for all, it's adventurous and fun without having that "I might die" thought. Guides Tom and Jess were absolutely fabulous and made the tour enjoyable and kept us entertained from start to finish. With a bit of humour thrown in the tour was also educational on the Local area and being Eco-friendly.
Definitely money well spent here!
Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Hannah-bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing