We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity for all ages.”
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.04*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great activity for all ages.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

The activity is expensive but it's worth it. It fills half a day, gives everyone a thrill & is informative about the local indigenous heritage & environment.

Steve & Arjun (sorry about the spelling) were fantastic! They were clearly very experienced (safety was top notch) & passionate about what the company stands for. They kept the kids entertained & made sure everyone in the group had a fantastic experience.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank TravelBunnyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, 23 April 2015
Good Afternoon,

We would just like to say thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed your ziplining experience and would do it again. Not needing to be an experienced zipper to come on tour is just one reason why ziplining is a great activity for the whole family.

I will definitely be passing on your positive comments on to your guides Steve and Jess they do an amazing job and always have your safety as their main priority.

Unlike many other adventure sports in Queenstown, Ziptrek will run our tours regardless of the weather so rain, shine or snow you are guaranteed an exhilarating experience. The canopy of the dense Douglas Fir forest provides great protection on the rainy days and dressing warm is always recommended as it is approximately 5 degrees cooler on course than in town.

We do our very best to ensure our guests are fully aware that the gondola ticket is not included in their Ziptrek price to avoid any disappointment or confusion. We do this via our website, brochures and all marketing material. I do apologize you were not aware that the gondola was not included. Skyline offer their own packages which can included lugging or lunch with discounts to their gondola ticket. Many of our guests use the advantages of these packages before zipping all the way to the base of the gondola. If you would like to contact me to discuss how you made your booking on nzgssupervisor@ziptrek.com and I will ensure the gondola fee is clearly discussed in future bookings to avoid any further disappointment from other guests.

Your exhilaration experienced on the last zipline of the Kea tour is a great way to describe the feeling you get zipping down the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world that descends 30 stories at speeds of up to 70kpm. Happy to hear that the tour lived up to your expectations and we look forward to seeing your family again next time your in Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Kellie Mckenzie
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    190
    48
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vuhuuuuuuuuu!!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

A first in my life! Arjun & Tom are so professional and so funny! They have made me forget about my fear of heights and it was the most fun I had in my life.. The views are fascinating up there.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank serdenadirler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of fun but not as good as Rotorua”
Reviewed 7 April 2015

If we hadn't already gone zip-lining in Rotorua we would have clearly had a great time here in Queenstown, but having gone 10 days earlier this one was just less special and less impressive. Canopy Tours in Rotorua had the special feeling of being in an actual forest, isolated from anything else, and zipping from tree to tree with nothing artificial surrounding us, and many beautiful walks and hikes between zips.
This one requires a pricey 30 dollar Skyline gondola ride just to get there (something we hadn't been warned when booking), once there you are surrounded by other fun things such as mountain bikers and the luge. All fun activities but certainly not like being in nature with any level of quiet isolation. The actual zip lines are of course fun, the guides were good, but it just didn't have any of the specialness that we know are possible from our Rotorua trip.
Thus an overall good review, but nothing special unfortunately.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Boaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZiptrekCrew, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, 7 May 2015
Good Morning,

We would just like to say thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the zipline portion of the tour.

As you experienced our tour is located in the introduced Douglas Fir forest. These trees were introduced approximately 70 years ago with an aim to make Queenstown look more like a 'ski town' and also to stabilize the land above Queenstown. However they grew 4 times faster here than expected, as a result these trees took over the area which is not as beautiful as the native bush. From this dense forest we do however get spectacular vistas of Queenstown and the surrounding mountains. Ziptrek is committed to returning the native forest you enjoyed so much in Rotorua and have planted over 3000 Beach trees in multiple areas. Also we take part in Queenstown's attempt to remove the Douglas Fir trees. We hope that with all these efforts one day all the native flora and fauna will be returned to the area.

In regards to your gondola ticket, Skyline offer their own packages with discounts to their gondola ticket. We do our very best to ensure our guests are fully aware that the gondola ticket is not included in their Ziptrek price to avoid any disappointment or confusion. I do apologize you were not aware that the gondola was not included in the Ziptrek price. As a result I have done further training with the team to ensure this is covered by all booking avenues.

I'm happy that you had fun on the ziplines themselves and enjoyed the atmosphere of the activities around you while zipping.

Kind Regards

Kellie Mckenzie
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Thank you”
Reviewed 6 April 2015

My son and I had so much fun !! It was the first time on a zip line and we enjoyed it.
Thank you Elli and Gill :-)

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Heifara_et_Keinuarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Ziplining was amazing. Arjun and kate were extremely informative and helpful. They made it a fun experience for everyone. I thoroughly enjoyed the experiwnce and will highly recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Shagun Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing