We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and wine and an extraordinary host”
Review of Vknow

Vknow
Ranked #10 of 299 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a 6-7 minute drive out of Queenstown in a residential area, but well worth it. The food is absolutely first rate, different from the usual tourist menu, served by one of the owners in afriendly, laid back but efficient manner while the other owner cooks - brilliantly! Very informal, unusual, relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere . Great wines, great food and excellent value for money. No views, but if you're concentrating on the food,wine and conversation who cares? Highly recommended.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great experience here. The owner/host was very personable, wanting to be on first name terms immediately. The wine list was excellent as was the policy of a glass of wine being a 1/4 of a bottle and charged at 1/4 the cost of a bottle - very impressive. The food was excellent - a great night!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GrahamP19gv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I dined here with my husband last week whilst we were staying nearby and I have wanted to try VKnow for a while due to the consistently excellent reviews it receives on TA. It's a cool little 'local' with great atmosphere and staff/service. It also boasts an unexpectedly good wine-list. Hubby had the scallop starter which was different to what he thought it would be but very good. He then had the lamb shank main which he loved...really loved! I had the broccoli soup (nice) and the blue cod curry (also nice). Both of my selections were good but not rave-worthy to be honest. BUT...the broccoli soup was broccoli and blue cheese and it wasn't as creamy as I expected and this cannot be a bad thing as I think it was very healthy as it was very obviously chock-a-block full of broccoli. As per the title of my review...Vknow is so authentic re both the food and the people who own and staff the restaurant. I would love to return next time we are there.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristabel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was well worth our trip to the "suburbs" to this restaurant. The white pizza/garlic bread and salad were terrific starters. The venison and blue cod were worthy mains. What also stood out was the wine list, rating wines from good to a glass you must have before you die. Danny, the owner's, recommendation of a glass of Mount Edwards pinot noir, 2016, capped the meal. (I brought a bottle home to the States.)

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Old_guy_and_wife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Initially we were a tad skeptical about trying out Vknow, however the simplistic on line table reservation system gave us the reassurance that we would be in for a great meal. From the time we entered the front doors, we new we had made the right choice. A great welcome from Danny, whose knowledge of wine is outstanding, to the superb cuisine prepared by his wife we could not fault it. Highly recommended and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Queenstown.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank kimosabe2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

We booked a table for two at the last minute and, although we were told the place was busy, the owner made extra space for us. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile by the owner who then took the time to stand and chat with us whilst we browsed the menu. The food when it arrived was well prepared and very tasty. It's a pity we only had time to visit once during our stay in Queenstown. But be assured we will be back. The only drawback is the very restricted street side parking in front of the restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonP967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vknow also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Vknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing